We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Philly sandwiches at DC prices”

Taylor Gourmet Deli Market
Ranked #1,233 of 3,215 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Italian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Takeout
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Philly sandwiches at DC prices”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I'm from Philly, was in DC for business and craving a little taste of home. I ordered the Callowhill (meatball) and the risotto balls. The spicy sauce on the meatball was a little more spicy than I was expecting plus the sauce for the risotto balls was the same spicy sauce. The quality was good but we do have better places in Philly but since you're not in Philly, this place is the place to go for good sandwiches.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank KrisT613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    26
    7
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food. Horrible delivery service”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I love the sandwiches at Taylor's. They are authentic Philadelphia hoagies going as far into detail as the bread. I had the Ben Franklin Parway last night, a chicken cutlet with marinara and sharp provolone. Simply outstanding. The Cypress Street and Kelly Drive are also out of this world. For an appetizer, nothing beats the fried raviolis. A word of warning, however, and this has happened almost every time I have ordered for delivery: 30-45 minutes usually means 75-90 minutes. They have quite possible the worst delivery service in DC. Just horrible. So go. Enjoy the food. But order it on site.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JED333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
126 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Over Rated and Pricey”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I have order multiple items from Taylor Gourmet its okay the sandwiches are $7 - $9 alone. They lack the deep flavor you get from a true deli hoagie in Philly. Also since they switch bread makers the flavor is different. The interior of their shops always have a cool vibe but if your from Philly or South Jersey this is not the spot for you.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ant1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
169 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Way overrated”
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

This place turns out an average sub on bread that is substandard. I've been three or 4 times but never ever satisfied. Meatball. 2 on a 5 scale. Sausage. 2 on a 5 scale. Veggie 3 on a 5. Salads never taste good to me. There are way way way better places.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AJ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Spot”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Lots to choose from. Great sandwiches. Remember to get some of it scooped out! Oh and try the sides! You will love them. The pricing is normal for DC.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank mochabargain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taylor Gourmet Deli Market also viewed

Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Taylor Gourmet Deli Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing