We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown
Ranked #65 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Tennessee
Level Contributor
145 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great place, great location”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We were in town to see Bruno Mars @ the Verizon Center. Could not have been closer, only a short walk to get there. Property looks almost new, rooms are very nice, but pretty much standard hotel room. Breakfast is better than most included with rooms. Close to Metro station & in the heart of Chinatown. Only knock, no option for parking beyond valet. Staff very nice and accomidating.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasfc, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Mark M,

Thank you for choosing the Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC Downtown for your visit to see Bruno Mars at the Verizon Center. After reading your comments, I am so happy to hear that our hotel, amenities and staff provided a great stay.

We are very proud of our team, hotel and proximity to the Verizon Center and all that is Washington, DC!

I hope to see you again when you visit the Washington, DC area! Please make us your hotel of choice.

Please feel free to reach out to me directly for your next stay.

Best Regards,

Ryan Urgo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    355
    101
    19
    8
See reviews for
257
174
33
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I highly recommend this hotel. It was clean, the staff was very friendly, they had hot--drinkable--coffee in the lobby at midnight, the breakfast buffet had such a variety that everyone could find something to eat, it is right down the street from the Chinatown Metro stop and a block from a bus stop, you get a chance to "spin the wheel of fortune" for gifts or Marriott points at check-in, the lobby was a comfortable (if a bit too cold) place to hang out while waiting to leave for the airport, the room and bathrooms were clean and comfortable. I will be staying here again when I am in DC!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Auction10210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasfc, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Auction10210,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience!

Our team is so thrilled when we have an opportunity to share such great feedback from our valued guests. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our clean, comfortable guestroom and lobby.

We look forward to hosting you on your next visit to our Nation's Capital.

Sincerely,

Ryan Urgo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We took a taxi here from Union Station because even though it looked close on a map, when you're dragging luggage, you don't want to chance your distances! After that one taxi ride, we never had to take another! The location is just perfect for exploring everything you could want to explore.

We had easy access to the subway station and the National Mall was an easy walk. We were thrilled to discover that there was a bus directly outside that took us straight to the Kennedy Centre - no transfers at all!

Pros:
When I booked the hotel, there were only King Bedrooms left, but when I checked in with my mother in tow, the front desk staff was gracious enough to move us to a room with two beds

The breakfast is quite good. A nice array of fruit, scrambled eggs, sausage patties, muffins, etc. I was thrilled to find greek yoghurt in the mix as well, which made my day!

I loved coming back at the end of the night and grabbing a hot chocolate and warm cookie from the lobby.

The rooms were a comfortable size, and the housekeeping staff was wonderful.

Cons:
I wanted to change the credit card that I had held the room with for a different one when I checked in. However, even though I asked to do this upon check-in and they took the new card, there was still a hold on the original card, meaning I had to make a trip to the front desk to get them to sort it out. This was changed quickly and efficiently at that point.

When in the washroom, I could hear other people who were having conversations and doing their duties through the ventilation system. Not an inconvenience, just something I'd rather not be privy to when in the washroom.

Our room was directly above the pub. I doubt this is normally an issue, but it was police week when we were there and a good time was definitely being had by all!! I wasn't about to complain, as those officers deserve a good time, but if one is a light sleeper, it would be wise to as for a room that doesn't face the street.

I'm planning another trip to Washington for December and will definitely be heading back to this great hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gypsy_Wind78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasfc, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Gypsy_Wind78,

Thank you for staying at our Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC Convention Center!

You have provided us with such wonderful and helpful feedback. We, too, feel as if our location is the perfect fit for anyone traveling to our Nation's Capital. I'm happy to hear that we were able to accommodate you and your mother in a guestroom with two queen beds at check in. It's nice to hear that you enjoyed the excellent variety we offer in breakfast.

Our housekeepers will be so excited to hear of your appreciation for their hard work. I'm sorry to hear that there was an authorization hold on your original card, but I'm glad our team was able to take care of it right away.

We hope to host you on your next visit to Washington, DC!

Sincerely,

Ryan Urgo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay, conveniently located 4 blocks from the national mall. Breakfast includes assortment of choices. For a family of 4 it's a great deal. We looked at other options but we definitely made the right choice. Request a top floor when making your reservation. Plenty of places to eat around the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 11maya74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn Dale, Maryland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Nice hotel with all required amenities needed. Minus a in room refrigerator. Lol but otherwise it's a great hotel, staff, clean. Also there is a wonderful Irish pub connected to it. Great food and happy hr drinks. :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Misssunshine1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasfc, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. It gives me great pleasure to know we have provided great service, and you were fully satisfied. Should you need any assistance with a future stay please don’t hesitate to cotact me
Thank you,
Ryan Urgo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckley, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We paid in advance with Travelocity $998.00 for 3 nights stay. On the third night, I was checking my bank account to reconcile, and noticed the Fairfield Inn on H St Washington, DC had charged me $60 on day one, $20 on day two, and $40 on day three. No reason was listed.. just a charge. I called the front desk and the moron there had some cock and bull story about how this was a security charge placed by them, to make sure my card was still active. I told him there was no damages and in fact we had not even eaten their "free breakfast" (which was so repulsive we decided to go down the street to eat). He had no other comment other than to say it should disappear after a week. I said, "WHAT ARE YOU TALKING ABOUT??? YOU HAVE NO RIGHT TO CHARGE ME, I HAVEN'T DAMAGED A THING !!" He then said he had no further comment. SO I called Marriott Corporate office. Again, I got a dipwad. The kid had no explanation why the amounts were different, and tried to tell me this was 'standard proceedure'. I assured him I had stayed at Hiltons, and much better hotels in Vegas and LA than his dump in DC. He had no other explanation. -- I am calling the Washington Better Business Bureau.. and I advise all of you to STEER CLEAR OF THE LIARS AND THIEVES AT FAIRFIELD INNS.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasfc, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your visit. Please contact me directly regarding your stay

Thank you,
Ryan Urgo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballston Spa, New York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Good choice to cancel my previous hotel to Fairfield Marriott as it is very near to Metro and room is spacious, clean. In addition, many Chinese restaurants to choose since it is located at Chinatown. I'll recommend to all my friends or any trip advisors who is reading my review now. Choose this hotel with no regrets :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasfc, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Fairfield Inn & Suites for your trip to Washington. After reading your comments, I’m so happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and all of our amenities. Please feel free to reach me directly should you have any other reservation needs.

Thank you,
Ryan Urgo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#48 of 141 in Washington DC
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington ...
#93 of 141 in Washington DC
166 reviews
Mount Vernon Square
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington DC Convention Center
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#35 of 141 in Washington DC
366 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Pod DC Hotel
Pod DC Hotel
#104 of 141 in Washington DC
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown
Address: 500 H Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Washington DC Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#52 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#66 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#82 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown is a newly renovated Chinatown DC hotel that offers comfort and convenience for the busy business and leisure traveler. We provide quality accommodations and value our guests who are visiting our National’s Capital for work or pleasure. As the only Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott located in the Washington DC city center, our hotel features a custom design package with upgraded services and amenities designed specifically with the business traveler in mind. We offer the following services and amenities: 198 elegant and functional guest rooms offering plush bedding, LCD flat screen TVs with premium channels, spacious work desk with plug-in-panel, and complimentary Wi-Fi & hard wired internet access • Complimentary expanded continental breakfast • 24-hour access fitness room and business center • The Irish Channel, on-site restaurant open for lunch and dinner, and offering room service from 11am-11pm • Concierge service • Valet parking • Same-day dry cleaning service. Located in the bustling Chinatown neighborhood and in proximity to: Gallery Place/Chinatown metro (2 blocks) • Walter E. Washington Convention Center (6 blocks) • Verizon Center (2 blocks) • U.S. Capitol (1 mile) • Union Station (1 mile) • Government & association offices nearby • Airports: Reagan National (DCA) - 6.5 miles, Dulles Int'l (IAD) - 25 miles, Baltimore/Washington (BWI) - 35 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, Dc / Downtown Hotel Washington Dc
Fairfield Inn And Suites Washington, Dc / Downtown
Red Roof Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing