We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious but flawed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Eldon Luxury Suites
Ranked #114 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Philadelphia, PA area
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Spacious but flawed”
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Staying at the Eldon Suites has been a mixed experience. First the positives, our suite is equivalent to a one bedroom apartment. Since we are he for several nights it is nice to have room to spread out. Also, the kitchen area includes a full fridge, cook top, micro and dishwasher. On the not-so-positive side, the entire block is under construction or vacant, boarded up buildings. The windows in our room are not even close to sound proof so be prepred for lots of street noise. There are blinds, but no curtains on the windows so lots of light comes in. Housekeeping is adequate, but not impeccable. We chose this for its proximity to the convention center, but i doubt I'd return.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank lsaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    148
    70
    27
    24
See reviews for
118
104
24
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at the Eldon Luxury Suites on New Year's Eve 2012. We chose this hotel because of its cheap price and location in DC near the Convention Center metro station. This hotel definitely lived up to its good reviews. The rooms are spacious and modern. We got a free upgrade to the Freedom Suite, and ended up entertaining some friends there, so it was great to have the nice living room area and kitchen. The hotel is located in a part of town that's seeing a lot of development, so the neighborhood will change a lot in the coming years. There's not really much in the way of restaurants or bars right near it, but the metro station is only a few blocks away and Chinatown and other neighborhoods are only a short walk away. The hotel is also about a block away from the Convention Center so if I had any occasion to be there, I'd definitely choose this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laurenicium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This hotel is a real find, especially at the price we paid ($108+tax&parking via travelocity). We happened to need to switch hotels on Xmas eve and this deal came up. It's a luxury experience in a small, modern, boutique hotel about 3 blocks from the Metro. Pros: Beautiful, modern, one- bedroom "condo"; gorgeous granite/stainless full kitchen; luxury shower with full body jets which my family LOVED; really clean...I'd say spotless; comfy beds and bed linens; space for family of four (master bedroom plus fold-out couch in living room). Cons: none for us, but reading other reviews, I will agree that the stone floor is cold (bring slippers or wear those provided by the hotel); TV is only in the living room; no full-length mirror; no restaurant/pool/gym on site; towels were so-so. Overall, the experience so exceeded our expectations that the cons were inconsequential to us. We will definintely stay again if price is comparable to other suite hotels.

Room Tip: We didn't have a view but not sure which rooms would have a view. Have to ask front desk for a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KaylaGAtlanta_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

I dont know why this hotel have some terrible reviews. I stayed here and i enjoyed it. Rooms were clean. Staff was friendly. The great thing is staff used to call me by my name. I mean they impressed me in every way. I would recommend this hotel to every one.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldtraveller2609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

I highly recommend this hotel but there are a few little things that bothered me.

Note: This hotel does not have a restaurant or bar on premise - it offers a small breakfast and not much more. Also, all the room's floors are stone - no carpets. I did not mind but you might.

GREAT:
Very reasonable price. Great bang for the buck
Nice, huge rooms
Kitchen is well appointed
Incredibly comfortable bed
Bathroom is really fancy with an incredible shower
Free WiFi
Many closets and storage, especially for hanging up clothing
DirecTV has many, many channels
Continental breakfast offered cold/hot cereals, breads, pastries, hot drinks, and OJ - for only $5!!

REALLY BOTHERED ME
No TV in bedroom.
Bedroom desk was very small and the chair stunk. They really need a proper chair with wheels and a high, adjustable seat/back.

OTHER CRITIQUES
Bathroom only had one small hook to hang towels. I had to hang my second one on top of the bathroom door.
Bedroom closet was huge but shelves were 1/2 as deep as the closet.
Living room furniture was sparse
They charged me for my complete stay the day after checking in. Hmm....

Room Tip: I'd ask for a room away from L Street. They are doing a lot of construction across the street (a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StuartB10314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

The room was very spacious and clean. The bed and linens were very comfortable. The full kitchen was a huge plus, having children with us. It was stocked with basic nesscities ( dishes, cups, pans. etc) The bathroom was alittle small but the shower was wonderful and made up for that fact.The location is good. There is construction going on all around the hotel but it never bothered us. It was safe to walk at night around the hotel. We walked with our children and had no worries.. I did pay for the room in full upon check in with cash and then the next day was recharged the room fee on my debit card. As soon as I brought this mistake to the front desk, in was fixed immediately. They even waived the $30 a day parking fee for all the trouble.We will definately stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wenand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We chose the Eldon based on three things; its proximity to the Washington Convention Center, the fact that all rooms were suites and of course the price. Just a block and a half from the convention center, if you are attending an event there, then it is extremely convenient. As you walk down a quiet corner of L street, your first impression would be that the Eldon Suites housed in a traditional federal style 1800's looking building, would drip with traditional luxury. Luxury yes, but anything but traditional. Remodeled into a sleek contemporary feel, you will feel like you are in an ultra modern facility. We stayed in a one room suite that was large and comfortable with a separate full kitchen/living room, bath and bedroom. The wood paneled walls are light colored and give the rooms an airy feeling. The beds are among the most comfortable I have ever slept on in a hotel and the bathroom spa style shower made me late several mornings, as I enjoyed a refreshing shower. Great dining is just a short walk away, as is the national mall and all of its sightseeing opportunities.

Just a few cons: there is very little on-site parking, albeit very secure and the $30 a day rate seemed a bit steep. The continental breakfast, little more than juice, coffee, donuts and bagels was $5 per person. I have had better free breakfasts at Holiday Inn. Finally the front desk staff was less that friendly at times. I stood at the desk for what seemed an eternity while one woman had her attention solely on her cell phone. One other thing that should be mentioned is that if you go anytime soon, expect to hear (and see) the construction of the new Marriott Washington Marquis almost directly across the street.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
The Henley Park Hotel
#102 of 141 in Washington DC
779 reviews
Mount Vernon Square
Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant
Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Re...
#56 of 141 in Washington DC
731 reviews
Mount Vernon Square
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington DC Convention Center
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#35 of 141 in Washington DC
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mount Vernon Square
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
#61 of 141 in Washington DC
1,653 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Pod DC Hotel
Pod DC Hotel
#98 of 141 in Washington DC
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eldon Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eldon Luxury Suites

Property: The Eldon Luxury Suites
Address: 933 L St NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-4379
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Mount Vernon Square
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#80 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#83 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#86 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Eldon Luxury Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just half a block from the Washington D.C. Convention Center and the Mount Vernon Square Metro Station, The Eldon Suites is at the center of D.C.'s new downtown. With one, two and three bedroom units and Penthouse ranging from 650 to over 1500 square feet, The Eldon truly defines stylish, exclusive accommodations right in the heart of the nation's capital just a short cab ride to the White House, the US Capitol, the Library of Congress and the Smithsonian, and walking distance to many popular attractions in Washington D.C.Originally built in 1929 by David L. Stern, the current redevelopment project at 933 L Street in NW Washington D.C. is part of an ongoing revitalization of the neighborhood and has resulted in a completely renovated interior as well as a historically restored exterior. The luxury units include granite floors, custom wood walls, sumptuous bathrooms with side shower massage jets, and luxury fully equipped kitchens with granite counter tops and full-size appliances. Plus, there are queen size sofa beds in all units. The Eldon offers an unparalleled experience of elegance and style unequaled anywhere in Washington, D.C. There are 50 luxurious apartments/guest rooms, including four spacious suite layouts that delight the senses. Balancing substance and style the suites are indulgent in design, with sumptuous bedding, lavish bathrooms, world class amenities andstate-of-the art in-room entertainment technologies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Eldon Luxury Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Eldon Luxury Hotel Washington Dc
Eldon Luxury Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing