We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent choice.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/Downtown
Ranked #56 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Excellent choice.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed here during our son's DC wedding. Very clean, newly remodeled, very attentive and courteous staff. Location is terrific, China Town metro stop right next to hotel. A great experience! Complimentary breakfast daily with good choices, and coffee available all day.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamtra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    314
    89
    17
    7
See reviews for
229
157
31
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

the rooms was in great shapes and the staffs were wonderful. an employee name jesse on the breakfast staff was very friendly and wonderful to talk to. we enjoyed talking to jesse. the front desk clerks was very helpful and very friendly. i have traveled all over the country and never came across so many friendly people working in one place. the breakfast staff was unbelievable. my kids just love jesse because he was very friendly and show them how to make waffles. jesse took time out to talk to them and make them laugh. we never came across and like jesse in our life. he just so friendly that we couldn't wait to see jesse again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shayla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monument, CO
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed here 4 days for a business trip and this place was wonderful. I normally stay at Courtyards but we had a big group and this was the place for location, but we found out, it was the place for so much more. Room was very spacious considering it was in downtown, fantastic breakfast buffet with everything you could ask for. And at midnight when there is still much work to be done, the little mini market and fresh coffee is waiting for you. I'll be sure to come back here when in the area again!

Room Tip: Just ask for something not too high!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pagelynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I booked through hotels.com at the Marriott Courtyard across the street from the Spy Museum. When I arrived, I was told they overbooked and were sending me to a different hotel for my first night. They sent me to the Fairfield Inn about 5 blocks away.

I stayed here when it was a Red Roof a couple of years ago and it was mediocre at best. Thankfully, that is not the case anymore.

The lobby wasn't even recognizable from when it was Red Roof. It is MUCH nicer now. The elevator requires your keycard to get to your floor.

The room is also much nicer now. About what you'd expect from a Fairfield Inn. Same with the bathroom.

Unfortunately, you can still hear noise from the room next door. It wasn't horrible, but it was there.
One note... the price is about twice what it was before.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mobycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This hotel can be summed up in several words: clean, friendly, fresh, quiet, convenient to the Verizon Center and a great value. A 4 star hotel which treats you like a 5 star guest. I would return and wold recommend this hotel to family and friends!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelius, North Carolina
Level Contributor
131 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The staff at this hotel are some of the cheeriest and most polite I have ever encountered. This is not a flash hotel, but clean, comfy and does the trick. The location is perfect, easy access to main attractions and the convention center.

Room Tip: As for a room on the outside wall of the hotel otherwise you might end up facing a brick wall on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

A totally antiquated "business center" with two ancient PCs, and two equally ancient printers, set along side a wall in the dining area. Miniscule lobby so no place to hold a meeting unless you want to go back to your room. Place is fine for tourists -- fine, that is, if you don't mind hearing bathroom sounds from adjacent rooms -- but business travelers will not be pleased.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Courtyard Washington Convention ...
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 974 reviews
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#39 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Cap...
#45 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/Downtown

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/Downtown
Address: 500 H St NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-2620 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Washington DC Downtown)
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#67 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#83 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our recently opened & completely renovated hotel offers comfort & convenience to the busy business traveler looking for quality & value while visiting our National’s Capital. As the only Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott located in the Washington DC city center, our hotel features a custom design package with upgraded services & amenities designed specifically with the business traveler in mind. 198 elegant & functional guestrooms offering plush bedding, LCD flat screen TVs with premium channels, spacious work desk with plug-in-panel and complimentary Wi-Fi & hard wired internet access • Complimentary expanded continental breakfast • 24 hour access fitness room and business center • The Irish Channel, on-site restaurant open for lunch & dinner & offering room service from 11am-11pm • Concierge service • Valet parking • Same-day dry cleaning service. Located in the bustling Chinatown neighborhood & in close proximity to: Gallery Place/Chinatown metro (2 blocks) • Walter E. Washington Convention Center (6 blocks) • Verizon Center (2 blocks) • U.S. Capitol (1 mile) • Union Station (1 mile) • Government & association offices nearby • Airports: Reagan National (DCA) - 6.5 miles, Dulles Int'l (IAD) - 25 miles, Baltimore/Washington (BWI) - 35 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Washington, Dc / Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, Dc / Downtown Hotel Washington Dc
Red Roof Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing