We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ivy Mansion at Dupont Circle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ivy Mansion at Dupont Circle
Ranked #14 of 37 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

This property is in a great location for wonderful restaurants & and is very close to transportation. It is a two minute walk to Connecticut Street which is lined with wonderful shops & place to eat. The Metro train is just around the corner and provides a simple way to access the Smithsonians and the Zoo.

The house is nice and breakfast was self serve. Very happy with the value for price! The neighbourhood was great and seemed to be in a very affluent area.

Tip: If you are light sleeper bring ear plugs! The floors are very sqeaky (it's an old house ... to be expected!)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MKJLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    15
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
24
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

I recently spent three months as a visiting scholar with a DC university, and took accommodation at the Ivy Mansion. When I left in December, it was my home away from home.

It is difficult to speak highly enough of the Ivy Mansion. The proprietress, Dana, promises 'gracious living' and 'gentle prices' and that is precisely what she delivers - and more. The Ivy Mansion is located one short block from vibrant Dupont Circle, yet is quiet, private, and personal. The building itself is beautiful and Dana has tastefully decorated each room to reflect the character of three incredible women.

I stayed in the Annie Bell room on the second floor. The other guests were all delightful people and made the stay all the more pleasant. I had been traveling in the States extensively and over a number of months, staying in hotels. This became a very lonely existence, but that changed when staying at the Ivy Mansion. Another long-term guest who stayed in the apartment above became a great friend and showed me around DC and surrounds. Dana herself has terrific knowledge of her fabulous city and also provided me with cheap tickets to events at the Kennedy Center.

I would happily and enthusiastically recommend the Ivy Mansion for both short stays and for longer term accommodation needs. You will not be disappointed. I look forward to returning to DC with my family and we will definitely stay with Dana at the Ivy Mansion.

Thanks Dana, and thank you Jim and all the other guests who made my stay unforgettable.

Room Tip: The Ivy Mansion has a number of accommodation options. Speak with Dana, who can offer flexibility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JNock67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights. When we arrived the owner was not home as previously advised due to a family issue as such it took us a while to figure out how to get in but we did. We went up to our room which was very large and nice, the wood floors were creaky but that is expected in an old house.

The location was great and nice and quite. The shared bathroom was not a problem at all and the shower head was great!

Breakfast was included but was limited supplies due to the owner not being there but did not bother us as we found what we wanted fine.

We had a lovely night with the other guests who were staying and it felt like a home.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank simone211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

I always imagined how it was to live in a Brownstone in DC, and finally realized this dream at Ivy Mansion while attending a conference at the nearby Hilton.

One difficult thing with being on the road for work is that sense of alienation as you tend to stay in gray hotels most of the time. Ivy Mansion instead gave me that warm feeling of going home after being in a hotel the whole day.

Looking at maps, Ivy Mansion looks far from the Dupont station, but actually, the distance makes only for a short walk since the blocks in Dupont are not kilometric like those at the National Mall. Dupont itself is made for walking, with nice shops and restos along the way. It is worth remembering though that Dupont can be an expensive area to stay in.

I stayed in a second floor room, with shared bathroom. But since there are only two bedrooms in this floor, there is little traffic in the bathroom. My own bedroom has a king bed and even a daybed.

Floors do squeak, but it is natural in a house of this age. Though the house is old, it has been renovated and is very clean and comfy.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank moto_sgx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

The location is fantastic! You can’t beat it. It’s on a beautiful, tree-lined street near DuPont Circle. Just around the corner within an easy walking distance are several wonderful restaurants: Bistro du Coin, La Tomate, Bistro Bistro, Pizzeria Paradiso and a Starbucks, of course. We had great dinners at all these restaurants and also a nice breakfast at the Café DuPont in the Hotel DuPont. The Phillips Collection museum is just one block down the street (if you like Renoir, you have to go there!). The Ivy Mansion is a nicely remodeled, well-maintained older home. We were in the third floor suite. It was very clean, spacious, and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom has double sinks and a great shower with lots of different shower heads. This room also has its own A/C which helps on the warm, humid days. We met Dana, the owner, briefly and she was very helpful and gave us a lot of great tips on where to go for dinner, etc. Unfortunately, she had to leave our second day there, but she left us with pretty much everything we needed for our stay and gave us her number to call with any questions. The breakfast is just help-yourself cereal, English muffins, fruit, and yogurt, so the main thing is to be aware that if you want a big breakfast, you will have to go out. I would definitely stay at the Ivy Mansion again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dianephx928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

Dana was very kind & accommodating. She has a lovely place and knows her city. Great location and one of the best areas for dining in DC. One of the best spots is the French "Bistro du Coin"... literally a block away. Great atmosphere, cafe style, great menu, great desserts, reasonable.

Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank rickbol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

I stayed in the Ivy Mansion from January - March 2011, after returning from a foreign service posting abroad. The room I rented fell within the limit of the Home Service Transfer Allowance that I received upon my return to Washington, and negotiating payment with Dana, the proprietor, was a breeze. In addition, Dana’s bookkeeper provided me with timely receipts for reimbursement purposes. The B&B was perfect for my temporary stay in Washington—with kitchen access, washer and dryer on site, and linens provided, everything I needed was on the premises. The room was cozy and private, and the location was perfect—right off Dupont Circle, and steps from the Red Line Metro and countless restaurants and bars. This B&B would be a great fit for other medium-term residents of Washington, DC.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fso1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#30 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,451 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington D.C.
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Row Hotel
The Embassy Row Hotel
#84 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 710 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#2 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy Mansion at Dupont Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Mansion at Dupont Circle

Property: Ivy Mansion at Dupont Circle
Address: 1705 21st St NW, 21st & R Streets, NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-1357
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ivy Mansion at Dupont Circle 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Washington, DC Bed and Breakfast inn offering vacation, business and short term rental accommodation. Exceptionally located in the heart of Dupont Circle, the Ivy Mansion will make your stay in DC comfortable, convenient and cost competitive. We are a 3-minute walk to the Metro, steps from the Hilton Towers, and a short ride to the Convention Center, White House, Marriott Wardman, Smithsonian Museums, and the National Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Ivy Mansion at Dupont Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivy Mansion At Dupont Circle Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing