We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to Metro” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol
Ranked #106 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Close to Metro”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

Not in the downtown area but the hotel is basically over the Metro station so easy to get anywhere. Much more reasonalbly priced, it has a great little bistro bar with really nice staff. Downside there are no nice area to eat out within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWI-CYTD, Property Coordinator at Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
All of us here at the Courtyard US Capitol are thrilled to hear how wonderful your stay with us was. We make every stride possible to ensure that the highest level of customer service is met for all our guests. The DC area is currently going through a lot of new and exciting changes and we are lucky enough to be a part of these changes. This will lead to new restaurants, bike and running paths, and much more. We appreciate your feedback and your experience is very important to all of us. Thank you again for choosing Courtyard and we look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,
US Capitol Courtyard Leadership Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    256
    109
    30
    27
See reviews for
174
109
44
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

Comfortable room felt safe. Good food.. We were there just over night for hospital visit nearby. Just wish cheaper rates for longer family stay coming up since valet parking required too for this place



  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWI-CYTD, Property Coordinator at Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
We here at the Courtyard US Capitol are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We make it our goal to deliver the best service to each and every one of our guests. Any and all feedback we receive only helps us to improve the service we offer our guests, so thank you for taking the time to give us a review. Thank you for choosing the Courtyard US Capitol and we look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,
US Capitol Courtyard Leadership Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

When arriving at this hotel i thought my driver was joking, he said it was in the middle of washingtons roughest areas. It was quite scary.
When walking into the hotel you need to catch a lift to level 2 to reception werid...
The rooms look tired and run down, the beds are to hard also.
Their is not many resturants around at all.
The hotel looks and feels like a hospital.. Their are levels in between the hotel which i am not sure what they are?? Eg. Goes level 8 then 8R..
One of the lifts has the hospital sign on it.. The snake down the pole?? Unsure if its some sort of caring place???
Walking outside at night i didnt feel safe with people walking on and off trains etc.. Get use to hearing train noises also.
Maybe my travel agent made a mistake by putting is in this hotel.. Hoping to get my money back?

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alex V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWI-CYTD, Property Coordinator at Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
We here at the Courtyard US Capitol are sorry to hear that your expectations were not met during your stay. Our hotel is located in an up and coming area of D.C. It is currently undergoing many new and exciting changes to enhance the city and our guest experience. We appreciate your feedback as all feedback helps us to improve the service we offer each of our guests. Thank you for taking the time to give us a review and thank you for choosing Courtyard.

Sincerely,
US Capitol Courtyard Leadership Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at this location several times and the accommodations are very convenient. The hotel is in good condition, rooms are well furnished, the place is not kidding about being adjacent to the NoMa metro, and the beds absolutely sleep like clouds. What makes this hotel so disappointing is the clearly apathetic desire for providing outstanding guest service... In a market with such over-saturation of hotels, guest service is the metric of this hotel which has the least room for error. For example, the female agent at the front desk on the morning of January 1st was exceptionally rude and knew nothing about how to treat guests. Another example is the security team on the first level. Every guest is a burden to these staff members, no matter the hour of the day. A pleasant smile and attitude goes a long way, and this hotel hasn't seen either in quite some time. Plenty of other Marriott properties in the area to choose instead.

PS. I could SWEAR this hotel sticks me in rooms that other guests have already quickly checked out of... There are always strange imperfections in my room (ie. just one hand towel obviously missing from the rack, a luggage-sized wrinkle on the bed sheets, or a few pieces of trash in the trash can).

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank NCStateHotelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWI-CYTD, Property Coordinator at Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
We at the Courtyard strive to offer the highest level of customer service every single day. We are sorry to hear that your expectations were not met. Your feedback is very important and will be brought to the Leadership team. On behalf of the entire staff here at the Courtyard US Capitol we do apologize for not being able to exceed your expectations. Thank you for choosing Courtyard.

Sincerely,
US Capitol Courtyard Leadership Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joppa, MD
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Let me start off by saying the hotel itself was very nice. Room was small but served its purpose we'll for the two of us. We came from out of town to see an event and just needed a place to crash after. Comfortable bed, fairly clean (except for the dirty coffee maker and shavings left by the previous person), great water pressure and there are lots of little places to eat in walking distance (all pretty much fast food and convenient store though).
But... The one reason I will never stay again was the parking. I understand when booking it does not have free parking so I take the blame for not checking before. I'm also not a native of DC so it's not common knowledge. But for others be prepared to either pay an astronomical fee for valet or drive around for LITERALLY hours trying to find it, as we did. I even called the front desk to ask for suggestions.. Her response was to pay the (outrageous) fee for valet or " I don't know, maybe a garage or something". We finally found parking in a residential neighborhood close by but had to walk in the middle of the night with our bags through a not so great part of town right through a homeless camp! I realize it's more the location to blame not the actual hotel but next time I will travel a little further down the street to not have to deal with the headache.

Room Tip: Be prepared to pay a lot or drive around for hours looking for parking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank poca1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWI-CYTD, Property Coordinator at Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
I am sorry to hear about your experience. We strive to provide the upmost comfort possible for our guest. Please understand we have multiple options to choose from when parking your vehicle. We do apologize for the inconvenience you endured. You are welcome to drop your bags off at the hotel prior to your offsite parking.

Sincerely,
US Capitol Courtyard Leadership Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Let me start off by saying that while in Washington, being in a hotel room is pretty low on my priorities list for things to do throughout the day. I only want a place that is comfortable and nice enough to be able to relax after the day has ended. This place delivered on that.

It's located in a relatively trendy area it seems. There are a couple of restaurants nearby/attached and there is a 24-hour 7-11 downstairs, so I was able to grab some quick things on the way out w/o being stuck with extravagant hotel market prices. The NoMa Metro station is half a block away, which is fantastic.

The only drawback was the over-night guy. A little abrasive at times; best to avoid him if possible. Clearly doesn't enjoy talking to people. But all things considered, maybe a small price to pay for an otherwise great value.

Room Tip: Ask for a west-facing room. The Amtrak/Metro line runs right behind the hotel on the East side, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pbgmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWI-CYTD, Property Coordinator at Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
It is fantastic to hear that we were able to deliver on what was most important to you while staying with us on your trip to D.C. It is wonderful knowing that your stay with us helped enhance your entire trip and we do hope that you will come and stay with us again soon!

Sincerely,
US Capitol Courtyard Leadership Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Horrible, horrible customer customer service. If your not a regular customer the staff could care less!!! Go else where. Contacted the manager and left message. No response. Overall the appearance of the hotel is nice and clean. But the service sucks.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank luvtotravel1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWI-CYTD, Property Coordinator at Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
I am very sorry to hear about your experience. We here at the Courtyard make sure that we are providing the highest level of customer service each and every day. Your input is very important to all of us at the Courtyard. On behalf of the entire staff here at the Courtyard US Capitol we do apologize for the inconveniences that you endured on your stay with us. We do hope that you will visit us again and allow us the opportunity to not only meet but exceed your expectations of customer service.

Sincerely,
US Capitol Courtyard Leadership Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#96 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Hyatt Place Washington, DC / US ...
#73 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#33 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gall...
#114 of 140 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Courtyard Washington Capitol Hil...
#76 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol

Property: Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol
Address: 1325 2nd St NE, Washington DC, DC 20002-3582
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#75 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#77 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New hotel located one metro rail stop from Union Station, the transportation hub of our nation's capital and home to Amtrak train. Within easy reach of US Capitol, National Mall and The Whitehouse, use this hotel as your launch pad and enjoy the sights and sounds of Washington. Hotel amenities include The Bistro, free wi-fi, pool, GoBoard, and 24 hour business and print center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Washington, Dc / u.s. Capitol Hotel Washington Dc
Courtyard Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing