We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown
Ranked #68 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Room was newly remodeled, quiet. Breakfast was great.

Neighborhood on east side of Verison was sketchy.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m_b_00000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (824)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

707 - 713 of 825 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2012

We stayed here for a girls weekend that included a game at the Verizon Center. The location for that was ideal. It was two blocks (also two blocks from Metro). The staff was phenomenal. They went above and beyond for us every time. The lobby was fun (fresh coffee, water, tea, cookies), the rooms clean and seemed newly renovated. Safety was paramount - you needed your room key to even access the elevator or the back entrance to the Irish Pub attached to the hotel. Breakfast was part of the rate and was more than adequate. I've seen some reviews that complained, but it is a typical breakfast setup. Fresh fruit, yogurts, breads, waffles, microwave sandwiches. I'd also read some reviews that mentioned street noise, but the only sounds I heard were typical city sounds (like emergency vehicles). It was on the edge of Chinatown with lots of little shops and restaurants around.

I would absolutely stay here again and recommend it to friends. The staff is what would make this hotel stand out. Every single person we encountered wanted to help us in any way.

Room Tip: We had a higher level room, which I always choose for noise purposes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Patti0211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

What a great hotel! Great service by hotel staff at any time of day, a fantastic continental breakfast to start every morning, and fresh coffee available in the lobby all day, both decaf and regular. We didn't know what to expect when we booked online but if we were ever in DC again, we would stay there and recommend the hotel to anyone we know.

Room Tip: Booked through Hotels.com and got a great deal on the room rates!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerri619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

From the the moment we arrived we were greeted with wonderful staff. The valet and the front desk personnel were very welcoming and helpful. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable; they recently remodeled and everything was quite new. The location cannot be beat for people who really like to see the city and want to have a good "night out on the town". It is a one block walk to the Verizon Center, the Metro station, and great bars like the Greene Turtle, Fado, and RFD. There is even an excellent Irish Pub on the premises! We stayed for two nights and could not be more pleased with this hotel. After a late night out on Saturday, the security staff even called in a pizza delivery order for us at 3:30am! We are now hooked on this hotel for the reasons of the wonderful guest service and the location. Will book it for every stay in DC from now on, and that is at least 4x a year. Great hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stacey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

This is not your typical blue roof Fairfield Inn. The quality was equal to a Courtyard property. The rooms were spacious, clean, and up to date. The desk space was functional and Internet speeds were good. The bed was comfortable and pillows perfect. The very staff member was friendly from e front desk to housekeepers and even the maintenance man I encountered in the elevator. Breakfast was similar to other Fairfield and Residence Inn locations. The food was fresh and the staff members over seeing breakfast were extremely friendly and attentive. The only negetive thing I did notice was that in room movies were not available.

Room Tip: Select a room on the street side of e hotel. There does tend to be some street noise especially on F...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IMaTravelinMan2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

- The location was very convenient for our business trip. It was also relatively easy to walk to all main attractions.
- Our king room was clean, very small, tiny closet, decent bathroom, good quality matress;
- Wireless internet was slow, just enough to check emails;
- Breakfast selection was standard, not very healthy options;
- Staff was very friendly, always with a smile.

Overall - good experience, will recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yanka7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

On our 2011 Christmas trip, we discovered this hotel. The location, service, and breakfast were perfect! We were within 10 minutes walk of the White House, the Washington Mounument, the US Capitol, and all of the museums. With a 9 year old and a 6 year old this was great. The customer service was welcoming upon arrive, check out and during our stay. The breakfast was perfect. It was a little busy 20 minutes before closing but there was a wide array of items to choose from.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Travelingmakesmehapy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Downtown / Chinatown
Pod DC Hotel
Pod DC Hotel
#77 of 142 in Washington DC
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington ...
#89 of 142 in Washington DC
220 reviews
Mount Vernon Square
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington DC Convention Center
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#39 of 142 in Washington DC
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown

Address: 500 H Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Washington DC Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#52 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#66 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#82 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $141 - $518 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown is a newly renovated Chinatown DC hotel that offers comfort and convenience for the busy business and leisure traveler. We provide quality accommodations and value our guests who are visiting our National’s Capital for work or pleasure. As the only Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott located in the Washington DC city center, our hotel features a custom design package with upgraded services and amenities designed specifically with the business traveler in mind. We offer the following services and amenities: 198 elegant and functional guest rooms offering plush bedding, LCD flat screen TVs with premium channels, spacious work desk with plug-in-panel, and complimentary Wi-Fi & hard wired internet access • Complimentary expanded continental breakfast • 24-hour access fitness room and business center • The Irish Channel, on-site restaurant open for lunch and dinner, and offering room service from 11am-11pm • Concierge service • Valet parking • Same-day dry cleaning service. Located in the bustling Chinatown neighborhood and in proximity to: Gallery Place/Chinatown metro (2 blocks) • Walter E. Washington Convention Center (6 blocks) • Verizon Center (2 blocks) • U.S. Capitol (1 mile) • Union Station (1 mile) • Government & association offices nearby • Airports: Reagan National (DCA) - 6.5 miles, Dulles Int'l (IAD) - 25 miles, Baltimore/Washington (BWI) - 35 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, Dc / Downtown Hotel Washington Dc
Fairfield Inn And Suites Washington, Dc / Downtown
Red Roof Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing