We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced and Underwhelming” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn & Suites New York Avenue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Quality Inn & Suites New York Avenue
Ranked #128 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Stirling, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overpriced and Underwhelming”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We were moving our daughter into college and taking our pickup truck to move all of her things. Underground parking was not going to work in msot cases because the truck is 21 feet long and 6 feet high, so one of the most important criteria in searching for a hotel was parking. Not only did I need above ground parking, but also secure parking. Not being all that familiar with DC, I chose this hotel after searching online, becuase it seemed the parking would work out. We found the hotel to be in a VERY rough part of town, and although the parking area was gated, and they claimed to have security at night we were not reassured. The lobby of the hotel was updated, but the rooms were run down. The suite had a sofa bed that you could not sit on and definitely could never sleep on! We requested another room and it was equally run down, with another sofa bed that was falling apart. We left the hotel and moved to a hotel that I had previously stayed at and liked very much, but I thought the parking would be a problem, (and when I had previously checked was unavailable for the dates we were travelling). A phone call determined that they had available rooms and their valet only garage could accomodate the pickup truck. The best part is the per night rate was really HALF what the disgusting Comfort Inn wanted for a room. The hotel we ultimately stayed inn was the Homewood Suites on Massachusetts Ave., NW. I have now stayed there three times. The staff is always friendly and helpful, the rooms are immaculate. Each has a king bed, suite with queen sleeper, fridge, microwave, dishwasher and stove top. The only negative is the buffet breakfast which is not great.

Room Tip: Tried two rooms and they were both awful. I don't think there are any good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bean414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    60
    36
    38
    70
See reviews for
64
47
30
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Three friends and I stayed in a two queen bedroom (with a cot) and found the room very comfortable. It is off the beaten path and the area of town is a little ‘run down’ so we took the shuttle provided to and from Union Station or cabs. The breakfast was good and the coffee and tea area in the lobby was nice. The staff was nice, even when it got crazy with people checking in and out. It was just a place to lay our heads, so for the price, it was well worth it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gabrielle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara, Ontario
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Checked in by a very friendly and helpful gentleman named Dennis. He was very polite and accomodating to all of my requests (yes we were tourists). Some covered parking to choose from, room was nicely decorated and clean. Had a flat screen tv, fridge and well appointed bathroom. Was worried about facing out to the street but heard virtually no noise. Continental breakfast was average. Check out was uneventful and not nearly as nice as Dennis but I guess he can't work 24hrs!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Monaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

We had just missed our flight at the airport and our airliner recommended this hotel at a very discounted Rate. We were booked into the king suite. The room was clean and comfortable. Our receptionist ordered a take out for us and the breakfast was good. My only complaint was the lukewarm shower. For anyone stuck in a long layover at the airport I would recommend this hotel. A free shuttle runs every half hour between the airport and the hotel.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Raha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

This say near UNION station but it is actually in Washington Avenue which is 2.5 to 3 miles away from UNION Station so beware of this information....they charge you close to 120$ for kingsize room and the facility is not that great....there is a track adjacent to the hotel and it is horrible as whole night trains honks wakes you up....elevator is one horrible stuff...when ever I use it I always pray to GOD to save me this time....They have fitness center which had a cycle, tred mill and weight machine but they have kept one of the flase celing cupboard open and cockroches were coming out...eeeewwwww disgusting....I took no smoking room and both room as well hall way were full of cigrattee smell....Front desk staffs are really nice & they had shuttle...you have to really on shuttle to reach to nearest metro as it is not in walkable distance ...by walkable distance my standard is anything less than a mile...they is no any good place to eat out...I have to get a to go from resturants near my office so that i can heat & eat on my room....

Room Tip: check whether you ahve any room away from rail tracks....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sab K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

I feel compelled to write this review because of previous reviews I read before staying at this hotel.

I knew what I was getting into when I decided to stay there. I didn't expect much, just a place to sleep while visiting DC, is all I required. I didn't want to spend an arm and a leg and this hotel was much cheaper than hotels in the downtown area. I did my fair share of research regarding the hotel, the location, and what others thought about their visit before I made my reservation (everyone should do this before traveling, this will cut down on certain expectations that may have been misled by "fluffy" advertising).

The hotel is very busy. From the lobby to the breakfast area, there were students (looked like a school trip) and families lined up to either have breakfast or get on the free shuttle. The staff does a great job with acknowledging everyone by saying "hello" or "I'll be with you in just a moment." I was very surprised, the gentleman who checked me in was also there in the morning and remembered my name. He asked me how I slept and if I enjoyed the snack bag he gave me at check in.

I slept very well, as a matter of fact. When I entered the room, I was quite surprised. The room was huge compared to a NY hotel I had been in the previous week. Nothing fancy, just a nice, clean room. They have flat screen tv's and microwaves and refrigerators (not sure if all rooms have these). The only improvement I see needed in the rooms is more TV channels, but then again, I didn't go all the way to DC to watch TV. All I need is the news and they had plenty of channels with news!

I used the free shuttle soon after I checked in. The driver was very friendly and gave me some good tips to see the city in a short amount of time. The shuttle service is what really adds value to the hotel. I would have paid almost $50 more per night if I stayed downtown.

The breakfast area was a bit crowded in the am, but the breakfast lady did a good job replenishing items and cleaning up spills.

In short, I thought the staff was very friendly and accommodating, the room was clean and welcoming, the free hot breakfast was great! I would definitely stay there again. The value of the free shuttle compared to paying a higher price at a downtown hotel is all the reason for me to book there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

This is true, this hotel is not close to Union Station, and after 11AM if you want to go to that station you have to take a cab because the shuttle service will start again at 5PM. That is 6 hours without shuttle in the middle of nowhere. That policy is a non sense. The staff at the desk are not friendly it seems like you are annoying them with your requests. The decoration in the hallway is so outdated. Frankly it is quite ugly. The cleanliness of the room is alright but there are some deep stains in the rug, which show that those rugs are not really cleaned deeply very often. The nicest people are the members of the cleaning crew, those should be at the front desk, granted they don't speak English very well. We had a room on the 3rd floor on the street side and that was extremly noisy with the traffic. Unfortunatly there are no noise proof windows to help you sleep. Overall, the feeling is that a lot of corners are cut to save a buck.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank gail t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington DC
Days Inn Washington DC/Connectic...
#116 of 140 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#52 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Quality Inn
#5 of 9 in Camp Springs
3.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#109 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Georgetown Area
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC ...
#43 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites New York Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites New York Avenue

Property: Quality Inn & Suites New York Avenue
Address: 1600 New York Ave NE, Washington DC, DC 20002-1726
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites New York Avenue 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn & Suites New York Avenue welcomes you to Washington DC home of our Nation’s many magnificent museums, attractions, and rich history.The Comfort Inn & Suites New York Avenue is a great start to your trip.The hotel features complimentary hot breakfast buffet, 24 hour hot beverage bar, 24 hour fitness center and business center, free wireless internet access. We offer room types to fit any traveler’s need. We have double queen rooms, deluxe king size rooms with pull out sleeper sofas, double queen suites with a separate living area and king size suites with a separate living area. When you want to spoil yourself or just relax after a long day of touring, we offer Jacuzzi suites with a roman style Jacuzzi tub and separate sitting area. All rooms are furnished with in-room safe, microwave & refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, 32” Plasma TV and lounge chair, work desk and executive chair. Control your own comfort in your room with individually controlled HVAC unit. Start your morning with our complimentary hot breakfast buffet with its abundant selection of hot and cold breakfast items to include our eggs, sausage, and fresh hot waffles. Take our complimentary shuttle service to the Union Station where you can do a little shopping, a little eating and take off on one of the city tours that start from the Union Station. If you want to take your time and plan out your own sightseeing tour, you can also conveniently hop onto the Metro to take you anywhere in Washington, DC to tour your favorite sights in the Nation’s Capital.After a fun filled day, kick back and relax in your spacious clean room with all the comfort of home. While visiting Washington DC may we suggest some of DC must see and do…See the magnificent jewels, dinosaurs and mammals on display at the National Museum of Natural History, the airplanes and interactive flight simulators at the National Air and Space Museum, and the stories, arts and crafts at the National Museum of the American Indian. Art lovers won't want to miss a visit to the National Gallery of Art, while the National Archives is a must for any American history buff. Tour the Capitol Hill neighborhood and explore the U.S. Capitol, Library of Congress and Supreme Court. The neighborhood is also home to Union Station and the Folger Shakespeare Library, which houses the largest collection of Shakespeare memorabilia outside of England. Go undercover at the International Spy Museum, where you can crack codes, take on covers and even let your group take on its own covert operation. Or, stop by the National Portrait Gallery and Smithsonian American Art Museum, the newest addition to the Smithsonian system.Ride to the top of the Washington Monument (tickets required) or the Old Post Office Pavilion for a panoramic view of the city. Animal lovers may also wish to pay a visit to the National Zoo, home to giant pandas, cheetahs, tigers and other exotic species.Discover DC's theatre scene. The Kennedy Center's Millennium Stage offers free performances at 6:30 pm nightly. Other theatres, such as the Shakespeare Theatre Company, Arena Stage, Warner Theatre, National Theatre, regularly present familiar classics. For something a bit more contemporary, catch a show at Woolly Mammoth Theatre Company or Studio Theatre.Sports fans can watch the Washington Nationals, Washington Wizards, Washington Mystics, Washington Capitals or DC United in action.If you are looking for nightlife, head to U Street for live jazz music or Adams Morgan to experience DC's eclectic, international scene.If you love nature, take stroll at the National Arboretum just two three lights from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites New York Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Near Union Station
Comfort Inn & Suites Near Union Station Hotel Washington Dc
Comfort Inn Washington Dc
President Inn Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing