We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Good Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown
Ranked #73 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2012

The Fairfield Inn in Gallery Place/Chinatown is conveniently located near the metro, the Verizon center, and many great restaraunts. My wife and I stayed there recently for a concert at the Verizon center and were very pleased with the hotel and the staff. The rooms are comfortable and nicely appointed with name brand ammenities. The staff was accomodating and cheerful. The breakfast, although crowded, had a good selection of food items. The lobby always had cold water and snacks (We were there on a 104 degree weekend). The free wifi worked well and the attached restaraunt "The Irish Channel" seemed to have good daily drink specials and was popular in it's own right even with the local crowd. The gym was small but the equipment was all brand new and clean and suited my needs. All in all a very good experience. I would certainly recommend to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HotelHopper25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (843)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

672 - 678 of 843 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

It's located in Washington, D.C.'s Chinatown. The location is close to excellent restaurants (many of them feature food other than Chinese or Thai), the Metro subway system, a sports arena (Verizon Center), and several museums (Building Museum, National Portrait Gallery, the National Collection of Fine Arts), the DC Convention Center and the F Street shopping area.
The continental breakfast is great, too and is included in the room price. The breakfast room is very busy at certain times...ask the front desk when the crowds will be less.

Room Tip: Rooms to the west face the backside of another building and a service entrance. Try to get a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DCDog50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Great location. Comfortable beds. Close to metro. The hot breakfast is not as ample as other hotels offer but it's still pretty good. Had a room next the elevator, which we didnt correct upon checking in, so we dealt with it but it was difficult to fall asleep. The Irish restaurant connected to the hotel was great. Charming atmosphere and incredibly good drinks and food.

Room Tip: Avoid a room next to the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gongelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Although the hotel has been nicely renovated, with moderately comfortable bedding, the breakfast situaton is deplorable.If you enjoy crowding, inadequate seating, long lines and food shortages, this is the place for you. The hotel still uses the food service facilities of the Red Roof Inn. The service area is much too small and breakfasts ends at 9:30 during the week-everyone comes down at 9:00-a major problem during heavy tourist season-hours need to be longer during these times. Only 1 microwave to heat egg sandwiches, bagels and muffins with no bread avaible. No skim milk the first day and the first hour of the next day. \ Currently staying at hotel, but will pay for breakfast elsewhere to avoid further horrors of the breakfast room.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elef7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stayed at the Fairfield Inn in Downtown/Chinatown for less than $200 a night, including parking. We had a great experience with the hotel, and their [free!] continental breakfast offered way more than the traditional cereal and old fruit. It was actually pretty tasty, and they offered many options.

The room and bed were comfortable, and the staff was surprisingly very pleasant. We liked that we had to use our hotel key to access our floor because it felt safer. That being said, we still passed weirdos on the street, but that is to be expected in any city atmosphere.

We also enjoyed the location, since it was within walking distance to the National Mall, the Verizon Center, and the metro. We stayed on the 10th floor, I believe, but we didn't really have a view of anything but the street. This was OK for us, since we were so close to everything we wanted to see anyway.

Our only *minor* complaint was that it was a little noisy. Again, this is to be somewhat expected in this type of environment. We can't exactly fault a hotel for street noise from a jackhammer, but figured I'd mention it anyway.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrandMrsBunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We wanted a hotel close to the major attractions and within easy walking distance to the Metro. The Fairfield Inn fit the bill perfectly. The hotel is nice and clean and located in the center of Chinatown. The staff was friendly and they offer complimentary breakfast which was nice. The only issue we had was that there were a group of people talking and partying loudly up to 3 am when we finally called the front desk and they had them stopped. I would recommend that they should do a check and enforce quite time. They have valet parking and you can come and go as you would like. But we basically parked the car and walked or used the Metro to get around. The Metro is about two blocks away. The Smithsonian Museums were a easy walk down either 6th or 7th avenue. It is a stretch but we walked around down to the White House, than down to the Lincoln Memorial all without having to use the car and when we were tired after a long day we used the Metro to bring use back close to the Hotel. Overall a good place and would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Red-Barchetta2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

This hotel is very pretty with nice decor especially in the dining room. I felt like I was in a restaurant during breakfast, which is complimentary by the way and awesome!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MekaO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Downtown / Chinatown
Pod DC Hotel
Pod DC Hotel
#26 of 141 in Washington DC
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mount Vernon Square
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington DC Convention Center
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#34 of 141 in Washington DC
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown

Address: 500 H St NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-2620 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Washington DC Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#66 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#82 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $167 - $512 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown is a newly renovated Chinatown DC hotel that offers comfort and convenience for the busy business and leisure traveler. We provide quality accommodations and value our guests who are visiting our National’s Capital for work or pleasure. As the only Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott located in the Washington DC city center, our hotel features a custom design package with upgraded services and amenities designed specifically with the business traveler in mind. We offer the following services and amenities: 198 elegant and functional guest rooms offering plush bedding, LCD flat screen TVs with premium channels, spacious work desk with plug-in-panel, and complimentary Wi-Fi & hard wired internet access • Complimentary expanded continental breakfast • 24-hour access fitness room and business center • The Irish Channel, on-site restaurant open for lunch and dinner, and offering room service from 11am-11pm • Concierge service • Valet parking • Same-day dry cleaning service. Located in the bustling Chinatown neighborhood and in proximity to: Gallery Place/Chinatown metro (2 blocks) • Walter E. Washington Convention Center (6 blocks) • Verizon Center (2 blocks) • U.S. Capitol (1 mile) • Union Station (1 mile) • Government & association offices nearby • Airports: Reagan National (DCA) - 6.5 miles, Dulles Int'l (IAD) - 25 miles, Baltimore/Washington (BWI) - 35 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, Dc / Downtown Hotel Washington Dc
Fairfield Inn And Suites Washington, Dc / Downtown
Red Roof Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing