We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, But Not For Tall Travelers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Club Quarters Hotel in Washington, D.C.
Ranked #96 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed December 13, 2006

As noted in the other reviews, this is a good hotel for business travelers. It is clean and well-located. The rooms, although small, are adequate for one person. BUT the beds are not large enough for a tall person (5'10" or taller). Even though beds are described as "queen" size, they seem to be smaller than normal doubles. I found my feet hanging off the edge -- and I'm only 6 feet tall!

Also, there is a noisy demolition project next door at this time (early Dec. 2006).

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dp1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

961 - 967 of 1,205 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2006

This was an amazing hotel and an unbelievable value. Their premise was to design a hotel perfect for business/experienced travelers... Incredible location (Around the corner from the Metropolitan CLub, the World Bank, the White House, museums, etc)... the room was very comfortable... great bed... down covers... plasma TV... contemporary decor... clean... more than enough room for us... staff was amazing... very friendly... we arrived early so, while we went out for lunch they had our bags delivered to our room... wouldn't accept a tip... lovely little bistro & bar (but found the breakfast buffet expensive)... quiet... loved it... will try staying in their hotels in other cities now. Also, the hotel is located on the corner of 17th & I St... which is a metro stop (Farragut West)... hence the Metro from Regan Airport was a direct 10 minutes on the Blue line (No taxis stuck in traffic!)

Stayed: December 2006
2  Thank Barrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2006

The hotel in itself is all right: great location, within a walking distance from the main attractions in downtown DC. The rooms are fairly small, but I guess that you don't go to DC to stay locked in your hotel, do you? The only MAJOR problem whe had is that the clerck coldly told us upon arrival that our fully reserved (and pre-paid!!) room had been transferred.... to the Marriott hotel, Alexandria, Virginia! According to the Club Quarter staff, it was not their fault, but something that went wrong with the HotelGuide reservation system. The only choice we had then was to move to Alexandria, or to lose our money and try to find another hotel downtown by ourselves. I never experienced such a scornful and dishonest welcome in any hotel (even in France, where I come from). They could not care less about us. We played it the french way: we decided to sleep in the lounge until they find us something decent in the same area. After about 1 hour, they saw we were damn' serious about it and managed to transfer our reservation to the Alexander Inn for two nights, a couple of blocks away (great hotel by the way, totally refurnished), then we've been (at last!) authorized to get the room we did book. Club Quarters can probably be a nice little hotel greatly located, but don't expect an helping hand from the front desk if something goes wrong with your reservation.

  • Stayed: September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank igor_grichka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2006

I travel a lot and stayed here on business. The hotel staff is quite friendly and helpful, the adjoining restaurant has excellent service and food, and the location couldn't be better. The hotel is steps from the Farragut West Metro stop. Yes, the room is small, but it's efficiently designed, as is the bathroom. Plumbing was modern, linens were excellent, mattress was very good, and I heard no hallway noise. Outstanding hotel.

Stayed: July 2006
2  Thank CountessCeprano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2006

Club Quarters hotels are geared toward business travelers and all tend to have small rooms. This hotel is not for those who want a posh hotel experience. However, if you are planning on spending most of your time out of the room sightseeing and only need a comfy bed in which to sleep, this is a great choice. I had a corner room on a high floor with 3 windows. The room amenities included flat panel tv, queen bed, coffee maker with supplies and a microwave. The bathroom was small, but not uncomfortably so and the shower was standard size. Also, there is a club room with two computers (including internet access) and a workout room available to guests at no extra charge. The location is perfect: literally on top of the Farragut West metro stop, only one block to the Farragut North metro and two blocks to the White House. All staff I encountered were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Daisy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2006

I saw this had three stars on Expedia (the St. Regis is 3 1/2), so I figured it was a safe deal. What a shock this place turned out to be! The rooms are TINY and claustrophobic with one very small window. The decor is fine (what little space there is to need decor) and appliances are good. The bathroom is small and the "shower" is simply an area of the floor with a drain. The staff was helpful and pleasant but not very professional. There is no convenient parking. It has wireless access. It is designed for the person who will only be sleeping here or the person who is going to focus on the computer. Would NOT stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank sundans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
San Jose
11
Reviewed July 13, 2006

Great location. Close to the subway and the white house.
Rooms are TINY, cramped but clean. It's like the regular rooms were chopped into thirds.
It's great if you just plan to use it as a place to sleep and nothing else.
Security is good. Views are mixed, if any.
I'd stay again since I don't stay in the room much.
It's basically a crash pad and when your eyes are closed, who cares how small the room is.
Price was right for the location. It's gotta be the closest to the white house of any hotels unless you want to pay BIG bucks.

Stayed: June 2004
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Lombardy
Hotel Lombardy
#34 of 142 in Washington DC
2,187 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#35 of 142 in Washington DC
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#32 of 142 in Washington DC
1,771 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Gregory Hotel
The St. Gregory Hotel
#94 of 142 in Washington DC
178 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#4 of 142 in Washington DC
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Quarters Hotel in Washington, D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Quarters Hotel in Washington, D.C.

Address: 839 17th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20006-3940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#53 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#72 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#79 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $98 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Quarters Hotel in Washington, D.C. 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Quarters Hotel in Washington DC is located on Farragut Square, two blocks from the White House, and a short walk to all monuments and museums. Club Quarters hotels provide contemporary, efficient accommodations in an inviting, club-like atmosphere. Innovative and complimentary features include free, fast WiFi in guest rooms and throughout the hotel, our Club Living Room - a lounge area for socializing, relaxing or working with computer work stations and wireless network printing, free, chilled purified water stations with refillable bottles located throughout the hotel, and an easy-to-use and understand Guest Loyalty Program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Club Quarters Hotel in Washington, D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Quarters Hotel Washington Dc
Quarters Hotel Washington Dc
Club Quarters Washington Dc
Club Quarters Dc
Quarters Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing