We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location without biting your wallet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown
Ranked #66 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good location without biting your wallet”
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Stayed two nights (Aug 10 & 11) and for most parts, the facility was OK. This is not Marriott or Hyatt so don't expect service on that basis. Having said this, their room rate was reasonable for DC area. Location is good -- where you can go to most key places in DC with short walk or jump on metro from nearby station. Gym was good (unfortunately no sanitizers).

If you are business traveler and need Internet access during evening/night hours, you will be out luck as wireless Internet seems to be taken over by those downloading movies, watching sports, etc -- thus impossible to access emails during evening. This issue is not there during the morning hours.

There is poor sound barrier between rooms so people entering or knocking on other rooms, you feel as if they are about to enter to your room.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bob_pate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    358
    103
    20
    8
See reviews for
263
175
33
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

I decided on the spur of the moment to take my grandson on his first trip to Washington, DC. I picked the Fairfield because it had some good reviews here and I used my Marriott points.

Getting to the hotel from Reagan was very easy on the Metro, didn't even have to change trains, a good thing with luggage. Coming out of the Metro and walking towards the hotel in the late morning the area seemed to be somewhat iffy. Men lounging against buildings with bottles in paper bags (at 11 am) was not what I would normally expect of a Chinatown. Once at the hotel everything was fine except that early check-in was not available, the place was packed. The staff was unfailingly pleasant and helpful at check-in and throughout our stay. Our bags were waiting in our room when we returned later.

When heading back towards 7th St SW to find some place to have lunch, the street demographics were now completely changed and full of business people. Never had another worry about the neighborhood and frequently came back to the hotel on the Metro or walking at 9 - 10 pm.

So the hotel location turned out to be perfect. We walked to all the main attracttions if it wasn't too hot, and used the Metro frequently. Dining options, especially for an 8 year old, were all close by. Rita's Ice, right down the street, became our frozen custard stop every afternoon after wandering the city in the heat wave. Chinatown was very new to my grandson and he even tried authentic duck noodle soup.

The room itself was nice, clean, and comfortable. However, as another reviewer noted, the bathroom needs a fan vent. Since I had to close the door to shower, the bathroom became a hot, steamy mess. My other complaint is that there is only one chair, a desk chair. So if we brought food back from Chipotle's, one of us had to eat on the bed. Otherwise, at first I was annoyed at getting a second floor room but it turned out well. The window looked out on a side street with an old church and it was charming. And, we could run up and down the stairs because the elevators sometimes took forever.

The free breakfast was great, but as others have noted, very crowded. There was always self-serve coffee, tea, hot chocolate and ice water in the lobby all day, a nice touch. The Chinese themed decorating in the hotel is a bit too colorful for my taste, but it looks way better in person than in the pictures. Wireless internet is free in the room and there are two computers with attached printers in the lobby for guest use. This was very handy for printing out boarding passes.

All in all, I would definitely return. I couldn't give it 5 stars but it's better than 4 for what it is. It's not a luxury, historic hotel but from checking rates it is surely a bargain, especially being newly renovated. And with so much to do in Washington it was a great home base.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cynsh111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We booked this hotel long before it reopened so we got a really good deal for central Washington. The location is right outside Chinatown and directly behind the Verizon Center so location is perfect. When the GPS said we were two minutes away we had a bit of a bad feeling as it felt we were going to be out on the edge of town somewhere, but it is clear that this whole are has been bulldozed and rebuilt, so it is actually a nice, clean area and the walk into town is very short.

The whole place is new, so everything is spotless. We had a suite, which is really a king and sofa bed divided by a small wall, and it was not the most spacious we have ever had, but was perfectly comfortable. Breakfast was the usual Fairfield cereals, waffles, etc. and was fine.

Staff were generally friendly, with one exception at check-in when I dropped my wife, kids and luggage outside so they could check-in and i could immediately return a rental car. A valet came outside, but when i said i was not parking, he walked off and made zero effort to help with our luggage until we actually asked (okay, technically that may not be in his job description, but I was amazed at being ignored). I also assumed someone from the hotel would help my wife with the luggage trolley inside, but incredibly no-one did, and she actually eventually got help from another guest to maneuver it in and out of the elevator. This would not prevent us from returning to this hotel, but it does get them a negative mark on service.

There is also an Irish bar connected to the hotel. Great place for a drink and some remarkably good and cheap food.

Overall, a nice hotel, location and good value.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaJambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All Over
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We were here for 3 quick days and stayed in a master suite which was perfect for us. The staff were very nice and helpful, the breakfast was fantastic and the location was absolutely perfect. This will be our new regular spot when staying in DC now. Thanks Marriott Staff!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravelSnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed at this hotel during our recent visit to DC. The decor, staff, cleanliness and location was terrific. When we booked the hotel I did not realize it was in Chinatown, I just knew it was the best value I could find. When we arrived I was thrilled with everything. There are multiple great restaurants within walking distance, the area felt very safe and the location of the Metro was perfect. The conceirge was very helpful in suggesting and booking our tours and bus reservations.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwilson65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights. Our room was double queen, which had enough space for us 3 including an 11 year old child. It provided complimentary breakfast and free Wi-Fi access in the room, which saved us a lot of time and money. It was located in Chinatown, one block from the metro station and very convenient to access from everywhere. It looked recently renovated and all the facilities were clean and modern. As it was a business hotel, there were no luxury restaurants, bars and swimming pool like other tourist hotels. But if you’re looking for a value for money and well located hotel, this is the right one. As it is located in downtown, we could walk to most of the famous attractions and there were lots of nice restaurants nearby. Some Chinese restaurants were open until late night, so we could enjoy late-night snacks like soup noodle wearing casual clothes and slipper after having shower. Staff were very kind and always welcoming. They put a jar of fortune cooky on the front desk, like most Chinese restaurants do, so we could tell our fortune every morning for amusement. We were satisfied with this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kangjin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

This new Fairfield Inn was a wonderful surprise for us. It's very new (it was a different brand of hotel that Fairfield totally renovated) & our room was extremely well done. The rooms are not huge but it was enough room for the 3 of us. You are within blocks of all the sights in Washington DC too. Plus you are in Chinatown - lots of good Chinese restaurants within a block or two. The Free breakfast was excellent although it's very busy but there was plenty of food for everyone. We wanted to see everything so we took a tour - I highly recommend the 'On Board' tour. We took the 3 hour tour & it was excellent plus there is a longer tour in which you also go on a boat ride on the Potamac. We had gone on a dinner cruise the night before so we skipped that but I would recommend it if you haven't been on the Potomac River.

Parking is by valet for $33/day. It was well worth it since we were touing the East Coast and had our car with us.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miffie98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#46 of 141 in Washington DC
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mount Vernon Square
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington DC Convention Center
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#35 of 141 in Washington DC
385 reviews
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington ...
#87 of 141 in Washington DC
177 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Pod DC Hotel
Pod DC Hotel
#99 of 141 in Washington DC
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown
Address: 500 H Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Washington DC Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#52 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#66 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#82 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown is a newly renovated Chinatown DC hotel that offers comfort and convenience for the busy business and leisure traveler. We provide quality accommodations and value our guests who are visiting our National’s Capital for work or pleasure. As the only Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott located in the Washington DC city center, our hotel features a custom design package with upgraded services and amenities designed specifically with the business traveler in mind. We offer the following services and amenities: 198 elegant and functional guest rooms offering plush bedding, LCD flat screen TVs with premium channels, spacious work desk with plug-in-panel, and complimentary Wi-Fi & hard wired internet access • Complimentary expanded continental breakfast • 24-hour access fitness room and business center • The Irish Channel, on-site restaurant open for lunch and dinner, and offering room service from 11am-11pm • Concierge service • Valet parking • Same-day dry cleaning service. Located in the bustling Chinatown neighborhood and in proximity to: Gallery Place/Chinatown metro (2 blocks) • Walter E. Washington Convention Center (6 blocks) • Verizon Center (2 blocks) • U.S. Capitol (1 mile) • Union Station (1 mile) • Government & association offices nearby • Airports: Reagan National (DCA) - 6.5 miles, Dulles Int'l (IAD) - 25 miles, Baltimore/Washington (BWI) - 35 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, Dc / Downtown Hotel Washington Dc
Fairfield Inn And Suites Washington, Dc / Downtown
Red Roof Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing