We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown
Ranked #64 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best Stay in DC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

I'm a little biased on this one because my sister-in-law lives right across the street and we can park in her lot, but it's close to metro station and a steal in downtown DC. The hotel is always clean and customer service is always awesome. Continental breakfast includes hot and cold items - it's always packed as it gets closer to the end of the breakfast time so get down there early! Best thing going in DC.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suemidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasfc, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Suemidd,

Thank you for choosing the Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC Downtown. After reading your comments, I am so happy to hear that our hotel, amenities and staff provided a great stay.

We are very proud of our team, hotel and proximity to all that is the Capital City!

I hope to see you again on your next visit to see your sister-in-law! Please make us your hotel of choice here in Washington, DC.

Please feel free to reach out to me directly for your next stay.

Best Regards,

Ryan Urgo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    338
    96
    19
    8
See reviews for
244
170
33
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a few nights this past week and were pleasantly surprised. For the rate we paid ($116/night) we had our expectations set low, but were very happy with our stay. The asian decor throughout the hotel and the room was very nice. Our window overlooked the church tower on 5th street which was nice to wake up to so if it's available definitely request it. There is a bell that goes off, so if you're a light sleeper avoid this side of the hotel.

I'm a stickler for a clean room and this room was clean. I couldn't find a spot of dirt anywhere. The bathroom was a nice size and the shower had a curved rod so you aren't squeezed in trying to not touch the curtain while you shower. It also had a rain showerhead, which I didn't expect, but certainly enjoyed.

Some cons, the parking situation is a little screwy and expensive at $33/day plus tax, but it is DC so you should expect that. The valets were pleasant and they got our car quickly. Our car was kept in the underground garage so it was safe the whole time we were there.

Next up, the adjoining room beside us. We were out late the day we arrived so we didn't notice any noises coming from the room beside us. However, at 7 am the next morning all we heard were "yee haws" and a whole bunch of hootin' and hollerin' from some rowdy women in the adjoining room. It was loud enough that I bolted up out of my sleep thinking someone had come into our room. It was impossible to go back to sleep. We called the front desk but the gentleman that answered was unconcerned that we wanted someone to notify this group that that were too loud. We waited half an hour before my boyfriend started banging on their door and they quieted down. Yet again, the next morning at 7am they woke us up again. Called the front desk, got the same reaction. So we decided to make plenty of our own noise, against the adjoining door ;) If you can't beat em' join em'. Sure enough, the next morning was much quieter. I would think the staff would have some kind of protocol for a noise complaint, but as it was we received no assistance in handling the situation.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and will return the next time we visit DC. It was only a 15-20 minute walk to the national mall, and there are more restaurants than you could possibly eat at within a 5-10 minute walk. The metro was also only 5 minutes from the hotel. You can't beat the location!

Room Tip: Higher floors, good view on the 5th st side, but avoid it if you don't want to hear church bells...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pure_Cyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasfc, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Pure_Cyn,

Thank you for choosing the Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC Downtown. After reading your comments, I am so happy to hear that our hotel, amenities and decor exceeded your expectations.

We are very proud of our hotel and proximity to all that is the Capital City.

We apologize that you were not completely satisfied with your experience and that you had noise issues with the adjoining room. Your satisfaction is very important to us, and we strive to ensure that all of our guests receive the experience and service they deserve.

I will share your thoughts and comments with the staff to help us to continue to improve our hotel, service and ensure the front desk knows the proper protocal to resolve noise concerns so all our guests have an enjoyable stay.

I hope you choose the Fairfield Inn & Suites Downtown on your next visit to Washington, DC! Please feel free to reach out to me directly for your next stay.

Best Regards,

Ryan Urgo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
145 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We were in town to see Bruno Mars @ the Verizon Center. Could not have been closer, only a short walk to get there. Property looks almost new, rooms are very nice, but pretty much standard hotel room. Breakfast is better than most included with rooms. Close to Metro station & in the heart of Chinatown. Only knock, no option for parking beyond valet. Staff very nice and accomidating.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasfc, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Mark M,

Thank you for choosing the Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC Downtown for your visit to see Bruno Mars at the Verizon Center. After reading your comments, I am so happy to hear that our hotel, amenities and staff provided a great stay.

We are very proud of our team, hotel and proximity to the Verizon Center and all that is Washington, DC!

I hope to see you again when you visit the Washington, DC area! Please make us your hotel of choice.

Please feel free to reach out to me directly for your next stay.

Best Regards,

Ryan Urgo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

I highly recommend this hotel. It was clean, the staff was very friendly, they had hot--drinkable--coffee in the lobby at midnight, the breakfast buffet had such a variety that everyone could find something to eat, it is right down the street from the Chinatown Metro stop and a block from a bus stop, you get a chance to "spin the wheel of fortune" for gifts or Marriott points at check-in, the lobby was a comfortable (if a bit too cold) place to hang out while waiting to leave for the airport, the room and bathrooms were clean and comfortable. I will be staying here again when I am in DC!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Auction10210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasfc, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Auction10210,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience!

Our team is so thrilled when we have an opportunity to share such great feedback from our valued guests. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our clean, comfortable guestroom and lobby.

We look forward to hosting you on your next visit to our Nation's Capital.

Sincerely,

Ryan Urgo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We took a taxi here from Union Station because even though it looked close on a map, when you're dragging luggage, you don't want to chance your distances! After that one taxi ride, we never had to take another! The location is just perfect for exploring everything you could want to explore.

We had easy access to the subway station and the National Mall was an easy walk. We were thrilled to discover that there was a bus directly outside that took us straight to the Kennedy Centre - no transfers at all!

Pros:
When I booked the hotel, there were only King Bedrooms left, but when I checked in with my mother in tow, the front desk staff was gracious enough to move us to a room with two beds

The breakfast is quite good. A nice array of fruit, scrambled eggs, sausage patties, muffins, etc. I was thrilled to find greek yoghurt in the mix as well, which made my day!

I loved coming back at the end of the night and grabbing a hot chocolate and warm cookie from the lobby.

The rooms were a comfortable size, and the housekeeping staff was wonderful.

Cons:
I wanted to change the credit card that I had held the room with for a different one when I checked in. However, even though I asked to do this upon check-in and they took the new card, there was still a hold on the original card, meaning I had to make a trip to the front desk to get them to sort it out. This was changed quickly and efficiently at that point.

When in the washroom, I could hear other people who were having conversations and doing their duties through the ventilation system. Not an inconvenience, just something I'd rather not be privy to when in the washroom.

Our room was directly above the pub. I doubt this is normally an issue, but it was police week when we were there and a good time was definitely being had by all!! I wasn't about to complain, as those officers deserve a good time, but if one is a light sleeper, it would be wise to as for a room that doesn't face the street.

I'm planning another trip to Washington for December and will definitely be heading back to this great hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gypsy_Wind78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasfc, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Gypsy_Wind78,

Thank you for staying at our Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC Convention Center!

You have provided us with such wonderful and helpful feedback. We, too, feel as if our location is the perfect fit for anyone traveling to our Nation's Capital. I'm happy to hear that we were able to accommodate you and your mother in a guestroom with two queen beds at check in. It's nice to hear that you enjoyed the excellent variety we offer in breakfast.

Our housekeepers will be so excited to hear of your appreciation for their hard work. I'm sorry to hear that there was an authorization hold on your original card, but I'm glad our team was able to take care of it right away.

We hope to host you on your next visit to Washington, DC!

Sincerely,

Ryan Urgo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay, conveniently located 4 blocks from the national mall. Breakfast includes assortment of choices. For a family of 4 it's a great deal. We looked at other options but we definitely made the right choice. Request a top floor when making your reservation. Plenty of places to eat around the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 11maya74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn Dale, Maryland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Nice hotel with all required amenities needed. Minus a in room refrigerator. Lol but otherwise it's a great hotel, staff, clean. Also there is a wonderful Irish pub connected to it. Great food and happy hr drinks. :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Misssunshine1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasfc, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. It gives me great pleasure to know we have provided great service, and you were fully satisfied. Should you need any assistance with a future stay please don’t hesitate to cotact me
Thank you,
Ryan Urgo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#49 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#71 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,289 reviews
Mount Vernon Square
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington DC Convention Center
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#22 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown
Address: 500 H Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Washington DC Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#52 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#66 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#82 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our recently opened & completely renovated hotel offers comfort & convenience to the busy business traveler looking for quality & value while visiting our National’s Capital. As the only Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott located in the Washington DC city center, our hotel features a custom design package with upgraded services & amenities designed specifically with the business traveler in mind. 198 elegant & functional guestrooms offering plush bedding, LCD flat screen TVs with premium channels, spacious work desk with plug-in-panel and complimentary Wi-Fi & hard wired internet access • Complimentary expanded continental breakfast • 24 hour access fitness room and business center • The Irish Channel, on-site restaurant open for lunch & dinner & offering room service from 11am-11pm • Concierge service • Valet parking • Same-day dry cleaning service. Located in the bustling Chinatown neighborhood & in close proximity to: Gallery Place/Chinatown metro (2 blocks) • Walter E. Washington Convention Center (6 blocks) • Verizon Center (2 blocks) • U.S. Capitol (1 mile) • Union Station (1 mile) • Government & association offices nearby • Airports: Reagan National (DCA) - 6.5 miles, Dulles Int'l (IAD) - 25 miles, Baltimore/Washington (BWI) - 35 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, Dc / Downtown Hotel Washington Dc
Fairfield Inn And Suites Washington, Dc / Downtown
Red Roof Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing