We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is not the most convenient, but manageable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol
Ranked #94 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Worcester, MA
Level Contributor
267 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Location is not the most convenient, but manageable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

For Marine Corp Marathon Weekend, all hotels closer to the city proper were filled. This Marriott although not the most convenient to inner city DC, is conveniently located near the Metro. Staff are extremely accomodating and helpful. Due to the marathon and homecoming at an area college, we had to sign a "Quiet Agreement". It worked - no crazy loud neighbors. Had a good nights sleep for the 3 that were there. Beds are very comfortable, rooms including bathroom are clean. Cannot comment on the coffee at the bistro (they brew Starbucks) - had a coffee from Au Bon Pain next door. Restuarants in the immediate vicintiy are not noteworthy. ATF headquarters is down the street.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from the Metro - the hotel is conveniently located near the NoMa stop on the redli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PWDGolfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWI-CYTD, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for choosig to stay with us while you were here for the marathon and thank you for your service. The quiet agreement help protect all guests during city events to get a great nights sleep when staying with us.

Chris Zanzano - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    238
    97
    29
    23
See reviews for
160
103
42
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Traveled in Oct 2013 for a conference at the Convention center. (The closer hotels were full). Marriottt's website says the hotel is only a few miles away....but it's really in another world. Located directly across form the federal ATF HQ, there are few restaurants and NO taxi service. Want a 5 Guys burger? No problem. It's across the street. Want a muffin from 7-Eleven or AU Bon Pair? It's right next door. But if you want a reasonably priced dinner and drink - forget it. I ordered a gin on the rocks and was charged $8.95 for a ONE OUNCE POUR. Seriously- there was way more ice than liquid in the glass. A burger is $12.50. Trip advisor says I'm only a mile away from the Tune Inn- a Diners Drive-ins and Dives location famous for the beer batter burger. I saw the bar staff pour 1 oz drinks over and over and over. If you want to get. Buzz on....don't spend your money here.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank BizTravelerNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWI-CYTD, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
I am sorry that the hotel did not meet your expectations while you stayed with us. The Noma area continues to develop and provide more dinning options for dinner very closeto the hotel. As you may already know the red line is only 300 ft from the hotel that can provide you access to all of Washington DC dinning options.

Chris Zanzano - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australind, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

this was a very pleasant stay at a lovely hotel,
they have the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. The staff are super helpful, the proximity to the metro fantastic and it has Star bucks in the foyer...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie26101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWI-CYTD, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you very much for the positive feedback and I am happy that the hotel was able to exceed your expectations! Looking forward to your next visit with us.

Chris Zanzano - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irvine, california
Level Contributor
101 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Our family stayed at this Courtyard for a wedding. The facility itself is quite nice. Rooms/beds are comfortable. Bathrooms are large and modern. Staff was warm and accommodating. There is some food available on site, and a few fast food places in the surrounding blocks. The NoMa Gaulladet metro station is right next door.

What could be improved:
My handicapped mother was put in an accessible room - as far from the elevator as you could possibly get! Can't understand why an accessible room requires so much walking to get to it.
Bathrooms are not well lighted, and the only mirrors are in the bathroom, which made getting ready for the wedding difficult.
The pillows are awful - so hard and thick that you wake up with a neck ache.
Worse of all - the noise from the metro is so loud until midnight and then again early in the morning.

Room Tip: Get one as far from the train tracks as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drmmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWI-CYTD, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us while attending a wedding. Happy to hear that the staff and rooms were warm and accommodating. We have just updated our bedding package and all rooms with new pillows this year.

Chris Zanzano - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This hotel seemed to be in the middle of nowhere. We arrived to be told that we had to lug 10 bags of luggage up to the 2nd floor to check in. I handed over 2 vouchers from our travel agent and within about 1 minute was given the keycard. When we got to the room we realised we had only been given 1 room, instead of 2. Back to reception where they tell us yes they have a room available at $125 a night. Alarmed, I said that wasn't correct as we had 2 rooms booked. The woman on reception hadn't even noticed that she was holding 2 vouchers, not 1. All good in the end except the rooms weren't exactly close together and travelling with 4 children this wasn't really acceptable.
On a Saturday afternoon in a strange town, there was nowhere to eat that was open because of the government shutdown. We had been handed a map at reception, which wasn't really helpful as the hotel street wasn't even shown on the map. After walking around a bit we found a McDonalds where we felt very unsafe and promptly left after eating our good.
Metro train line was closed for maintenance, but Metro staff were more helpful than hotel staff who weren't even aware trains weren't running. Anyway a short trip on the free shuttle bus and we were off to see Washington sights.
Food in the restaurant was reasonable enough, although on the first night the staff were very slow and forgot our requests a couple of times. In fact, I think the kids are still waiting for their crayons. Breakfast variety offered was fine, although a little pricey.
Our room overlooked the railway lines. Thank goodness the trains weren't running until the Monday morning, as they were very noisy when they did resume. Overall, a nice enough hotel, but we would have preferred to stay right in Washington. We will be back, but not to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morrowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWI-CYTD, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
I am sorry to hear about to stay with us. As you can imagine the government shutdown had an impact on all aspects of Washington DC and it's visitors. Having the metro 300 ft from our front door is a great benefit to all our guests. Sorry that it was not working during your visit.

Chris Zanzano - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The room was very clean and the bed was very comfy. It's a great place for a business stay as it is close to the metro (pretty much right out the door) and it has various restaurants (not high end) around to choose from. There are also a couple of grocery stores within walking distance. There isn't any breakfast included in the stay, but they have a cafe, The Bistro, on the 2nd floor. It was very overprices. Save a lot of money by getting breakfast downstairs at the Au Bon Pain.

The gym and the pool are both on the 2nd floor as well. The pool is about the size of a giant hot tub, but it's better than nothing I guess!

Overall it was an average stay. Nothing bad, but nothing extraordinary either. I'd stay here again for business.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melssel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWI-CYTD, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
I am happy that you were able to get a great nights rest and the hotel met your business needs. As you know Courtyard was built and designed for business travelers. Looking forward to your next visit with us.

Chris Zanzano - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Loved this hotel! Every single employee we interfaced was very nice, even those that we met in the elevator! The front desk provided great directions and maps for us. The restaurant was great. We ate breakfast both days and enjoyed drinks at night.

The air conditioning worked great in our room! The room was spacious! I never heard other guest talking showers or anything.
This hotel was very clean and nice. We can't wait to stay there again!

Room Tip: The king size bed was awesome and comfy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWI-CYTD, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you very much for the compliments on our service and hotel. Very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you the next time you travel to Washington DC!

General Manager - Chris Zanzano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Hyatt Place Washington, DC / US ...
#70 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 578 reviews
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gall...
#110 of 140 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 stars 234 reviews
Upper Northwest
No photo provided
Courtyard Washington Convention ...
#19 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 939 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#37 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol

Property: Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol
Address: 1325 2nd Street NE, Washington DC, DC 20002
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#78 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New hotel located one metro rail stop from Union Station, the transportation hub of our nation's capital and home to Amtrak train. Within easy reach of US Capitol, National Mall and The Whitehouse, use this hotel as your launch pad and enjoy the sights and sounds of Washington. Hotel amenities include The Bistro, free wi-fi, pool, GoBoard, and 24 hour business and print center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Cancelon and Travelocity so you can book your Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Washington, Dc / u.s. Capitol Hotel Washington Dc
Courtyard Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing