We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late opening on Thursdays”

The Phillips Collection
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.00*
and up
Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour of Washington DC: Monuments, Landmarks and Memorials
More Info
$20.00*
and up
Walking Tour On Embassy Row in Washington DC
More Info
$79.00*
and up
Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour and Attractions Pass
Ranked #30 of 447 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: "Americas First Museum of American Art" boasts a collection of over 2,500 19th and 20th-century masters, both American and European, including Renoir, Picasso, Gauguin, Manet, OKeefe and more.
Somerset, UK
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Late opening on Thursdays”
Reviewed November 4, 2011

As we arrived in the city late afternoon on a thursday we wanted to visit somewhere from the guidebook that evening and this was the only place that had late opening. We could walk there from our hotel and it was a pleasant way to spend an hour after a long transatlantic flight.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank busymakingwings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    853
    240
    52
    17
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Experience of a lifetime, art that reaches into your heart...”
Reviewed November 1, 2011

An amazing collection presented at a human scale, this place really captured my heart. I highly recommend a visit to anyone who enjoys beautiful visual experiences. Plan a bit longer than you would expect, by the end, I had toured the entire gallery three times, revisiting rooms in a different order and lingering in the Rothko and Klee rooms. The piece de resistance of course is Renoir's Luncheon of the Boating Party. I have seen many renditions of this famous work but nothing prepared me for the impact of this masterpiece in person. It filled me with joy. And the paintings collected in that room are incredible, they rival the top floor of the Mussee D'Orsay for you impressionist lovers out there. And that is my favorite museum in the world. Go, you will enjoy. Thank you Phillips Collection, for a wonderful experience.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank GeoCaribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A hidden treasure”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Spectacular Mansion with wonderful pieces of art! Don't miss the Rothko room and Renoir's Luncheon of the Boating Party!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank reeselizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Exquisite small gallery, superb collection. I'd go again.”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This Gallery a 5 minute walk from Dupont Circle was easy to find and such a delight. Phillips collected carefully and has gathered the best small collection of some of the best of Impressionist art. To see Renoir's enormous and impressive Luncheon painting was a treat, on either side were exquisite smaller paintings, probably the three most beautiful in building. However the music room was full of a US artist that Phillips supported and was an artist I didn't know, fascinating. Best thing we did and great to do with the rain outside!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwigirlNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful art collection comes in a small package”
Reviewed July 24, 2011

This small, intimate art museum contains a lovely collection of mid-19th and 20th century art. The $12.00 admission includes auditory explanation on select artwork accessible via your cellphone. Parking was tough. If possible, park your car in zone 2 on-street parking nearby which is free for 2 hours -- just about the right amount of time to view the collection.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Lulu5240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Phillips Collection also viewed

 

Been to The Phillips Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing