We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, great location, excellent service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown
Ranked #62 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
“Great hotel, great location, excellent service!”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Very clean, within close proximity to numerous amenities. Service was great and pub located downstairs had excellent food and service as well. This is definitely my hotel of choice when staying in the DC area.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank otads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasfc, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear otads,

Thanks for staying at our hotel! We love hearing that you felt our hotel was very clean and in a great location. It's great to hear that we were able to meet or exceed your expectations with the service our hotel and restaurant teams provided.

Please feel free to reach out to me directly for future reservation needs.

Regards,
Ryan Urgo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    348
    98
    19
    8
See reviews for
251
173
33
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Good, clean and centrally located Hotel. We walked to everything. The check in staff were pleasant and helpful. Although the Concierge was a bit unhelpful. We asked him to get us a taxi to the airport - he asked us to wait and then disappeared from his post for over 20 minutes. One of the check in staff had to help us get a taxi. Other than that the hotel was clean and comfortable, the other staff very helpful. The breakfast is good, but the times need to be extended as there is always a crowd and no place to sit. The rooms were spacious and clean. The location was great as it is surrounded by restaurants and you can walk to the points of interest.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasfc, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear B D,

Thanks for staying with us! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. It's always great to hear from our guest's as it give us the opportunity to share feedback with our entire team.
I'm happy to hear that our location was a great fit for you. Also, thanks for recognizing our team for being hospitable and delivering good service. I'm sorry to hear of your experience with our concierge, but certainly appreciate you bringing it to our attention.

We hope to be able to host you on your future travels to Washington, DC.

Sincerely,
Ryan Urgo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Great hotel! Very clean, very friendly, good morning breakfast, amazing location, walking distance to all the monuments. But do some research before because the concierge was not helpful at all. He told us every restaurant was booked because it was restaurant week and so both nights on our own we found our own reservations for restaurant week restaurants very easily. He must not have been trying. Other than that it was really a perfect place to stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cconroy06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasfc, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Cconroy06,

Thank you very much for staying at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC!

We appreciate your feedback. It's always so important for us to hear from our valued guests. We're happy to hear that most of your stay was enjoyable and you felt we were a very good fit for your visit. I'm sorry to hear that our concierge didn't provide accurate information and wasn't helpful in your interaction. We hope to have the opportunity to host you on your future travels to the city.

Please feel free to reach out to me directly for future reservation needs.

Sincerely,
Ryan Urgo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed here for one night on Jan 2 while in town for a hockey game at the Verizon Center. On the plus side, the hotel is a short walk to the Verizon Center, and other points of interest. The location is great, and the price can't be beat for the area. The room was clean, comfortable, and quiet. The king sized bed was super comfy! One thing that drew us to this hotel was the free breakfast. That's where the minuses kick in (and why I can't give it 5 stars.) The hotel has a generously late check-out time: 12:00 noon. Breakfast ends at 9:30. Silly. The miniscule breakfast area is absolutely packed with guests trying to beat the clock. There was a very long line of guests waiting at 9:15. The staff was taking food away from the buffet line as people were actually trying to serve themselves! I managed to get a spoonful of eggs and a cup of juice, and we got in line around 8:00. Forget trying to toast something, because you'll spend all morning waiting in line for the toaster. IF you managed to get some food, you might as well take it back to your room, because there's no way you're going to find a place to sit in the lobby. Fairfield Inn, you have a lovely, comfortable hotel, and we'd love to stay there again sometime, but some thought needs to be put into how you handle breakfast. Would it be such a bad idea to extend the breakfast hours until 10? 10:30? 11? With a check-out time of noon, I would think not.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blinkoshuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasfc, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear blinkoshuman,

Thank you so much for staying at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC!

We appreciate your business and the time you took to provide us with such valuable feedback. We're happy to hear that there were positives from your stay. At the same time, it's very important for us to receive feedback on your poor breakfast experience so that we can do everything possible to correct it, and ensure that we improve upon our busy breakfast times. Please feel free to reach out me directly to discuss further. We hope to be able to host you on your future visits to our Nation's Capital and I would be happy to take care of any reservation needs for you.

Sincerely,
Ryan Urgo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Great hotel. Quick check in and nice staff. Person checking us in was great and very friendly. Room was great, got the king bed. Would definitely stay here again. Nice short walk to Verizon Center. :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ardufresne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasfc, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear ardufresne,

Thank you so much for staying at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC!

It's always great for our hotel team to receive such great feedback from our valued guests. We're happy to hear that you felt our team was friendly and that our location was a great fit for you on your visit to our Nation's Capital.

We hope to be able to host you on your next visit to the city. Please feel free to reach out to me directly for any future reservation needs.

Sincerely,
Ryan Urgo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland or
Level Contributor
87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I stay in Fairfields a lot, and chose this one based on all the great reviews and mapping the area. While it was fine, it was not a top experience. Positives: clean room, fast elevator, nice staff, super close to metro. Negatives: Verizon center crowds when there is an event there, which happened to be all 4 nights we were in town. Not just a crowded hotel, but all the sidewalks and restaurants nearby. Breakfast was ridiculous, get there when it starts (7am on wkends, 6:30 wkdays) or forget it. Huge lines, no tables, the staff lady said she cant get those powdered eggs out fast enough! A bit more of a walk than expected to sites. In hindsight, I would pay the extra and stay at the JW Marriott. There's so much walking to do in DC that every block adds a lot (and we are active adults). I was also suprised there was no fridge or microwave in the room, that was disappointing though I've read now that maybe you can specially request that? Seems odd and not like most.

Bottom line, for a budget trip or Verizon center event, it's a great place. Otherwise, consider other options.

Room Tip: Request a view, and a fridget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank embr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasfc, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear embr,

Thank you for staying at our Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC!

We appreciate your business and your valuable feedback. I'm happy to hear that there were a few positives during your stay. I apologize that there were parts of your stay that were not able to meet your expectations. We hope to have another opportunity to host you in the future to regain your trust and provide a more enjoyable experience.

Please feel free to reach out to me directly to discuss your stay.


Sincerely,
Ryan Urgo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamison, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed in DC for 3 days with our 2 daughters. When we arrived, the valet lot was full so Jonathan walked across the street with my husband and helped him find a parking spot right by the hotel. The next day, we took the Metro for the first time, he went with us to the station and showed us how to purchase the passes work the trains. He even helped me overcome my fear of escalators! He was great with our children and kept them occupied. I would highly recommend this hotel, not only for Jonathan's amazing service, but it is close to the Mall and in the Chinatown neighborhood, so their are many restaurant within walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlaTOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasfc, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Carla TOM,

Thank you for staying at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC.

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with such wonderful feedback. Jonathan takes such pride in delivering exceptional service, and I'm thrilled to hear that he was able to make an excellent impact on your visit. It's great to hear that you felt our location was the perfect fit for your family on your visit to Washington, DC.

We would love to have the opportunity to host you on your future travels to our city. Please feel free to reach out to me directly for any future reservation needs.

Sincerely,
Ryan Urgo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#48 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington ...
#98 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#71 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,464 reviews
Mount Vernon Square
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington DC Convention Center
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#27 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown
Address: 500 H Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Washington DC Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#52 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#66 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#82 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown is a newly renovated Chinatown DC hotel that offers comfort and convenience for the busy business and leisure traveler. We provide quality accommodations and value our guests who are visiting our National’s Capital for work or pleasure. As the only Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott located in the Washington DC city center, our hotel features a custom design package with upgraded services and amenities designed specifically with the business traveler in mind. We offer the following services and amenities: 198 elegant and functional guest rooms offering plush bedding, LCD flat screen TVs with premium channels, spacious work desk with plug-in-panel, and complimentary Wi-Fi & hard wired internet access • Complimentary expanded continental breakfast • 24-hour access fitness room and business center • The Irish Channel, on-site restaurant open for lunch and dinner, and offering room service from 11am-11pm • Concierge service • Valet parking • Same-day dry cleaning service. Located in the bustling Chinatown neighborhood and in proximity to: Gallery Place/Chinatown metro (2 blocks) • Walter E. Washington Convention Center (6 blocks) • Verizon Center (2 blocks) • U.S. Capitol (1 mile) • Union Station (1 mile) • Government & association offices nearby • Airports: Reagan National (DCA) - 6.5 miles, Dulles Int'l (IAD) - 25 miles, Baltimore/Washington (BWI) - 35 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, Dc / Downtown Hotel Washington Dc
Fairfield Inn And Suites Washington, Dc / Downtown
Red Roof Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing