We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude staff” 1 of 5 stars
Review of District Hotel Washington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
District Hotel Washington
Ranked #129 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rude staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

They have the worst and rudest staff. We booked online at hotel baron (their sister hotel) and when we get there he told us we have no room and send us another hotel calls district hotel. We checked in there but then it took 2 hr my husband trying to find a parking and it was 8 pm . I had to call front desk to tell him situation and my voice was angry of course. 8 pm in dc no parking we missed our dinner reservation , drove 4 hr. and he telling me don't raise your voice you are lady act like one. We ended up leaving after how he treated me. And paying twice As much getting last min another hotel. Mean time room was horrifiying

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gcnsts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    84
    128
    90
    172
See reviews for
54
150
85
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

easy check in, free upgrade to a large double bed (room 408)- no working lift but short flights of stairs, clean sheets & towels with daily changes, comfortable mattress,tv & iron but no coffee machine(coffee in lounge from 06.30 morning makes up for it) but working aircon, working hot shower & decent bathroom facilities, basic but palatable continental breakfast with newspaper( in the small lounge!) included, business room with good internert connection, excellent safe location for downtown, i know some reviews have been critical of this place but if you want a hotel for above reasons, then i recommend staying here

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank george e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My experience at this hotel was not good. Check in was easy. That was about the only good thing about the stay. I was given a room on the third floor. The elevator was out of order. The room I was given was barely big enough to hold a double bed. The furniture is in need of serious repair. There is no central air condtioning. The room had a very old window unit. Two of the three lights in the bathroom were burned out. When I opened the door to my room on the morning of checkout, I was surprised to find a man sleeping in the hall outside of my room. Not sure if he was a guest or someone who had managed to get into the hotel. I informed the two desk clerks upon checkout and one went immediately to investigate the situation. I would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTravelerTWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This hotel is not good. At best its a bad hostel. It is not very modern and the room I stayed in was just crap.
The "air-con" was an old extremely loud box that was attached to the single pain glass window and shook the room - meaning that not only was it merely a fan, you could not open the window and when turned off you could hear everythign from the street.
As it turned out however not being able to open the window was in effect a good thing because it menat that the pigeon who nestled on the windowsill outside was not able to fly in - neither were his friends who flew by to say hello - again something that I have never seen in a hotel before.
There was no closet to hang anything in.
If the bathroom door was open you could clearly hear what was going on in the next room - to include if next door's toilet flushed.

The only positive thing about this "hotel" was its location.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

The accommodations were very basic; there wasn't even a coffee maker in the room. The location is really good, but that likely won't be enough for me stay here again. The thing that prevents me from going here again is that there was no internet connection in the hotel room. The friendly front desk advised me to use my computer in the lobby. But the lobby has a youth hostel feel to it.

They really need to add true WiFi access.

Another thing: turning on the bathroom light, also turns on the bathroom fan. This fan is VERY loud and pretty much drowns out any other sound. So you can't shave while listening to anything.

One more thing: the cleaning supplies cart was parked right outside my room. This is usually parked inside a janitorial closet. But during the 48 hours I was there, the cart never moved.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedminster, New Jersey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Old room that had not been renovated in at least 25 years. Cracked tub in shower, missing light bulbs above sink, grimy old carpet, stained bed spread. I should have checked TripAdvisor before booking at this hotel.
Location is just 2 blocks from the metro and 15 min walk to the Mall or GWU. Front desk staff was fairly helpful with providing directions around town. If you like the location, make sure you get a good deal on price, because I would not think it is often sold out.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank CD430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We booked this hotel for 3 nights, Sept.5-8. It was a pre-paid reservation through Expedia. We only stayed 1 night. It was one horrible night.
We went there all the way from.Puerto Rico. It was a quick getaway, and the pictures looked nice. I didn't see the reviews on this site...never again. If I would have read all these comments, I would have avoided one of the worst nights if my life. This place needs to be shutdown immediately. The smell is foul, the room is disgusting. The door did not close, the staff is rude...please, DO NOT MAKE THE MISTAKE WE MADE: DO NOT STAY HERE. We could not get a refund, but we didn't care. We checked out on Sept. 6 and went to the Holiday Inn on C Street. It was heaven, and our vacation was saved. The District Hotel is a dump, and on Monday I'll call to require an inspection from the Health Department.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lorna1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Windsor Inn
Windsor Inn
#119 of 140 in Washington DC
3.0 of 5 stars 276 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Inn
The Embassy Inn
#126 of 140 in Washington DC
3.0 of 5 stars 220 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Baron Hotel
The Baron Hotel
#124 of 140 in Washington DC
3.0 of 5 stars 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Days Inn Washington DC/Connectic...
#108 of 140 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 stars 1,348 reviews
Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Conven...
#57 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 901 reviews
Dupont Circle
Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to District Hotel Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about District Hotel Washington

Property: District Hotel Washington
Address: 1440 Rhode Island Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-5401
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — District Hotel Washington 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your District Hotel Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
District Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing