We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great value, close to attractions” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/Downtown
Ranked #59 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great value, close to attractions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

The fairfield is a recently updated hotel and a great value option in the heart of DC. You can walk to all the main attractions downtown like monuments and museums. The subway is also right there. I would definitely stay here again when visiting DC.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kweaver22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasfc, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/Downtown, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your stay with us! We look forward to seeing you again!

Take care,
Donavon McDaniel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    334
    92
    17
    8
See reviews for
243
168
33
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

The only reason I am rating this hotel as poor is because we found bed bugs in our bed. My boyfriend & stayed in this hotel for a weekend in Dec 2012. On the second night I was scratching my arm. I didn't think anything of it because I am used to get destroyed by mosquitos nearly year-round, but the next morning my arms were itching all over. I had the tell-tale pattern of tight lines of bites all over my arms and stomach. When we were packing to leave, we found one bed bug in the sheets. The hotel was nice enough to comp us one night, but being two days later and covered in calamine lotion, one night is not enough for me. CHECK YOUR SHEETS.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TMF1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasfc, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/Downtown, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear guest,

Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at our hotel. We strive to provide a memorable stay to all of guests and I regret you experienced issues while staying with us. Please rest assured that our hotel follows strict guidelines and takes immediate action regarding this time of feedback. I do hope you will choose to stay with us in the future as I am confident our award winning hotel is an ideal choice for visitors coming to the Washington DC area. Please feel free to contact me directly at our property should you have any questions. Again, thank you for your comment.
Donavon McDaniel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Felisha at front desk was so accommodating and friendly. The room was clean with great bed. Location in Chinatown. Was treated better here than at the j.w Marriott in d.c where the staff was condescending and rude! Stay here! Great price too and included breakfast and Free wifi!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambler, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Took the family sightseeing in DC for the weekend and needed a place to crash. What we found was this well maintained, well appointed gem within walking distance of the mall, museums, monuments. Great restaurants in the neighborhood. Staff could not have been nicer and the free breakfast each morning was icing on the cake.

Room Tip: Try Matchbox for great burgers and beer. Right down the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dwg30039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

I have stayed at this chain before in other cities, but this one in the heart of China town Washington D.C. was most impressive! Beautiful appointed rooms, with great thread count sheets! The room was spotless, and looked as if I were the first to have ever stayed in it! ! A great breakfast every morning with a large selection even for someone on a gluten free diet! Great price per night, and a very helpful and friendly staff!!! I truly would recommend this hotel for business and pleasure! The location too is a short distance to the Mall and the metro is just a block or two from the front door!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohninGRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Stayed over this weekend and I had a great time.Washington DC is a beautiful city an the hotel is located walking distance to all the major attractions. The hotels looked brand new. My husband and I loved the community table in the breakfast room. Rooms were big. Staff was nice and pleasant. Compliments! We will be back again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRC0722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

I travel quite a bit for business so I usually don't even bother reviewing business hotels but I have to comment on this property. I only stayed one night but I was quite impressed.

Room was a good size, newly renovated, and the front desk and valet car people were more than helpful. As for locations, pretty darn good as it's by the Verizon center, the Metro, Chinatown, etc. I had a sponsored marketing event about 8 blocks away so it worked out perfect.

Generally I stay in SPG properties (Sheraton, W, Westin, Aloft, etc) and while in DC I try to stay near Dupont Circle just cause there are many spots for a business traveler to walk to for a bite or glass of wine. I chose this property because I only needed one more stay to put me into SILVER status so I gambled. Let me tell you the gamble paid off.

There is an onsite Bar / Restaurant call the Irish Times. As an Irish American, I must say it's pretty authentic and the food wasn't half bad either. I don't know if I would hit it up if I wasn't staying at the hotel but it's great for onsite.

I totally forgot about breakfast the next morning and went I got to the lobby it was a great surprise. I made a cup of tea, grabbed a bannana, and a granola bar before I headed off to meetings in Baltimore. Perfect!

Bottom line - If you can get a good price on this hotel (I paid $150.00 I think) you can't go wrong. Otherwise try any Kimpton property in DC.

Room Tip: High Floor might get you a decent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crumz32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#44 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Mount Vernon Square
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington DC Convention Center
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#45 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#70 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/Downtown

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/Downtown
Address: 500 H St NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-2620 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Washington DC Downtown)
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#66 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#82 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our recently opened & completely renovated hotel offers comfort & convenience to the busy business traveler looking for quality & value while visiting our National’s Capital. As the only Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott located in the Washington DC city center, our hotel features a custom design package with upgraded services & amenities designed specifically with the business traveler in mind. 198 elegant & functional guestrooms offering plush bedding, LCD flat screen TVs with premium channels, spacious work desk with plug-in-panel and complimentary Wi-Fi & hard wired internet access • Complimentary expanded continental breakfast • 24 hour access fitness room and business center • The Irish Channel, on-site restaurant open for lunch & dinner & offering room service from 11am-11pm • Concierge service • Valet parking • Same-day dry cleaning service. Located in the bustling Chinatown neighborhood & in close proximity to: Gallery Place/Chinatown metro (2 blocks) • Walter E. Washington Convention Center (6 blocks) • Verizon Center (2 blocks) • U.S. Capitol (1 mile) • Union Station (1 mile) • Government & association offices nearby • Airports: Reagan National (DCA) - 6.5 miles, Dulles Int'l (IAD) - 25 miles, Baltimore/Washington (BWI) - 35 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Washington, Dc / Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, Dc / Downtown Hotel Washington Dc
Red Roof Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing