We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, treated well as Platinum member”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hamilton Hotel Washington DC
Ranked #60 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2014

My family was here for a short stay to see the 4th of July fireworks, and we only stayed one night. We booked a reward night room and were given an upgrade to a suite on one of the top floors. The suite was very large and comfortable with a great view. The bathroom was a bit small but that is to be expected with an older hotel. We also were given conceirge level and had breakfast there the morning after our stay. The location is great. It is only a block from a metro station and we also walked into DC. It took about 15 minute to walk to the back of the White House. We paid for valet, overnight parking, which was expected in a metro area. The staff was very nice and we felt very welcome. I loved the convenience and being right in the city. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yoshi00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole G, Manager at Hamilton Hotel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Dear yoshi00,

Thank you so much for sharing the details of your stay with us during the July 4th holiday. It is fabulous to read how much you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your family's return in the future as it would be a pleasure to once again be at your service.

Nicole G., Director of Rooms Division
Hamilton Crowne Plaza, Washington, DC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,182 - 1,188 of 2,189 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

This hotel is conveniently located a few blocks from the White House and only a couple of miles from the National Mall, so it is in the heart of D.C. downtown area. In addition to the typical sightseeing for Washington D.C., i would also recommend you walk north a block or two for amazing churches devoid of tourists (truly a gem for D.C.).
One of the major perks of this hotel is the room+parking option, which is a great value! It may not be available on typical online reservation websites, though, so consider calling the hotel directly.
As for the interior, the hotel is housed in an old building, yet it strives to deliver lovely ambience and typical room amenities a guest would expect from Crowne Plaza class of hotel.
All in all, this hotel offers very good value for money.

Room Tip: our room was in front of elevators, and i could hear some of their noise (didn't disturb my slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eugene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole G, Manager at Hamilton Hotel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Eugene D,
Thank you for sharing how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We hope the next time you are in Washington, DC that we can be at your service once again.
Nicole, Rooms Division Director
Hamilton Crowne Plaza, Washington, DC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Stayed at the Hamilton over Christmas week with a family or 5 and highly recommend it. Walking distance to the Mall and a short taxi ride to the Zoo. We were very happy with the rooms and the included breakfast was amazing. Best of all were the staff !!! Better service then almost any hotel we ever stayed in and we have stayed in many top end hotels, but they beat them all. By the way they allow small pets to stay on the 3rd floor, so we brought our little dog. There is a park right across the street when we needed to walk the dog.

This hotel is first class and a bargain to boot. Dont even bother to look elsewehere in Washington DC.

Room Tip: Dont bother paying for a park view..... you are not there for the views from the Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llistwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole G, Manager at Hamilton Hotel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear llistwa, Thank you for sharing how much you enjoyed your stay with us. It's wonderful to read your comments and know they have been shared with our entire team. Our goal is to ensure that each of our guests has an amazing rewarding experience and we are happy we met that with your stay. Thank you again and we look forward to being at your service again during your next visit to the Washington, DC area. Nicole, Rooms Division Director, Hamilton Crowne Plaza, Washington, DC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

It was very bad! The shower's water was too cold!! We told them this and they did nothing!! The room service was terrible! They do not clean room well! It is not a calm place! And they charge you for every simple things!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Parinaz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole G, Manager at Hamilton Hotel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Parinaz1,
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Our goal is to ensure that all our guests leave satisfied. Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced and where our hotel fell below your expectations. Thank you for bringing this feedback to our attention as the comments we receive from guests like you is used for coaching/training purposes.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.
Nicole, Rooms Division Director, Hamilton Crowne Plaza, Washington, DC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

The pictures sold me on the hotel and the low price was the closer. Sad to say I got what I paid for. The rooms are nicely decorated they are modern and newly updated. There is a Starbucks on site which is convenient. However, my room didn't have a closet or a place to hang clothes anywhere. The room faced a wall and the location is not great as I would have preferred it to be closer to Pennsylvania Avenue. The walls are paper thin and they provide ear plugs along with their sewing kits...that was odd. However, all of that was tolerable until...our toilet backed up and stayed that way all day long. It didn't flush in the morning and we didn't have time to call when we were getting ready. We forgot on our way out to tell the front desk and then figured housekeeping would advise when they came to clean the room. Well Housekeeping obviously doesn't clean toilets here. When we left at 8:00 and returned at 10:30 pm our bathroom smelled horrible as the toilet was still backed up. I called the front desk and told them I didn't understand how the person cleaning the room didn't report this problem. They had nothing to say and didn't apologize for the oversight. Just said they would send someone up. The fact our bathroom didn't really get cleaned was disgusting to say the least. Our fault for not reporting but their fault for not opening a toilet to clean it. Will not be staying again. What else do they not clean here!!!!

Room Tip: Don't let them put you in a room facing a wall and without a closet or place to hang clothes. Re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelStickerQuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole G, Manager at Hamilton Hotel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear TravelStickerQuest, Thank you for your candid review of your recent stay. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests. Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you have experienced and if our hotel fell below your expectations in many aspects. Thank you for bringing this into our attention as the feedback we receive from our guests like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to improve our guest services.
At your service, Nicole, Rooms Division Director, Hamilton Crowne Plaza, Washington, DC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I have stayed here several times on business, most recently in early December. Located at 14th and K and across the street from DC Coast, a favorite DC restaurant, the hotel is just a few blocks from many downtown office locations. You can easily walk to the MacPherson Square metro station and from there get anywhere in DC. The lobby is small but well appointed and comfy and there's a Starbucks just down the hall from the reception desk. I booked online for my last visit and reserved a park view room facing 14th street. Do not do this. The park in question is Franklin Square, which is inhabited by loud, rowdy homeless people and squawking police cars at night. After two nights of no sleep, I asked to be moved. My next room, though smaller, was on the tenth floor on the other side of the hotel and was so quiet you could hear a pin drop. The rates were good for DC and I would definitely stay in one of the quieter rooms here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on "the quiet floor" away from 14th Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Grizzlies901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole G, Manager at Hamilton Hotel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Grizzlies901, Thank you for your review and we appreciate you sharing your experiences during your recent stay with us. We will certainly be taking your review into consideration and know we are currently in the midst of replacing all of our guestroom windows for our guests to enjoy a restful nights sleep. Thank you again and we look forward to providing you with a 5 star stay when you return. At your service, Nicole, Rooms Division Director, Hamilton Crowne Plaza, Washington, DC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

This is a nice hotel. I had a couple problems at check in, but the manager Joseph and guest relations took care of it right away. I was very impressed. Also the restaurant in the hotel was nice as well. The food was excellent and the servers Cori & Gino were simply amazing. We were in town for a friends 21st birthday. This hotel suited us very well. Would recommend to anyone!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Ariana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole G, Manager at Hamilton Hotel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear Ariana M, We appreciate your review and thank you for your comments. All of our team members/managers strive to provide excellent service to ensure your stay is most enjoyable and it is great reading that this took place during your stay. We hope that you'll return to stay with us again when you find yourself in the DC area. Nicole, Rooms Director, Hamilton Crowne Plaza, Washington, DC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Dupont Circle
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White House
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White ...
#56 of 142 in Washington DC
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#26 of 142 in Washington DC
1,701 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 142 in Washington DC
3,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton Hotel Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton Hotel Washington DC

Address: 1001 14th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-3402 (Formerly Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#48 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#64 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $105 - $507 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hamilton Hotel Washington DC 3.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent, boutique luxury hotel located in the heart of official Washington. The Hamilton Hotel provides luxurious lodging in any of a selection of King, Queen, Double rooms or Suites. Many with spectacular views of the beauty of America's capital! On site 14K Restaurant and Lounge serves breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. 14K Lounge features Happy Hour prices and specials every day. The restaurant also offers a 3 season outdoor patio, one of the very few on K Street. Valet parking in an adjacent garage serves guests who drive. McPherson Square Metro station is 1 block from the hotel. The many monuments, museums and other beautiful and historic attractions of DC are within walking distance. The hotel is perfect for business or leisure travel to Washington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hamilton Hotel Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hamilton
Crowne Plaza Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing