We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Washington”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ivy Mansion at Dupont Circle
Ranked #18 of 35 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Tuebingen
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great stay in Washington”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We loved Dana's nice house right at Dupond Circle, subway and great restaurants right around the corner. In walking distance to the Mall. The big apartment in the top floor its great and very stylish, we loved it. Quiet although right at a major street. Dana is a lovely host - had some nice talks. Just look out to find the place as there is no sign outside. We looked for it for about an hour... And make sure to get a mail from Dana with the adress as our's was lost in cyberspace... Will be back as soon as possible!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tilluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    15
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
24
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We really liked the house, our room and the location. The hostess was very attentive, helpful with advice on where to go and how to get there and a great conversationalist. It's close to everywhere we needed to be including Georgetown and close to a Metro station.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yaz90035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2012

The Ivy Mansion is a great place to stay. The location is ideal. The metro is nearby and there a lot of great places to visit all in walking distance. The house is beautifull, spacious and well kept. The bed was very comfortable, not too soft and not too hard. The hostess is a lovely and very helpfull woman.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susanymarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

My family (husband and 2 kids 11 and 9) rented the Garden Apartment the last week of March. The great thing about the Ivy Mansion is the location. The area is beautiful and is very close to many great restaurants and the Metro station is only 3 blocks. We were provided with a weekly parking pass, so we did not have to move our car for the entire week. We took the Metro everywhere.

The apartment is a good size for 4 people. The kids each had their own place to sleep - a sofa bed and futon. The bedroom has a full size bed. The kitchen has the basics - dishes, pots and pans, etc. There a couple of small drug and grocery stores close to purchase food and snacks. Overall the apartment was clean and well maintained.

Dana was a great host. She had a lot of great tips and recommendation about DC.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LSL312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

This property is in a great location for wonderful restaurants & and is very close to transportation. It is a two minute walk to Connecticut Street which is lined with wonderful shops & place to eat. The Metro train is just around the corner and provides a simple way to access the Smithsonians and the Zoo.

The house is nice and breakfast was self serve. Very happy with the value for price! The neighbourhood was great and seemed to be in a very affluent area.

Tip: If you are light sleeper bring ear plugs! The floors are very sqeaky (it's an old house ... to be expected!)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MKJLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

I recently spent three months as a visiting scholar with a DC university, and took accommodation at the Ivy Mansion. When I left in December, it was my home away from home.

It is difficult to speak highly enough of the Ivy Mansion. The proprietress, Dana, promises 'gracious living' and 'gentle prices' and that is precisely what she delivers - and more. The Ivy Mansion is located one short block from vibrant Dupont Circle, yet is quiet, private, and personal. The building itself is beautiful and Dana has tastefully decorated each room to reflect the character of three incredible women.

I stayed in the Annie Bell room on the second floor. The other guests were all delightful people and made the stay all the more pleasant. I had been traveling in the States extensively and over a number of months, staying in hotels. This became a very lonely existence, but that changed when staying at the Ivy Mansion. Another long-term guest who stayed in the apartment above became a great friend and showed me around DC and surrounds. Dana herself has terrific knowledge of her fabulous city and also provided me with cheap tickets to events at the Kennedy Center.

I would happily and enthusiastically recommend the Ivy Mansion for both short stays and for longer term accommodation needs. You will not be disappointed. I look forward to returning to DC with my family and we will definitely stay with Dana at the Ivy Mansion.

Thanks Dana, and thank you Jim and all the other guests who made my stay unforgettable.

Room Tip: The Ivy Mansion has a number of accommodation options. Speak with Dana, who can offer flexibility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JNock67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights. When we arrived the owner was not home as previously advised due to a family issue as such it took us a while to figure out how to get in but we did. We went up to our room which was very large and nice, the wood floors were creaky but that is expected in an old house.

The location was great and nice and quite. The shared bathroom was not a problem at all and the shower head was great!

Breakfast was included but was limited supplies due to the owner not being there but did not bother us as we found what we wanted fine.

We had a lovely night with the other guests who were staying and it felt like a home.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank simone211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#28 of 141 in Washington DC
3,134 reviews
The Normandy Hotel
#29 of 141 in Washington DC
984 reviews
Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row
#41 of 141 in Washington DC
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Adams Morgan
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont Circle
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont ...
#84 of 141 in Washington DC
550 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
2,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy Mansion at Dupont Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Mansion at Dupont Circle

Property: Ivy Mansion at Dupont Circle
Address: 1705 21st St NW, 21st & R Streets, NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-1357
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ivy Mansion at Dupont Circle 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Washington, DC Bed and Breakfast inn offering vacation, business and short term rental accommodation. Exceptionally located in the heart of Dupont Circle, the Ivy Mansion will make your stay in DC comfortable, convenient and cost competitive. We are a 3-minute walk to the Metro, steps from the Hilton Towers, and a short ride to the Convention Center, White House, Marriott Wardman, Smithsonian Museums, and the National Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ivy Mansion at Dupont Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivy Mansion At Dupont Circle Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing