We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice hotel, not much around it though” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol to your Saves list
Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1325 2nd Street NE, Washington DC, DC 20002   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Member Rates
Ranked #95 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Lutz, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, not much around it though”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The hotel was well kept - spotless. The rooms are clean and a good size. The rooms have a small fridge which is great for storing drinks. While we visited - there was a heat wave w/ heat index of 105 - 115. We stored bottles of water for our daily sightseeing.

The fitness center and pool are located together. The pool is 3.5' in depth and narrows to one side. With any kids in the pool it is difficult to do laps. We selected the hotel because it had a pool.

The restaurant - like most hotels - was expensive. We dined there one time and enjoyed the quesadillas. The restaurant / bar staff was friendly and helpful.

The problem is that there are few other options for food - especially late at night. The hotel bar / restaurant and room service all close at 10pm. We ordered from NY Pizza for delivery twice - good food. We ate breakfast at Au Bon Pain daily. $23 there vs. about $60 for breakfast in the hotel.

The hotel is located on the same block as the NY Ave Metro Station. This made it easy to get to Smithsonian (and the Mall area), Capitol South and Woodley Park (The National Zoo).

As another reviewer noted, there is a lot of construction going on nearby and you can hear that and the trains, but construction ends in the evening - so it's not a problem.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWI-CYTD, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share you feedback about your recent experience. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the stay and our convenient location to the metro. The area around the hotel continues to develop and we are very excited for the new retail stores and restaurants that are opening in the future. We look forward to seeing you again! – Chris Zanzano, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    238
    97
    29
    23
See reviews for
160
103
42
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Clean hotel just so busy because of the building work and roadworks. Good location to the metro station. Because of the location not many places to eat of an evening as they all seem to close early. But for that price you can't really complain.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWI-CYTD, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed stay. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in DC – Chris Zanzano, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seongnam
Level Contributor
752 reviews
204 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Best part was the location practically right outside the NoMa-Gallaudet metro stop...room was spacious and clean...great wifi and having the business center was nice to be able to print out some stuff...staff were very efficient and friendly...not much in the immediate surroundings of the hotel other than a 7-eleven and a Five Guys Burgers though...otherwise, a great choice for traveling in DC!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thelonious22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWI-CYTD, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thanks for the great review. I am so pleased you had a wonderful visit to our hotel and DC. The location can’t be beat! We look forward to seeing you again in the future! – Chris Zanzano, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Just spent 2 nights at this hotel...the rooms are comfortable and clean but you can hear everything in the hallway. Location was okay...next to a metro stop but so much construction in the area made it a bit hard to navigate. We had a nightmare the 2nd night...a group of kids from Italy were on our floor...slamming doors and screaming the hallways...called reception 3 times and nothing. My husband yelled at them...then I did (not quite as nicely as he did)...then I had to go down to reception to pitch a fit. (Seriously, the noise was ridiculous...doors slammed more than 40 times in an hour...and I mean SLAMMED!) finally a security guard came up...they called all of their chaperones...it finally quieted down around midnight. Honestly not sure if I would recommend or stay here again...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maureen_132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWI-CYTD, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent visit with us. I apologize that you were not able to get a sound night sleep. We are looking forward to the completion on the construction in the area. The neighborhood around the hotel continues to be one of the fastest growing sections of the city. – Chris Zanzano, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

My friends and I went on a girls trip and stayed at this hotel. Everyone at the hotel was very nice and helpful. The assistant manager, Micah was awesome! He was very professional, helpful and truly made our experience great! The bartender, Amanuel makes the best drinks so be sure to stop by during happy hour! Overall, our experience was one of the best experiences I've had visiting a hotel and will defintley stay there again! Micah truly cares about the customers and works hard to ensure thier happiness!!!! :)

Room Tip: Corner rooms are the larger rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ipod27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWI-CYTD, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience. We are pleased to know that we exceeded your expectations and look forward to serving you again soon. – Chris Zanzano, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The rooms are nice and large, the internet works great, the subway station is only 1 minute away.
Like others have mentioned there are train tracks right behind the hotel, it didn't bother me, I slept very well, the windows are sound proof.
The 7 eleven next door was so convenient.
It's a great hotel if you want to stay away from downtown, but still have an easy access to everything by subway.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BudgetTraveller27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWI-CYTD, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for the positive feedback about your experience at the Courtyard US Capitol. We are pleased that you enjoyed our hospitality and accommodations. We look forward to seeing you next time you travel to DC. – Chris Zanzano, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and had a good time. The hotel's location is convenient as it is about 1min's walk from the NoMa stop of the MetroRail. Also, there are two bikeshare stations nearby if you choose to move around town with those. The exercise room is small, but good and the pool next to it seemed nice enough as well. We did not have breakfast there so can't comment on that. The room was spacious and everything was clean. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lommelun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWI-CYTD, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write comments about your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed the service we provided and the neighborhood around the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back! – Chris Zanzano, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Hyatt Place Washington, DC / US ...
#64 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 576 reviews
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Centra...
#68 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gall...
#108 of 140 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 stars 232 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Courtyard Washington Convention ...
#17 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 936 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#38 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol

Property: Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol
Address: 1325 2nd Street NE, Washington DC, DC 20002
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#78 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New hotel located one metro rail stop from Union Station, the transportation hub of our nation's capital and home to Amtrak train. Within easy reach of US Capitol, National Mall and The Whitehouse, use this hotel as your launch pad and enjoy the sights and sounds of Washington. Hotel amenities include The Bistro, free wi-fi, pool, GoBoard, and 24 hour business and print center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Washington, Dc / u.s. Capitol Hotel Washington Dc
Courtyard Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing