We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, clean and quiet” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
Ranked #64 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful, clean and quiet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We arrived at 1am and the front desk attendants were very welcoming. The rooms were super clean, dimly lit, and classical music welcomed us. The amenities were high end and I loved the convenience of the Starbucks downstairs. It was super quiet despite being downtown. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I forgot to ask for a king size bed but the doubles were fine. I recommend asking for one if you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emiliamd13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Emiliamd13,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. Having our own Starbucks right here on property is definitely a wonderful convenience. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back over to the East coast.

At your service,

Joseph Meuse
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    667
    751
    243
    89
    53
See reviews for
371
475
91
533
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wichita Falls, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

A wonderfully restored elegant hotel. Excellent service. Like anywhere else room service outrageously overpriced! Wonder ful srchitecture in the are. Conveniently located to White House and Metro station.

Helpful?
1 Thank Dolores Z
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Joseph M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dolores Z,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. Much of that beautiful architecture in the lobby area is all original from 1922. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again when you return to Washington DC.

At your service,

Joseph Meuse
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
118 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

I'm Gold Priority Club, so I see more than my share of Crowne Plaza's (Gold Marriott, too). The Hamilton Crowne Plaza offers a good DC location. Central to most things. They have a nice cafe, bar and an attached Starbucks. The negatives: Rooms are small (Euro-sized) and, to save a few pennies, the management was not running central air in the hallways on the room floors (pretty lame). Could rate better, but they earn a average mark from me.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buckles2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Buckles2007,

We are delighted that you enjoyed much of your stay but we apologize that we were not able to earn a perfect rating from you. We of course always strive to provide each guest with a flawless stay from the moment they arrive. If you wouldn't mind, we would like to know what floor and what dates you were our guests so that we can see if we have a faulty unit that is impacting our guest's stay. Please feel free to send me your information in a private message.

We do hope that when you return, you'll stay with us again so that we may show you that we do provide a stay experience that earns a five rating.

At your service,

Joseph Meuse
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
308 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

This hotel is on the corner of 14th & K street. Very easy walking distance of the White House. It is very comfortable, with a few good restaurants within walking distance. Circular Bus right outside which can take you to the main railway station which is near the Capitol.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BELMONTIpswich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear BELMONTIpswich,

Your review is greatly appreciated. As you mentioned, we have a great location with many restaurants, transportation options (Circulator, Metro and city buses) and sightseeing areas very close by.

Hope to see you again soon!

At your service,

Joseph Meuse
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perthshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We had a wonderful week in this hotel. They gave us a room upgrade which was a lovely surprise. The staff in restaurant, front desk, concierge, chamber maids were always helpful and very friendly. The room was stylish, and clean and the bed was heaven. We could have wished for cheaper Wi-fi but there was a Starbucks 5 minutes walk away where it was free.
From the hotel all the sites are within walking distance and if that is not an option, the metro is very close and the doorman can always find a cab. I would certainly recommend this hotel for a stay in DC.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJS47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear AJS47,

Oh how we love to hear how our staff was so helpful and friendly. We are very happy that our entire team as able to assist in providing your family with such a wonderful stay. You mentioned wishing for cheaper WiFi, coming very soon to all IHG properties worldwide, members of our free loyalty program, IHG Rewards will be receiving complimentary internet access whether your staying at the hotel, coming for a meeting or just stopping in for coffee!

We do hope to have you as our guests again very soon.

At your service,

Joseph Meuse
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Really good remodel of this classic hotel. From the the doorman to the cleaning ladies the staff is solid. Bartenders were good and not intrusive, just efficient and friendly.

Rooms are small but well appointed. Comfy bed. I found the small room only a problem if more than 1-2 persons would be in them, Junior suite is the way to go if this is the case. I tried standard room and Jr suite when my family came to meet me for 2 nights.

Hotel location is OK, good for business in the area but a bit of a walk for the kids to the Mall to see museums.

Bang for the buck, this property is great.

Room Tip: Views vary from alley to park.... ask in advance if you care.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doc_skid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a nice renovated room. The staff was great and helpful. The hotel is about a 30 minute walk from Union station. DC blocks are not your average neighborhood blocks. There are a few eateries nearby. The elevators are very small, I guess thats why they have 5 of them. The room was small but clean.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shoney75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White House
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White ...
#51 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#50 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan
Kimpton Donovan
#34 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,548 reviews
Upper Northwest
Residence Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Residence Inn Washington, DC Dow...
#87 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#73 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel

Property: Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
Address: 1001 14th St. NW, 14th and K Street, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#48 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#64 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restored 1920's architectural gem, the Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel offers refined accommodations and modern meeting facilities in the heart of the nation's capitol. Gracing the corner of 14th & K Streets, NW, this Washington, DC hotel places you in the ideal location whether you're traveling for business or pleasure. Just 5 blocks from the White House, 7 blocks to the Washington, DC Convention Center, 1 block to the McPherson Square Metro Station, minutes from the National Mall, Smithsonian Museums, and local dining and entertainment, the Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel is perfectly situated to make your visit a productive and memorable experience. The Hamilton's own 14K Restaurant and Lounge offers a contemporary American dining experience to guests and local DC residents alike. Perfect for people watching, entertaining, or unwinding after a day of meetings, 14K Restaurant and Lounge is the choice for casual meals or private gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hamilton
Crowne Plaza Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing