We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, convenient location & friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites New York Avenue
Ranked #129 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed March 18, 2011

I stayed at the Comfort Inn and suites near Union Station with a group of girlfriends last weekend. If you are looking for a affordable downtown hotel in DC - don't look any further. The staff is very friendly and knowledgeable about hot spots in DC. The rooms were looked brand new and the continental breakfast had a excellent choices.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Texasgirl445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
There are newer reviews for Quality Inn & Suites New York Avenue
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

153 - 159 of 234 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2011

Do not stay here. We stayed for Shamrock Festival because it was a hotel close to RFK Stadium. They have bed bugs in the room. Im hoping that my friends and I were just bit while we were there because if they came home with us, Im going to be devastated! I have never had any problems with any hotels Ive ever stayed at, and this is my first bad experience at a hotel. Its a little bit run down, not horrible, but BED BUGS are NOT okay. DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KCW24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2011

First, it is NOT near Union Station. It's a 35 minute walk to Union Station, according to Google Maps. I didn't even try it. I was expecting I would be able to do all my journeys by subway, but that made it impossible. The hotel is in a bad neighborhood, so I decided to do everything by cab, but that was bad too. Every time the reception staff called a cab for me, it would not be a legally registered cab with taximeter. It was a guy with his personal car charging flat rates. My room itself was reasonable, the only problem was a mild cigarette odor in the carpet. What is really terrible, actually, is the bad neighborhood where the hotel is. One morning when I was there, five days ago, one of the guests had his car window broken and some of his stuff was stolen during the night. The only reason I don't vote for the lowest rate here is that the hotel staff seems to be kind and willing to help. But that doesn't make much of a difference.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cabradapeste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2011

Booked online. Expected central location where we could walk around the Capitol. Found ourselves 12 minutes drive from Union Station, in light Sunday traffic.
With no restaurant in the hotel and the streets looking dirty and unsafe, we stayed in our room and missed dinner. The option offered by the hotel to order a Pizza for delivery to our room did not appeal.

Room was large and clean but the view from the window, over a disused and heavily littered railway line, took from that. Basically we felt really ripped off and wished we had read the reviews prior to making the booking. A great learning experience.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SydneyTraveller33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2011

The hotel misleads you by saying that it is near Union Station but its actually a 15-20 minutes ride by the shuttle bus or taxi as it is too far to walk. It is situated in an industrial area with no access to shops or restaurants. The hotel does not have a restaurant. The shuttle bus goes for a short period in the morning and then starts again in the late afternoon. What an experience breakfast was-never in our 21 years of travelling have we had to use plastic cultery/cups and eat out styrofoam dishes. The breakfast that was provided consisted of high fats and sugars. If the television is not working its because the plug is used for the fridge. We had difficulty getting to it because the unit was heavy to move. Watch out for the water when the fridge defrosts.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aussies25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2010

This hotel is sandwiched between busy New York Avenue and the Northeast corridor railroad tracks. While not quite ghetto conditions, I wouldn't feel comfortable walking around after dark - though the only things within walking distance appear to be gas stations and a liquor store where the cashier is behind bullet proof glass. Moreover, this hotel appears to be renting at least some of its rooms to Washington's public housing authority for transients - an observation confirmed by a colleague who lives here.

In spite of all the drawbacks, the room is clean and almost quiet. I would stay here again, but only as a last resort. Except at the height of tourist season, much better hotels in much better locations are usually available in the same price range.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank klb365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2010

Upon arriving, we did not feel safe due to the condition of the area. There were homeless-looking types across the street, some talking to themselves and other unsavory characters hangin around nearby. There was a high cyclone fence protecting the hotel. Cancellation deadline was 4pm. I called at 4:10 and they would not cancel. So it cost me but we went somewhere else and felt safe. The Choice Hotel chain, of which I am a member, would do nothing. Beware of this place.

Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
4  Thank wakeupandgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington DC
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue
Fairfield Inn & Suites Washingto...
#117 of 142 in Washington DC
191 reviews
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington DC NoMa Union Station
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#67 of 142 in Washington DC
180 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University
Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gall...
#115 of 142 in Washington DC
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 9 in Camp Springs
67 reviews
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#113 of 142 in Washington DC
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites New York Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites New York Avenue

Address: 1600 New York Ave NE, Washington DC, DC 20002-1726
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range: $134 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites New York Avenue 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn & Suites New York Avenue welcomes you to Washington DC home of our Nation’s many magnificent museums, attractions, and rich history.The Comfort Inn & Suites New York Avenue is a great start to your trip.The hotel features complimentary hot breakfast buffet, 24 hour hot beverage bar, 24 hour fitness center and business center, free wireless internet access. We offer room types to fit any traveler’s need. We have double queen rooms, deluxe king size rooms with pull out sleeper sofas, double queen suites with a separate living area and king size suites with a separate living area. When you want to spoil yourself or just relax after a long day of touring, we offer Jacuzzi suites with a roman style Jacuzzi tub and separate sitting area. All rooms are furnished with in-room safe, microwave & refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, 32” Plasma TV and lounge chair, work desk and executive chair. Control your own comfort in your room with individually controlled HVAC unit. Start your morning with our complimentary hot breakfast buffet with its abundant selection of hot and cold breakfast items to include our eggs, sausage, and fresh hot waffles. Take our complimentary shuttle service to the Union Station where you can do a little shopping, a little eating and take off on one of the city tours that start from the Union Station. If you want to take your time and plan out your own sightseeing tour, you can also conveniently hop onto the Metro to take you anywhere in Washington, DC to tour your favorite sights in the Nation’s Capital.After a fun filled day, kick back and relax in your spacious clean room with all the comfort of home. While visiting Washington DC may we suggest some of DC must see and do…See the magnificent jewels, dinosaurs and mammals on display at the National Museum of Natural History, the airplanes and interactive flight simulators at the National Air and Space Museum, and the stories, arts and crafts at the National Museum of the American Indian. Art lovers won't want to miss a visit to the National Gallery of Art, while the National Archives is a must for any American history buff. Tour the Capitol Hill neighborhood and explore the U.S. Capitol, Library of Congress and Supreme Court. The neighborhood is also home to Union Station and the Folger Shakespeare Library, which houses the largest collection of Shakespeare memorabilia outside of England. Go undercover at the International Spy Museum, where you can crack codes, take on covers and even let your group take on its own covert operation. Or, stop by the National Portrait Gallery and Smithsonian American Art Museum, the newest addition to the Smithsonian system.Ride to the top of the Washington Monument (tickets required) or the Old Post Office Pavilion for a panoramic view of the city. Animal lovers may also wish to pay a visit to the National Zoo, home to giant pandas, cheetahs, tigers and other exotic species.Discover DC's theatre scene. The Kennedy Center's Millennium Stage offers free performances at 6:30 pm nightly. Other theatres, such as the Shakespeare Theatre Company, Arena Stage, Warner Theatre, National Theatre, regularly present familiar classics. For something a bit more contemporary, catch a show at Woolly Mammoth Theatre Company or Studio Theatre.Sports fans can watch the Washington Nationals, Washington Wizards, Washington Mystics, Washington Capitals or DC United in action.If you are looking for nightlife, head to U Street for live jazz music or Adams Morgan to experience DC's eclectic, international scene.If you love nature, take stroll at the National Arboretum just two three lights from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, HostelWorld, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites New York Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Near Union Station Hotel Washington Dc
Comfort Inn And Suites Near Union Station
Comfort Inn Washington Dc
President Inn Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing