We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your own place in Dupont” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ivy Mansion at Dupont Circle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ivy Mansion at Dupont Circle to your Saves list
Ivy Mansion at Dupont Circle
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1705 21st St NW, 21st & R Streets, NW, Washington DC, DC 20009   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
$20 metro smart card!
Ranked #14 of 35 Washington DC B&B and Inns
singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Your own place in Dupont”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

I always imagined how it was to live in a Brownstone in DC, and finally realized this dream at Ivy Mansion while attending a conference at the nearby Hilton.

One difficult thing with being on the road for work is that sense of alienation as you tend to stay in gray hotels most of the time. Ivy Mansion instead gave me that warm feeling of going home after being in a hotel the whole day.

Looking at maps, Ivy Mansion looks far from the Dupont station, but actually, the distance makes only for a short walk since the blocks in Dupont are not kilometric like those at the National Mall. Dupont itself is made for walking, with nice shops and restos along the way. It is worth remembering though that Dupont can be an expensive area to stay in.

I stayed in a second floor room, with shared bathroom. But since there are only two bedrooms in this floor, there is little traffic in the bathroom. My own bedroom has a king bed and even a daybed.

Floors do squeak, but it is natural in a house of this age. Though the house is old, it has been renovated and is very clean and comfy.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank moto_sgx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

The location is fantastic! You can’t beat it. It’s on a beautiful, tree-lined street near DuPont Circle. Just around the corner within an easy walking distance are several wonderful restaurants: Bistro du Coin, La Tomate, Bistro Bistro, Pizzeria Paradiso and a Starbucks, of course. We had great dinners at all these restaurants and also a nice breakfast at the Café DuPont in the Hotel DuPont. The Phillips Collection museum is just one block down the street (if you like Renoir, you have to go there!). The Ivy Mansion is a nicely remodeled, well-maintained older home. We were in the third floor suite. It was very clean, spacious, and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom has double sinks and a great shower with lots of different shower heads. This room also has its own A/C which helps on the warm, humid days. We met Dana, the owner, briefly and she was very helpful and gave us a lot of great tips on where to go for dinner, etc. Unfortunately, she had to leave our second day there, but she left us with pretty much everything we needed for our stay and gave us her number to call with any questions. The breakfast is just help-yourself cereal, English muffins, fruit, and yogurt, so the main thing is to be aware that if you want a big breakfast, you will have to go out. I would definitely stay at the Ivy Mansion again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dianephx928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

Dana was very kind & accommodating. She has a lovely place and knows her city. Great location and one of the best areas for dining in DC. One of the best spots is the French "Bistro du Coin"... literally a block away. Great atmosphere, cafe style, great menu, great desserts, reasonable.

Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank rickbol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

I stayed in the Ivy Mansion from January - March 2011, after returning from a foreign service posting abroad. The room I rented fell within the limit of the Home Service Transfer Allowance that I received upon my return to Washington, and negotiating payment with Dana, the proprietor, was a breeze. In addition, Dana’s bookkeeper provided me with timely receipts for reimbursement purposes. The B&B was perfect for my temporary stay in Washington—with kitchen access, washer and dryer on site, and linens provided, everything I needed was on the premises. The room was cozy and private, and the location was perfect—right off Dupont Circle, and steps from the Red Line Metro and countless restaurants and bars. This B&B would be a great fit for other medium-term residents of Washington, DC.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fso1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the apartment for five nights. It was clean and comfortable and felt like a second home. Dana was extremely helpful, recommending restaurants and attractions. Very convenient to the Metro, great restaurants, and upscale Connecticut Ave. shops such as the Kid's Closet. Located on a quiet, residential street one block from the Phillips Collection, an excellent art museum. Walking in the very safe neighborhood gives you the opportunity to see many embassies.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 43badger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naples
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

Opted for this instead of hotel when I came to DC on business. What a find! Hostess was awesome and could come and go as I pleased. So close to metro, shops and restraurants (be sure to check out Teaism and their special salty oat cookies right around the corner). Place was immaculate, beds super comfortable with extra pillows and clean sheets. Help yourself continental breakfast was perfect with quick healthy cereals and yogurts. Accomodations are so great that I will never stay anywhere else in DC if there is a room at Ivy Mansion - I'm serious! It's that good.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank envirogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFayette, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

We highly suggest the Ivy Mansion for your stay in DC. IT's a great location. Safe neighborhood, close to metro, eating and fun!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pistolball30728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#23 of 137 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,233 reviews
Dupont Circle
Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
Dupont Circle
The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Fairfax at Embassy Row
The Fairfax at Embassy Row
#51 of 137 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,321 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#1 of 137 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 838 reviews
The Normandy Hotel
#29 of 137 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy Mansion at Dupont Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Mansion at Dupont Circle

Address: 1705 21st St NW, 21st & R Streets, NW, Washington DC, DC 20009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Ivy Mansion at Dupont Circle 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Washington, DC Bed and Breakfast inn offering vacation, business and short term rental accommodation. Exceptionally located in the heart of Dupont Circle, the Ivy Mansion will make your stay in DC comfortable, convenient and cost competitive. We are a 3-minute walk to the Metro, steps from the Hilton Towers, and a short ride to the Convention Center, White House, Marriott Wardman, Smithsonian Museums, and the National Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Ivy Mansion at Dupont Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivy Mansion At Dupont Circle Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#