We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Eldon Luxury Suites
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$218
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Capitol Hill Hotel(Washington DC)
$279
$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$162
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
$221
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Washington Court Hotel(Washington DC)
$405
$242
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Dupont Circle(Washington DC)
$249
$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$306
$299
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$444
$399
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$457
$339
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$433
$399
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (461)
Filter reviews
461 results
Traveler rating
170
161
76
28
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
170
161
76
28
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull kitchenmarble floorsconvention centerliving roomcontinental breakfastcook topmt vernonconstruction noisethe penthousewithin walking distancemetro stopkitchen areafrosted glassmarriott marquisbooked this hotelshower headpull out couch
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
343 - 348 of 461 reviews
Reviewed December 17, 2009

I spent two nights at the Eldon in mid-December, 2009. I had gotten a good price online ($104 the first night, $174 the second) and was attracted by the kitchen amenities and the location as well as positive reviews.

The location is very convenient -- a short walk from the Mt. Vernon Square Metro stop, right on the Yellow Line (and thus a very quick train ride from Reagan National Airport). You'll walk past a few derelict buildings on your way, but it's actually not a bad neighborhood, and if you have a meeting in the convention center it's an absolutely ideal location. The only downside is that there aren't many restaurants nearby.

Another plus: free, no-hassle WiFi.

I was checked in quickly and politely and went up to my room on the 4th floor. The decorating theme in the hotel is a bit strange -- my floor featured a floor-to-ceiling depiction of an odalisk at one end, which is a first for me in my hotel experience -- but what's really weird is that the floors in the rooms (or in mine anyway) are completely tiled. In the summertime, this is probably a plus, since DC is notoriously hot and humid in the summer. In the winter, it wasn't so much a plus. The room felt cold and clinical rather than homey and inviting. However, it was very clean and the kitchen was fully equipped, there were lots of closets, the hotel provides robes and slippers, and the bed was exceptionally comfortable. What the rest of the room lacked in warmth and softness was made up for by a very comfortable mattress, feather comforter, and feather pillows. (What added to the weird coldness, in my case, was the fact that I never saw another guest there during my stay -- I swear I was the only guest on the fourth floor. That may be a testament to the hotel's exceptional soundproofing, or it may be that I was just staying there during a lull in business, but it did increase the generally cold, lonely feeling I got while I was there.)

Overall, I'd definitely recommend the Eldon for business travel if you can get a good price.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2009

This eclectic boutique hotel really delivers on its promises. It's a real suite, meaning that there is a separate bedroom, living room, bathroom, and kitchen. It's convenient to DC visitors at only a block from the DC Convention Center and with metro access. The price is really great, too! It's a small hotel tucked in the middle of a desolate block of buildings, but this hotel delivers pretty big on its promises. It's a european design, with marble floors and a few smallish area rugs And the bathroom fixtures were european, with an asian-styled sink on top of the counter. Very stylish and pretty, and parking is available next to the hotel for $20 a night.

Pros: Convenience! You can get to any place quickly and easily, whether for business or for sightseeing or perhaps a combination of both. Fully stocked kitchen with oven, glasstop stove, refrigerator, microwave, and dishwasher. Offers FREE internet, either wired or wireless. Luxury linens in the bedroom with a very nice comfy bed. Continental breakfast is served in a small lounge from 7:30 to 10:00. No restaurant on site, but the small lounge doubles as a bar in the evenings. GREAT front desk service, with helpful and pleasant employees. Bathroom amenities are great, with shower gel, shampoo, conditioner, lotion, amenity kit with q-tips and manicure set. There's a full-sized hand-held hair dryer available as well. Shower could be a pro or a con ... it's a rain head shower with added horizontal sprayers as well as a hand-held sprayer. It's got a nice layout so that you can stretch out and be comfortable in this room, whether you are single, married, or with a family as the couch in the living area transforms into a nice bed.

Cons: No TV or phone in the bedroom (actually, that could also serve as a pro!). Be ready to walk a few blocks or catch a cab for transportation. Seems that cab companies are unaware of this location, so make sure to have the street address as well as the hotel name. Unfortunately, the horizontal body sprayers in the glass-enclosed shower were not designed for mid-height or short people so they may hit you in the face (I'm 5'5" and they hit me in some pretty awkward places). Also, watch out for the cramped bathroom design, since it's definitely a one-person facility. The shower door had about an inch of clearance from both the sink and the commode.

The wonders of Chinatown are a quick walk away, and there are several restaurants within a few blocks. If you desire, the standard tourist areas are a little bit of a walk but it's a comfortable walk, of you can catch the metro and go a few stops up to the Smithsonian or Farragut. Note that this area is being developed and reinvigorated, so there should be a touch of caution exercised at night. The Christmas lights were up on the convention center, and they were quite beautiful when viewed from the front of the hotel. There is an in-room safe that's just about right for a small laptop. The comfy robes and slippers are a nice touch. For a onger trip, I'd definitely arrange for the in-room spa/massage service.

I'd defintely stay here again and recommend it without hesitation. You get a really great deal and comfortable environment for your money!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Navy_Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2009

Stayed here in a Freedom Suite for 4 nights. 3 adult women and 1 pre-teen child. The rooms were of good size and we liked the full kitchen. Also located in a quiet neighborhood, and close to conference center and the metro stop. The bed was comfortable. Did not like the lighting- the lights were too dim and not well-placed, but we were not in the room all that much anyway.
We had reserved an extra rollaway bed, but they had given them away and we did not get one. They also seemed to keep "losing" the reservation. I called several times in the months leading up to the trip and they had 'lost' the reservation two times (but the other two times it was still reserved). So if you book here, it's not a bad idea to follow up a couple times before you arrive.
Still, the room was clean and spacious enough, and it was well-situated for our needs (convention center, and metro).
The price seemed reasonable compared to other hotels in that area, and again, the presence of a kitchen meant we could eat breakfast there (or any other meal).
I think this is a relatively new hotel (used to be apartments or condos), so they may need more time to get the reservations issue under control.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichiganNomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2009

We spent 3 nights at the Eldon in October, it was a very pleasent stay!
Every thing about the suites was luxurious. From the exterior appearence, the lobby and our suite. Our suite was very well appointed with a full kitchen, luxury bed and great bathroom. Check in and check out was very smooth, the staff were especially helpful with organising our early morning transfer to the airport.
We walked to the centre of town quite easily and the convention centre is only a couple of hundred metres away from the suites.
The area wasn't the most appealing with boarded up buildings right next door, however it appeared that redevelopment wasn't too far away. The taxi driver warned us not to walk too many streets away from the citty from where we were staying at night. I suspect this is why this place is so affordable for what you get.
All in all a great place to stay and we would stay here again. The service was great.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaSAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2009

Ryan and Vinh at the front desk could not have been more accomodating and service oriented. The suites were spacious, clean and comfortable. The location is perfect within walking distance of my meetings and great sights to see. I hope to have the opportunity to stay at the Eldon again!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WitEWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews