We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“This grandma was happy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol
Ranked #99 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This grandma was happy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I was looking for a hotel for my 10 year old granddaughter and I to stay in Washington DC. After reading countless reviews of hotels and looking at their prices, I choose this one. Best decision about our trip. Safe, very clean, reasonably priced and centrally located to get around. Once we figured out the Metro which is few steps away, we got around town like pros. 7-Eleven and Au Bon Pain which are both next to the hotel were great conveniences. The staff was very eager to help and efficient. They helped us book a tour to Mt. Vernon at the last minute. I wondered what Mandi S' complaint about the hairdryer was. I didn't think there was one, until I discovered it in a black bag inside a black wood stand in the bathroom.

Room Tip: You are not going to spend a lot of time in the room, and you are too tired to worry about noise whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWI-CYTD, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. I am delighted to hear that you and your granddaughter had a wonderful vacation in DC. I am also happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and the neighborhood around the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back! – Chris Zanzano, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    241
    98
    29
    24
See reviews for
164
104
42
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Great Service (a #1 priority with me!), great amnities, convenient to Metro and restaurants! Only complaint is the hair dryer and if that is the only thing to fuss about, then I'm being to high maintenance!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWI-CYTD, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for the review about your recent stay. I am happy to hear that our service exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back! – Chris Zanzano, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed at the Courtyard Washington for two nights 03/28- 03/30/2013. The location was great if you plan on doing a lot of sight seeing and need access to the Metro. It was very difficult to find the hotel in the first place, because it is on a small alley with construction and one-way streets all around it - but once found, it was really nice. There is valet only parking and the valet was very pleasant. But keep in mind, once you turn over your car, you're not seeing it again until you check out -


The room was adequate and clean - the bathroom was clean and everything was neat. Check-in was a breeze. The nicest feature was the location. Even though hard to find the "alley" had everything you'd want close by. The metro was a mere 30 feet from the hotel, there is a 7Eleven for room snacks, an Au Bon Pan for a quick bite, and a 5 Guys Burgers and fries across the street. There was also a yogurt and sandwich place but we didn't make it there.

We did not venture out after dark because I had my young daughter with me and I had heard of possible issues in the area - but to grab access to the Metro and cheap - but good - eats. It was perfect for our sight seeing needs.

Pool and fitness room were small, but again adequate for our budget and needs.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JCskiier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWI-CYTD, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for the great review! I am happy that our location and close proximity to the metro provided a wonderful experience for you and daughter to enjoy the city. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in DC! – Chris Zanzano, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma
Level Contributor
123 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Nice impersonal hotel in washington..everything nice but nothing special.
Valet parking not cheap. No breakfast nor restaurant.
Room not that big with common facilities.
In complex it was an average hotel but it was functional to our needs

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickbianco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWI-CYTD, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for the review. The hotel does feature a Bistro restaurant located in our lobby. The Bistro serves breakfast and dinner seven days a week and offers room service in the evening. Thank you for choosing to stay with Marriott and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. – Chris Zanzano, General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Branch, New Jersey
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I stay in many hotels especially Marriott properties and I have to say the staff at this Hotel was one of the best I have dealt with over my years of Travel. The Front desk staff went out of their way to ensure that I had a good room and they helped me in finding space to Perform interviews. Thomas, Tony, Darrell and Mike were on top of each request I had and made sure that things went smoothly for my stay. Thanks to them I was able to interview candidates without issue and able to find some good food for lunch. When you travel a great deal it is nice to know that people are willing to go out of their way to help their guests. Great job. The room I stayed in was clean and comfortable and the Gym was small but clean as well. I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UDbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWI-CYTD, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you the outstanding review about your recent stay. I am very happy to hear that the entire team exceeded all of your expectations. We appreciate your loyalty and commitment to Marriott. The team and I look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to DC! – Chris Zanzano, General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The location of this hotel is in an area That was not so good. There is now so much construction it will be a place of the future.

The hotel was great, staff awesome and rooms clean and comfortable.

Will stay there again as only two minutes to train and three stops to downtown.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWI-CYTD, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for the great review! The NoMa neighborhood continues to develop and we are very excited for the future. I have shared the wonderful note with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back! – Chris Zanzano, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
59 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

When we arrived in the Courtyard Hotel, it was early and the efficient and polite receptionist was extremely helpful and allowed us to check in early. For sure, it wasn't the only reason for a good impression about the staff, but they really are, all of them, very efficient and professional.
In the beginning, the hotel called our attention because it was spotlessly clean and new. The suite is very clean, plenty of room and well decorated. Bed and pillow super comfy. A fridge was very useful and free wifi is always welcome.
I strongly believe that it is not easy to find any other place with this quality, near the Capitol, with such good rates.
The metro station is practically attached to the hotel, so we can reach any place in DC in a few minutes. This is, for sure, an undeniable advantage.
For us, breakfast was included. Even though it was a limited menu, it was very good, thank you Iroda for being so attentive and efficient.
There is a 7Eleven next door and some fast food eating places outside, but be aware: everything shuts down early.
Lots of construction going on, due to this emerging area which didn't faze us.
From our room the noise of the train was barely noticeable. Anyway, if you have problems to sleep,ear plugs are helpful.
The gym was small, but served our needs.
We highly recommend Courtyard Washington DC/US Capitol

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWI-CYTD, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you very much for the wonderful review about the hotel. The entire hotel is committed to providing exceptional service. I have shared the positive feedback with Iroda and the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel! – Chris Zanzano, General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Hyatt Place Washington, DC / US ...
#73 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 620 reviews
Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gall...
#112 of 141 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 stars 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mount Vernon Square
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington DC Convention Center
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#95 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 100 reviews
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#105 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 276 reviews
Capitol Skyline Hotel
#85 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol

Property: Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol
Address: 1325 2nd St NE, Washington DC, DC 20002-3582
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#78 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New hotel located one metro rail stop from Union Station, the transportation hub of our nation's capital and home to Amtrak train. Within easy reach of US Capitol, National Mall and The Whitehouse, use this hotel as your launch pad and enjoy the sights and sounds of Washington. Hotel amenities include The Bistro, free wi-fi, pool, GoBoard, and 24 hour business and print center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Travelocity so you can book your Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Washington, Dc / u.s. Capitol Hotel Washington Dc
Courtyard Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing