We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel! (just needs a pool)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hamilton Hotel Washington DC
Ranked #63 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Detroit, Michigan
1
Reviewed August 29, 2004

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and were very pleasantly surprised. The location is GREAT!!! Close to the metro and easy to find. The lobby is gorgeous!!! The rooms, although on the smaller side are very nicely decorated and clean. We stayed in a room with a king size bed and it was SO soft and comfortable! During our whole stay there we heard only one siren. The staff was helpful and friendly. Since it was hot and humid when we were in D.C. we just wish this hotel had a pool.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,008 - 2,014 of 2,259 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2004

We booked our reservation online for our first trip (4 nights) to DC, and we were not disappointed in any way! It is a lovely hotel, very clean and well-maintained. Because it is an older building, the room was on the small side, but the furniture, linens and decor were all of good quality and repair; the bathroom was also small but very clean and up to date; the air conditioning was reliable and the beds were VERY comfortable! We took the advice of a previous tripadvisor review and booked a quiet room at the back of the hotel and had no problems with noise at all. We found the staff to be very helpful with directions and suggestions and extremely friendly, particularly Kalala. The hotel automatically upgraded our accommodation, due to a shortage of the type of room we had reserved, and we were able to remain in this room for the duration of our stay at no additional cost. The hotel is within walking distance of The White House; convenient to the Metro; and a short cab ride away from the Capitol and Smithsonian. A number of good restaurants and fast food places are close by. We couldn't have been happier (well, a pool would have been nice for the kids...it was HOT!!!) with our stay in DC!!

1  Thank ceilidh30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2004

This is a very nice place,beautifully decorated but the bathroom is very small. We never saw the spa robes advertised. We had a front room and it was so very noisy,and we didn't sleep all night.They do give you earplugs ( one pair) if that helps.You hear sirens and horns blowing until early hours. The breakfast is fantastic.Be sure to go. I am wondering if there are quietier rooms there because it is a nice place. It has to be one of the noisiest places I have ever been to. It is very clean and that is what I am picky about.

1  Thank momofgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2004

(This hotel is also known as the Hamilton Crown Plaza). My business meeting was at this hotel and I stayed here not knowing anything about it. The location was pretty good for me, near the McPherson Metro stop at 14th and K Streets. The lobby and rooms look to have been renovated in the last couple of years and are pretty nice. The staff overall didn't seem very well trained in customer service. Front desk didn't have information on the metro times and couldn't even give me change when I tried to pay by traveler's check. The hotel lacked even a small work-out room. This hotel has a lot of potential. It is a handsome historic property. With the right management, it could be a interesting place for repeat visits.

1  Thank jimjade3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2004

Recently visited DC and stayed at the Hamilton Crowne Plaza. The hotel's approach to customer service was the same as we encountered in the rest of DC.

It seems that DC has a captive audience of visitors so people working in front line customer service roles don't seem to be bothered about things like "please" or "thank you". Never mind advanced customer service like smiling or even trying to go out of their way to help.

As for the taxi drivers. Rip off merchants. The number of cab drivers who seemed to have given thier credit card machines to other drivers seemed more of a co-incidence. If you don't want to take credit cards, say so, don't advertise Amex, Visa et al on your cab and then protest when someone offers it.

As for the Crowne Plaza. This is an ok hotel. However, it is a really, really poor example of the Crowne Plaza brand. As a top tier member of Priority Club I had the worse service I have ever had at any of thier properites world wide. It was not that it was bad per se, it was just totally indifferent.

None of the staff seemed to be at all bothered about anything. Need an umbrella - "you can buy one in the shop". That kinda sums it up. True you could buy one in the shop, but....

I'm going back to DC as I stop-over for one night and I'm not bothering with the Hamilton Crowne Plaza. Which I think says it all. Also I'll be asking the cab drivers in advance about credit cards and I'm using the Shuttle Bus on the way back to the airport rather than a cab.

2  Thank michaelinglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Topeka, Kansas
11
Reviewed August 6, 2004

  • Stayed: January 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed July 25, 2004

Very nice hotel. The staff were all very polite and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to my family and friends, but if you go, you should be sure to ask for a "quite" room, meaning one that faces the back of the hotel. The hotel is located on a noisy intersection and if your room faces the front of the hotel, you will hear the traffic ans sirens at any hour.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Washington Plaza Hotel
Washington Plaza Hotel
#27 of 141 in Washington DC
2,721 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hotel Harrington
Hotel Harrington
#123 of 141 in Washington DC
1,402 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#26 of 141 in Washington DC
1,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
One Washington Circle Hotel
#32 of 141 in Washington DC
1,901 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Lombardy
Hotel Lombardy
#31 of 141 in Washington DC
2,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton Hotel Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton Hotel Washington DC

Address: 1001 14th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-3402 (Formerly Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#48 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#64 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $100 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hamilton Hotel Washington DC 4*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent, boutique luxury hotel located in the heart of official Washington. The Hamilton Hotel provides luxurious lodging in any of a selection of King, Queen, Double rooms or Suites. Many with spectacular views of the beauty of America's capital! On site 14K Restaurant and Lounge serves breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. 14K Lounge features Happy Hour prices and specials every day. The restaurant also offers a 3 season outdoor patio, one of the very few on K Street. Valet parking in an adjacent garage serves guests who drive. McPherson Square Metro station is 1 block from the hotel. The many monuments, museums and other beautiful and historic attractions of DC are within walking distance. The hotel is perfect for business or leisure travel to Washington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hamilton Hotel Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hamilton
Crowne Plaza Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing