We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice free day!”

U.S. National Arboretum
Ranked #35 of 442 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in 1927 by an Act of the United States Congress, this national treasure contains 446 acres of fabulous flora and fauna and is especially known for its Asian, azalea and conifer collections.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice free day!”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

The fact that this is a free attraction is wonderful! We went on a Sunday and parking was free also! We saw the orchid exhibit. The place was not packed and you could actually get up close and personal with the flowers. They do not have any types of refreshment which is no big deal, but they really should have a gift shop where you can at least get a souvenir or two. They would make some money too! Bring a lunch, bring your book and sit in any of the many seating areas and chill out for a while.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Marialice N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    125
    25
    9
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A hidden GEM in DC”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I attribute this to being a little out of the way, but this is one of the only tourist attractions I hadn't visited in DC, but it was definitely worth the wait. I highly recommend visiting in spring when all the flowers are in bloom, you feel like you're out of the city. Definitely a great place for locals to find quiet solace. It was the perfect spring day when we visited last weekend and we spent 2 hours visiting all the different parts. We really enjoyed the Dogwoods and asian collections.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Saacha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
219 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great Place to Visit During Winter”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We visited during New Year and had a really fun time wandering through the special exhibit and seeing the regular exhibits as well. Fun place for children as the flowers are colorful and there's a scavenger hunt type activity for them to enjoy. When it's cold outside, this makes for a warm and beautiful visit.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank WFleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“So much to see”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

This is one of the lesser-known green spaces in DC, even to DC natives. It's quite popular in April and May, when the azaleas are blooming (a gorgeous but crowded time to visit). The old Capital Columns sit on top of a hill, looking majestic and impressive - very cool for photographs. The Bonsai Museum is worth a visit, especially in the spring and fall when the trees are blooming and leaves are changing color. It's best to visit the Arboretum with a car, because there are almost 450 acres to explore.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mari818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Head, Maryland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“"Hidden" Treasure”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Not many people visiting Washington , D.C. even know of this great place. If you want a total different perspective of our Nation's Capital, this is the place to visit. The gardens, flowers, and trees are beautiful and the old Capital Columns are impressive. There are plenty of trails and areas to walk or hike and picnic too. You will not be disappointed if you enjoy the outdoors ! Since we live close by, we visit occasionally.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed U.S. National Arboretum also viewed

 
 

Been to U.S. National Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing