We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Why would anyone want to stay in a shoebox?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Club Quarters Hotel in Washington, D.C.

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Club Quarters Hotel in Washington, D.C.
Ranked #76 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Why would anyone want to stay in a shoebox?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

I get it that business travel does not need to be frivolous. And everyone appreciates a reasonable room price. But this place goes too far. I have stayed there twice now. I thought maybe the first time I got a lousy room as it was so small I thought my feet might hang out the window at the bottom of the bed and the bathroom barely had room for me to fit into it. But I stayed there again, got a different room and same thing...ultra small. Other than that it was clean. Room service was good. I just prefer not to feel claustrophobic! And defined don't stay here if you plan more than one to the room. That would be awful.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travels101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    381
    142
    54
    41
See reviews for
126
249
124
290
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I stayed here for on a Saturday and Sunday night and had difficulty sleeping because of the noise of fire engines and police cars. Moreover, the heating system was also incredibly noisy when it turned itself on and off - so I ended up choosing to keep my room very chilly. Not a good way to start a meeting on Monday morning! On the plus side is the convenient location and the proximity to most of the major tourist sights of DC as well as to decent restaurants. I liked the excellent WIFI and the Club lounge on the 2nd floor with good coffee and snacks. But the need to sleep outweighs all of the advantages for me so I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DalkeyIsland30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Forge, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I went to Washington DC Valentine’s Day weekend. It was a last moment decision.
There really were not many rooms left to choose from in the city. End up at Club Quarter I paid for one of the bigger most expensive room at the Club Quarters and when I arrived they stuck me in a shoe box sized room. I went back down to the front desk and they finally gave me the room size that I paid for. The restaurant is a 3 on a scale of 1-10. The 2 rooms that I saw were both clean and updated. It located on a VERY noisy street. I have stayed in the same general area many times the fire department and/or ambulances must be next to the hotel because I was woken up a minimum of 15 times by them.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trom0934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrumbateman, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This hotel is perfectly located just over a block from the back door of the White House and close to great shopping.

The room had everything we needed - we actually booked a club room but upgraded when we arrived to a suite for only an extra $25 a night. This is much cheaper than booking a suite online. Bathroom fairly basic, but this is a 3* hotel.

There is a hotel lounge that provides free tea, coffee and sodas, as well as snacks in the evenings.
On site restaurant is good. Hotel also provides free refillable water bottles.

I'd be more than happy to stay here again if I come back to Washington.

Room Tip: Upgrades to suite may be available on arrival for a much smaller fee than booking a suite online
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for two weeks on a business trip. If you want a clean room, modern bathroom, a reasonably priced restaurant, a lounge offering espresso, cappuccino and snacks - this is the place. Staff are super friendly and helpful -- ask for Rany for seamless service! The rooms are a little small but are user-friendly. Location is very central (2 blocks away from White House) and a Farragut West metro station is right next door.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

From the time I checked in to the time I checked out, the staff at Club Quarters Washington DC was very pleasant.

What I liked
-seamless check in and check out
- the happy hour in the restaurant. The food - not so great
- friendly staff
- convenient location

What I disliked
- size of room BUT it was sufficient for what we needed it for
- no ice machine on the floor

As you can see my likes outweigh the dislikes. My bed was comfortable and it was clean.

I would definitely stay again because of the location!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iamebbyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I really like these hotels. First of all, each floor of the hotel has a free plastic bottle dispenser and a cold water cooler which is great for people who are heading out to (or coming back from) a long sightseeing walk. Yes the rooms are pretty small, but hopefully you aren't spending your entire trip sitting in your room. Although they are small, the rooms a very clean and the location is very convenient. You're only a couple of blocks from the white house and just a 2 or 3 minute walk to the metro station. There are a couple of decent restaurants and bars within walking distance as well.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MEJOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#20 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 608 reviews
Dupont Circle
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White House
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White ...
#45 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 529 reviews
Dupont Circle
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Washington DC
#8 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,877 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#38 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 411 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#63 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 2,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Quarters Hotel in Washington, D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Quarters Hotel in Washington, D.C.

Property: Club Quarters Hotel in Washington, D.C.
Address: 839 17th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20006-3940
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#53 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#73 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#80 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Quarters Hotel in Washington, D.C. 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Quarters, Washington DC is located on Farragut Square, two blocks from the White House, and a short walk to all monuments and museums. Club Quarters hotels provide contemporary, efficient accommodations in an inviting, club-like atmosphere. Innovative and complimentary features include free, fast WiFi in guest rooms and throughout the hotel, our Club Living Room - a lounge area for socializing, relaxing or working with computer work stations and wireless network printing, free, chilled purified water stations with refillable bottles located throughout the hotel, and an easy-to-use and understand Guest Loyalty Program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Club Quarters Hotel in Washington, D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Quarters Hotel Washington Dc
Quarters Hotel Washington Dc
Club Quarters Washington Dc
Club Quarters Dc
Quarters Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing