We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, but not the best service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Club Quarters Hotel in Washington, D.C.
Ranked #89 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
SF
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice location, but not the best service”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We didn't really run into any trouble with the hotel. It just seemed that the staff really kept to themselves and didn't smile too much. When we checked it, they gave us the keys and didn't say much more. No offering us maps or anything (which we noticed were available when we checked out. Would've helped if they offered it to us when we checked in.)

We were just traveling in town for 2 days to take a look around DC. The location was prime, especially if you are staying on the weekdays. However, if you are traveling on weekends and thought about using the Metro, read on.... We arrived on Friday morning, got off the Farragout West Metro entrance and the hotel was just right next door! Imagine our delight! However, the next day, we saw that the station entrance was actually closed on weekends. So, our first time using the convenient entrance also turned out to be our last. For the next 2 days, we would walk about a block or two to use the Metro. It's not too bad. However, that was one of the main reasons we chose this hotel. So, it was a bit of a let down.

Overall, the inside of the hotel is tiny. But, it's clean and convenient. I especially liked their water bottling machine where they offer empty bottles and filtered water to refill it with as many times as you like.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mka_sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    469
    176
    74
    46
See reviews for
153
325
151
352
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

My husband and I were attending an affair at the White House and selected this hotel due to its location and price. It's a quality hotel with clean, pleasantly decorated hotel rooms in an excellent location that can't be beat for the price. The rooms are on the small side. But the quality of the staff, service, cleanliness and value can't be beat. There is a nice lounge on the second floor for those staying over a number of days if you're looking for a place to relax. There is a bar and restaurant on site (adjourning) which we did not have time to visit. All rooms have free internet access.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms offer a microwave, dishes and small refrig and are definitely worth the extra cost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Picturetaker10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sippersfeld, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We where here on business and was a great location for us. Rooms r small but clean and nice.the resturant in the hotel was very good and the staff was very helpful.Close to metro and some other resturants.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Armstrong20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfport, Mississippi
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

You are literally right beside the train station. It's called Ferregout station or something that sounds like that. White house is up the street and around the corner. The single rooms are small and beside a huge office building. Be careful opening the curtains. Bathroom is super small but there is free wifi. There are many clubs for the night life scene. Just walk up to M street and you'll hear the music pumping. There is a pizza place that delivers up until 4am. The hotel has a bar also. The breakfast buffet is not worth $21 so don't even go there but if you plan on eating the buffet expect fresh fruit, pork sausage or bacon, grits, potatoes, cereal, coffee, milk, orange juice. For $21 I want made to order food. DC is a dynamic place to please get out and see it. I love the U corridor area. very lively.

Room Tip: Get a suite so you can have more room. the singles are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoJo30058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The rooms are very small and the entire place looks like a morgue. The room & the bathroom feel very cheap & flimsy. I had a bad experience with the check-in process as well. The staff had given my room to another guest (their excuse was that everyone from my ethnic group looks the same & have the same name- no kidding!). They kep me & family standing in the tiny lobby for about 45 minutes until they could get the issue resolved. Also, beware of the parking garage they recommend which is 1.5 blocks away. You will find cheaper garages closer than that (towards the White House. Avoid this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jones D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charleston, wv
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I you are not a business man in a $2000 a suit, and you've book online, you might want to skip this place. This place is lifeless, sterile, closed up and even the lamps in the rooms have flourescent bulbs. The staff is unctuous and disdainful of people who do not fit their bill. There was no open rudeness WHATSOEVER, just a palpable disregard for those the staff thinks are amateurs.

The room I had was more like a cubicle than a hotel room. It was so cold and lifeless I felt like was in a pod. Of course, there's no even cracking the windows in these places. And if you are not flying in, DO NOT stay here. There's absolutely no curb service or place to pull in, let alone park and the staff clearly feels they have no reason to provide any sort of parking services nor even any information.

This place is so geared towards business travelers that they seem to openly discourage everyone else. The only shining part about this place was the bar and restaurant which was superb and allows for open front dining. It's airy, and beautiful.

The hotel itself was an awful experience. You know folks, Hotwire travelers write reviews too. And if you don't like us, take your chances on getting stuck with empty rooms.

Skip this pretentious, self important, lifeless place.

Room Tip: Don't choose any. That's my tip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimbo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayland, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We had an unplanned trip to DC - and (even though we are not members) we booked Club Quarters because of the location. Our room had to have the curtain closed so as to not share observations with the business meeting in the next building; however, it had everything we needed and nothing we did not need. The rate was very good, the staff friendly and helpful - especially when we had an emergency change of plans.
The water was a terrific asset (we could fill our own travel containers). Every recommendation the staff provided was as presented - and we had a delightful experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loraine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#27 of 141 in Washington DC
738 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Dupont Circle
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White House
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White ...
#56 of 141 in Washington DC
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
484 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
3,163 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Quarters Hotel in Washington, D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Quarters Hotel in Washington, D.C.

Property: Club Quarters Hotel in Washington, D.C.
Address: 839 17th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20006-3940
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#53 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#72 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#79 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Quarters Hotel in Washington, D.C. 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Quarters Hotel in Washington DC is located on Farragut Square, two blocks from the White House, and a short walk to all monuments and museums. Club Quarters hotels provide contemporary, efficient accommodations in an inviting, club-like atmosphere. Innovative and complimentary features include free, fast WiFi in guest rooms and throughout the hotel, our Club Living Room - a lounge area for socializing, relaxing or working with computer work stations and wireless network printing, free, chilled purified water stations with refillable bottles located throughout the hotel, and an easy-to-use and understand Guest Loyalty Program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Club Quarters Hotel in Washington, D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Quarters Hotel Washington Dc
Quarters Hotel Washington Dc
Club Quarters Washington Dc
Club Quarters Dc
Quarters Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing