We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A blessing in disguise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of International Guest House

International Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington DC
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
International Guest House
Save
You added International Guest House to your Saves list
Ranked #16 of 36 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A blessing in disguise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

What a fantastic and unique DC stay one can enjoy here. The volunteer staff is tops. The rooms are clean, beds comfy, bathrooms clean and the cookies and tea time - wonderful!

Meet other guests at breakfast, in the social den or at tea time, and feel at home.

Stay for a night and you'll not want to leave. I did.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArturoE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
7
12
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

I'm so happy I found this place! The guest house is on a nice quiet street, in a decent part of town, and has excellent public transportation. For my $40 I got a comfortable room, breakfast, and cookies at tea time. If there are several guests, you may have to share a room (I stayed during a slow week and had a room to myself). The place is clean and homey, and the staff is fantastic. They go out of their way to help you figure how to get around the city, and offered lots of great tips about things to do. I have no complaints and will be staying here anytime I'm in DC.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank caligrl68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
221 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

I usually book through hotwire or priceline but decided to try something different since the prices were so high in DC. I wasn't sure about sharing bathrooms and did not know what to expect. We were greated by Sheryl who was so friendly and informative. She gave us a tour of the house and showed us our room.

Every evening there is tea and cookies at 9 p.m. This is a time for socializing with all the other guests. (cookies are very good) It was really fun to visit with everyone.

Our room was a basic but clean room with 3 twin beds and a desk. We used the free wi fi which worked great. The bathrooms were very clean and there was never anyone in the bathroom while I was in the shower.

There is a game room in the basement with a couch, chair, tv, ping pong table and a table w/ 4 chairs. There is also a fridge and microwave guests can use. My 11 yr old son really enjoyed playing ping pong w/ the other guests.

Every morning a bell is rung at 7:20 and 7:50 and then breakfast is served at 8 a.m. sharp. Breakfast is simple but good. You can have toast, cereal (wonderful homemade granola) or muffins or biscuits. There was a different muffin every day. We stayed 4 days and there was: banana nut, cranberry, apple raisin and bacon cheddar biscuits. My husband Loved the bacon cheddar biscuits.

Bill, Pat, Sheryl, Wayne and Dirk were wonderful hosts that made you feel right at home.
The Guest House was my son's favorite part of our trip to DC. My husband, son and I were all so please with our stay at the guest house that we would definitely stay again. If you factor in the parking, free wi fi, breakfast and the wonderful hospitality it is a great bargain.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lenajean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

Stayed 2 nights for $45 per night. Outstanding value. This is a lovey, peaceful place run by members of the Meminite Church who volunteer to run the house. Do not let that put you off staying here as the only religious elements are bible quotes hanging on walls, an invitation to afternoon tea each day, and a brief prayer over the complementary morning breakfast. I went to the afternoon tea which was great because I got to know a little about the staff and other guests, and by the end of my brief stay we had exchanged email addresses. The only negatives are the location (it is about 40 minutes by bus from the Washington Mall) and the 11:00pm curfew (which is understandably needed to allow the staff and guests to get a good nights sleep)..

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tellingitlikeiseeit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanegem, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

Really recommended by us because of the friendly and cosy atmosphere. IGH is run by Mennonite volunteers but you don’t notice that except from a little morning prayer before breakfast. In the basement : a kitchen with refrigerator, microwave and dishes, but no stove – some chairs and a TV set (no TV in the rooms) – ping pong table – ironing board – for a small charge : snacks and internet. Everyday at 9 PM super cosy “evening tea” : guests and volunteers exchange stories. Our room type : 2 single beds and 1 play pen (with a small surcharge) – but still a very cheap stay in DC. Shared bathrooms, but very clean. Breakfast : simple but very good. At 8 AM. Orange juice, homemade muffins (!), toasts, cornflakes, milk, coffee, tea. Places tot eat nearby : none. Parking space : 3 place in the back without extra charge. More then enough though. Most guests come without cars. Public transportation every 10 minutes nearby on 16th street and 14th street.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zappatozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

International Guest House in Washington, DC is a bed and breakfast run by the Mennonites. The volunteers who runs the house are retirees. They took care of every basic need and yet feel like at home. Their special tea time is a great way to tell stories of your travels or experiences. This includes their home bake goods! Best part is like having a grandma or grandpa over and really make you feel like at home. A sweet home away from home. All the modern conveniences included. Plus there is a huge game room! Ample parking on the street and plenty of public transportation nearby.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank localkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie in Italia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2009

This B&B was fantastic. The hosts were very warm and welcoming and the rooms were clean and comfortable. You were really made to feel welcome and the hosts gave you lots of information about their city. In a nice neighbourhood too. A good affordable choice for DC.

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank italyfan98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Cardozo Guest House
#10 of 36 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 135 reviews
Adams Morgan
Adam's Inn
Adam's Inn
#8 of 36 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 527 reviews
Dupont Circle
Embassy Circle Guest House
Embassy Circle Guest House
#3 of 36 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Kalorama Guest House
Kalorama Guest House
#12 of 36 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 53 reviews
Malolo Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 36 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 259 reviews
Dupont Circle
Akwaaba DC
Akwaaba DC
#4 of 36 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Guest House

Property: International Guest House
Address: 1441 Kennedy St NW, Washington DC, DC 20011-6824
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing