We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
Ranked #62 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Aurora, Illinois, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Value for Money”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

This hotel was just three blocks away from my office. Clean and spacious rooms. The breakfast buffet was good.

After a days work, it felt good to relax in their lounge for Hors d'oevres and drinks.

I have stayed in this hotel on two earlier visits also. The only thing that I found was that on their TV (satellite tv) channel 2 , 4 , and 21 did not work in any of the rooms due to poor signals. This has to be fixed.

Overall its good value for the money.

The staff are very courteous and friendly.

The front desk Manager Ravi Gaur is very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sampath007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Rooms Management at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear sampath007,

Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay with us. Great to see that everything seemed to go well during your stays. We have passed your comments along to our Engineering team to see if they can figure out what is going on with those channels that you have mentioned.

We hope that you'll be back soon and that your TV will be working perfectly so that we can earn that all important 5th star from you.

At your service,

Joseph Meuse
Rooms Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    820
    872
    267
    99
    63
See reviews for
464
536
102
665
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

After the hurly burly and the bright lights of NYC, with a side trip to Niagara Falls, we had a couple of days to spare and flew down to Washington DC. We had got a deal for 3 nights with booking.com and had a king size deluxe room which included breakfast (continental) and canapés in the evening. The room was very well appointed, spotlessly clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful, especially the Concierge who was able to give plenty of advice as to what to see and what to eat. The sad thing was that we did not spend enough time in Washington DC to visit all the museums and sights - it was a 'snapshot' visit and we shall return. The Hotel is well located within walking distance of the White House, and we accessed it from Dulles Airport by the 'Washington Flyer' coach and then the Metro. It is a very short walk from the Metro station to the Hotel. A most enjoyable stay and well recommended. I note that there are moves afoot to provide free wifi - this is to be encouraged as it was the only 'downside' to the visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roglyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Rooms Management at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Roglyn,

Reviews such as yours, we never tire of reading. Thank you for sharing your experiences with the TripAdvisor community. As you've mentioned, changes are in place for our WiFi costs and that will be happening very soon. We hope that when you return to complete your visit you'll join us again and we can turn your 4 star stay into a great 5 star experience.

At your service,

Joseph Meuse
Rooms Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC suburbs
2 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We decided to host a school reunion at this hotel. I am an event planner and a native Washingtonian so I know what's what in this city. The hotel is gorgeous and they just completed a remodeling before our event. If you are hosting an event, look no further the service in impeccable, ask for Brian the Sales Manager.The lobby is to die for, beautiful ceilings, decor including photos of the city, some of them from years gone by are priceless. The restaurant ambiance was very nice and the food was very good, as were the portions. (However, it was a little pricey, but not unreasonable). Place is in walking distance of the Metro and the White House, centrally located so its convenient to other tourist sites like the Smithsonian. Staff was extremely friendly and pleasant, very knowledgeable about the city. Didn't seem put-off by my constant inquiries and requests like they do some places in the city. These days and times price is a huge consideration and the rooms were modestly priced. Starbucks in the place and the view from the suite are huge bonuses!! However, no pools for indoor types. My group was mostly into getting the view of the city and are still raving about the hotel!

Room Tip: Not all the rooms enjoy that beautiful room, just ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDSM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Rooms Management at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear JDSM2013,

Thank you so much for both choosing to celebrate your wonderful event with us and for sharing how great everything went with the TripAdvisor community. We hope that you and your classmates will continue to return to the Hamilton Crowne Plaza for many years to come.

At your service,

Joseph Meuse
Rooms Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I went to DC for a work convention and this was one of the recommended hotels. It was a little bit of a walk to the convention center, but actually I preferred being a few blocks from the hustle and bustle around the convention center. Very easy to get to the hotel from Reagan airport via the metro. From the moment I arrived everyone went over and above to make me welcome. Veronica checked me in and out and she made sure I was all set. The room was clean, well appointed and I was upgraded to include a continental breakfast. Special thanks to the very welcoming ladies serving our breakfast and making it feel like a home away from home. Great location, I ran on the washington mall each morning (they even had towels at the door to dry off when I came back) and easy walking distance to many restaurants and sights. After this great experience not sure I will ever stay anywhere else in DC.

Room Tip: Make sure to join the intercontinental hotel groups rewards clubs to get points and upgrades (it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alison d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Rooms Management at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear alison d,

Oh how many smiles your review just provided. We certainly love seeing our team members names written on TripAdvisor because it really reinforces with them how much of an impact they have on each and every guest who stays with us.

Thank you so much for sharing your experience and we are very happy to be your hotel of choice in Washington DC moving forward.

At your service,

Joseph Meuse
Rooms Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chequamegon Bay
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

We were greeted warmly, checked in early, and were very close to the White House. The Conscier was very helpful when we needed help related to a tour.

We found the room very clean as was the whole hotel.
Dinner at the hotel was beautifully served, kind staff and food was excellent.

This is a very good choice for your stay in DC.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ondossagonchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Only a five minute walk to the White House and close to numerous restaurants the Hamilton Crowne Plaza is a good business hotel. It has a character in design and furnishings and very attentive front of house staff.

Rooms are a good size and well laid out. My only gripe was the light switch at the entrance to your room was not a light switch and you had to either find the bathroom light or walk in darkness to a bed side light.

Overall very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Rooms Management at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Dave S,

Thanks for the great review! Glad to see that you enjoyed everything except for that light switch! We'll be sharing this review with housekeeping so that they understand how important it is to check every switch in the room every time.

Hope to see you back again soon.

At your service,

Joseph Meuse
Rooms Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We absolutely loved this hotel. Very charming, historic, spotlessly clean, and in a great location. The rooms are very fresh and nicely decorated. The lobby is stunning and so welcoming. It was very convenient for us to have a Starbucks off the lobby too. We had an interior room that faced an office building. The view wasn't nice but we'd read that the rooms with better views were noisier, so this was fine with us. Our family of four stayed three night. We didn't want to leave. Two of us had to sleep on a fold out sofa but it was very comfortable and we all slept well. The bathroom was heavenly. Nice water pressure and everything appeared recently renovated. One disappointment was the lack of free wi-fi. We were also surprised by the prices charged by the "business center" -- 49 cents per minute to use a computer without a chair. (See photo.) Needless to say the computers were always available! Also sad to say there was no guest laundry, but they were happy to send my laundry out, for $5.50 to 12.00 per item! To end on a positive note, the staff was very friendly and helpful, and the hotel was beautiful and comfortable. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room that is not facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArchitectureGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Rooms Management at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear ArchitectureGirl,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We appreciate all the positive things that you've shared with everyone. We currently have plans in process to roll-out complimentary WiFi for guests who are members of our free loyalty program, IHG Rewards next year.

At your service,

Joseph Meuse
Rooms Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#48 of 141 in Washington DC
985 reviews
Dupont Circle
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White House
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White ...
#54 of 141 in Washington DC
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#31 of 141 in Washington DC
1,652 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 141 in Washington DC
3,176 reviews
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#25 of 141 in Washington DC
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel

Property: Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
Address: 1001 14th St NW, 14th and K Street, Washington DC, DC 20005-3402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#48 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#64 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restored 1920's architectural gem, the Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel offers refined accommodations and modern meeting facilities in the heart of the nation's capitol. Gracing the corner of 14th & K Streets, NW, this Washington, DC hotel places you in the ideal location whether you're traveling for business or pleasure. Just 5 blocks from the White House, 7 blocks to the Washington, DC Convention Center, 1 block to the McPherson Square Metro Station, minutes from the National Mall, Smithsonian Museums, and local dining and entertainment, the Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel is perfectly situated to make your visit a productive and memorable experience. The Hamilton's own 14K Restaurant and Lounge offers a contemporary American dining experience to guests and local DC residents alike. Perfect for people watching, entertaining, or unwinding after a day of meetings, 14K Restaurant and Lounge is the choice for casual meals or private gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hamilton
Crowne Plaza Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing