We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Contemporary Luxury on the Inside, Historic Washington on the Outside”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Eldon Luxury Suites
Ranked #117 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We chose the Eldon based on three things; its proximity to the Washington Convention Center, the fact that all rooms were suites and of course the price. Just a block and a half from the convention center, if you are attending an event there, then it is extremely convenient. As you walk down a quiet corner of L street, your first impression would be that the Eldon Suites housed in a traditional federal style 1800's looking building, would drip with traditional luxury. Luxury yes, but anything but traditional. Remodeled into a sleek contemporary feel, you will feel like you are in an ultra modern facility. We stayed in a one room suite that was large and comfortable with a separate full kitchen/living room, bath and bedroom. The wood paneled walls are light colored and give the rooms an airy feeling. The beds are among the most comfortable I have ever slept on in a hotel and the bathroom spa style shower made me late several mornings, as I enjoyed a refreshing shower. Great dining is just a short walk away, as is the national mall and all of its sightseeing opportunities.

Just a few cons: there is very little on-site parking, albeit very secure and the $30 a day rate seemed a bit steep. The continental breakfast, little more than juice, coffee, donuts and bagels was $5 per person. I have had better free breakfasts at Holiday Inn. Finally the front desk staff was less that friendly at times. I stood at the desk for what seemed an eternity while one woman had her attention solely on her cell phone. One other thing that should be mentioned is that if you go anytime soon, expect to hear (and see) the construction of the new Marriott Washington Marquis almost directly across the street.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (454)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

230 - 236 of 454 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2012

I have read a good amount of negative reviews on this hotel and I disagree with them all. This is not a hotel to stay in if you want room service and more traditional hotel amenities. That being said, no where on the website do they try to make look like one. It is a great place to stay with a family, or on business for several days.

It is really a apartment style hotel more then a traditional one night stay hotel. It is very modern and has plenty of room to spread out. It offers a full kitchen, with eat in option on bar, full living room and separate bedroom. This is great to cook your own meals and have a peaceful place to work, or spread out with a family.

I agree the fact that they do not offer a room service option originally bothered me, but I much prefer the option to shop and cook my own food.

As long as you are aware it is more of an apartment style stay then traditional hotel, you will absolutely love the place.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jphazon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stayed here for six nights while attending a conference at the Convention Center. The hotel is right around the corner. My suite was beautiful, with a well equipped kitchen. Everything was spotless and cleaned perfectly every day (even my dirty dishes :)). The shower with its different jets was amazing!
This is a suite hotel with limited front desk service. My check in (late at night) was perfect, but they would not call me a cab when I asked them to (told me to go find one in the street). During checkout the person at the front desk was on the phone taking a reservation from somebody else. After spending $$$ at this hotel I would have hoped for a bit more personal attention.
I would stay here again only for the beautiful suites and convenient location.
There is a lot of construction in the area. I walked back to the hotel by myself late at night and always felt safe.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank girbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I booked the eldon suites for my birthday and paid for my hotel. UPON ARRIVAL I was informed that I would not be able to stay at the hotel that I had already paid for due to the fact that I did not have a major credit card for incidentals even though I was never informed that I would need one. The front desk attendant was very rude and sarcastic and told me I could have someone come and bring me a credit card at 10pm at night. There was also bo manager available that I could speak to and no hotel policy i could receive a copy off. I ended up having to book another hotel, and was two hours late for my own birthday dinner. I still have not received my refund from the Eldon (it's been over a week). I have stayed at many 5 star hotels in DC (monaco,mayflower,quincy) and never had this issue. DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank Adritay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights,and I have to say i was slightly alarmed when we arrived as it is smack bang in the of a contruction zone and looks like a run down area however it is being redeveloped so to be expected.
It is a great place to make your base, and as we like to walk as much as is possible it was handily located.
The aparmtent was great, not that we were there much, the bed is possibly the most comfortable I have ever slept in. We had the distinct pleasure of meeting Myke who came by and sorted out the wifi connection for us. Lovely guy who was polite and helpful and amusing, thanks myke!

If I found myself in washington again I would stay here.

Room Tip: honestly there is no view as the building work is going on all sides, perhaps higher floors if you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 0vicster0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I would agree with the comments that the term "luxury" is misleading. nice, but getting a bit worn. Pros: The suite was large with a nice full kitchen. Bed and linens were comfortable. Large closets. Room safe. Less than a block to the convention center. Neighborhood a bit rough (boarded windows) but looks like it is going through a renewal program, so may improve. Wonderful shower.
Cons: There were Mosquitos in the room my first night. This may be because the bathroom sink doesn't drain all the way so always had a pool of water. The shower needed to be repaired as it leaked badly, which is causing mold to develop in the bathroom. I was using the snack box, but they didn't refill daily. The floors were all marble, but weren't as clean as they should have been, as my feet got very dirty when I walked around bare footed. No bathtub. TV remote broken, so used controls on back of tv. Tried to call front desk to ask about remote, but they never answered.

Room Tip: The reviews are so inconsistent that it makes me think the "luxury" varies by room or floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m3montana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Washington D.C.
13
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I booked the Eldon via Expedia and when I arrived at the hotel, they informed me that they were overbooked and didn't have a room for me for two nights. The owner also manages two really low quality hotels 10 blocks away and offered to send me there for two nights and then have me return back to the Eldon for the rest of my stay. How bad does someone's IT infrastructure need to be in order for them to make this mistake? When I arrived back at the Eldon two days later, I reminded the management that the rate at other hotel (the Windsor) was half of the Eldon and that I should be discounted accordingly. The manager told me that because the reservation was already paid for, there was nothings she could do!! I've yet to checkout and really fight for the partial refund, but I don't see how they could justify not yielding it. The facilities themselves are really really nice. Everything is covered in marble and wood. The bathroom has designer fixtures and nice Japanese six-way shower

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Mount Vernon Square
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington DC Convention Center
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#35 of 141 in Washington DC
481 reviews
The Henley Park Hotel
#101 of 141 in Washington DC
805 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Pod DC Hotel
Pod DC Hotel
#48 of 141 in Washington DC
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mount Vernon Square
Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant
Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Re...
#53 of 141 in Washington DC
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eldon Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eldon Luxury Suites

Address: 933 L St NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-4379
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Mount Vernon Square
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#80 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#86 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $110 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Eldon Luxury Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just half a block from the Washington D.C. Convention Center and the Mount Vernon Square Metro Station, The Eldon Suites is at the center of D.C.'s new downtown. With one, two and three bedroom units and Penthouse ranging from 650 to over 1500 square feet, The Eldon truly defines stylish, exclusive accommodations right in the heart of the nation's capital just a short cab ride to the White House, the US Capitol, the Library of Congress and the Smithsonian, and walking distance to many popular attractions in Washington D.C.Originally built in 1929 by David L. Stern, the current redevelopment project at 933 L Street in NW Washington D.C. is part of an ongoing revitalization of the neighborhood and has resulted in a completely renovated interior as well as a historically restored exterior. The luxury units include granite floors, custom wood walls, sumptuous bathrooms with side shower massage jets, and luxury fully equipped kitchens with granite counter tops and full-size appliances. Plus, there are queen size sofa beds in all units. The Eldon offers an unparalleled experience of elegance and style unequaled anywhere in Washington, D.C. There are 50 luxurious apartments/guest rooms, including four spacious suite layouts that delight the senses. Balancing substance and style the suites are indulgent in design, with sumptuous bedding, lavish bathrooms, world class amenities andstate-of-the art in-room entertainment technologies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Eldon Luxury Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Eldon Luxury Hotel Washington Dc
Eldon Luxury Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing