We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel...renovated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
Ranked #62 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel...renovated”
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a nice renovated room. The staff was great and helpful. The hotel is about a 30 minute walk from Union station. DC blocks are not your average neighborhood blocks. There are a few eateries nearby. The elevators are very small, I guess thats why they have 5 of them. The room was small but clean.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shoney75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    773
    833
    258
    92
    60
See reviews for
424
518
97
631
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dunmore, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed here for three days, two nights in June 2013 with a friend. The room and the hotel itself were lovely. The beds were the most comfortable beds I've ever slept on in a hotel room!! Nice location - walking distance from lots of the touristy sights. Great restaurants and such right nearby too. It's in a busy area where I felt safe. Every one of the hotel staff members who we encountered were helpful and friendly. It was a wonderful weekend!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HDCinema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We loved this hotel...not huge but not small..perfect size with charm and history in great location. Staff were helpful and very friendly. Room had charm and nice details with comfy bed and pillows. Room was small but well done and perfectly cozy for my husband and me. We were on 8th floor with lovely view of park and Washington monument.

One warning and reason I did not give 5 stars... Lower floor rooms are noisy. We were originally assigned a room 2nd floor but asked desk gentleman for higher floor...which they kindly accommodated. We were thrilled with our stay but probably would not have been as happy on lower floor.

Room Tip: Request higher floor to avoid noisy street. Park view very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LCNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
186 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

My Best Friend and I needed a good girls night hotel. This was definitely it. It's really beautiful and in the business district area.

Two great things- bar and Starbucks next to lobby. Ros are updated as stylish.

A few things worth noting- they have nice in house emenities -vanity kit, k-cups, oils for the pillows, & firm beds.

The location and noise are the only negative. Our room was front of the building and low floor. That sucks. There are two popular bars near by with constant police activity making noise through the night.

Size of rooms are small. They are a little cramped if its more than two people even though its double beds.

Overall I definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brittani G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Can't say enough about this lovely boutique hotel and our experience this past weekend. We had two connecting rooms in a quiet corner on the 12th floor with a view of the Washington Monument. My husband and I stayed in a King suite with a comfortable living room and our three kids shared the other room which had 2 double beds. Both rooms were recently renovated and tastefully decorated. The entire staff was friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. Shout out to the concierge, Andre, who was also terrific. Had the buffet breakfast (included in our rate) two mornings and the food was fresh and simple. There was a nice selection of fruit and pastries too. The hotel is two blocks from the White House and within 2-3 miles walking distance to the Capital, Mall, museums and monuments. Both my husband and I went for early morning runs past the White House to the Lincoln Memorial and enjoyed the quiet and beauty of the city. We were also able to walk to two good restaurants during our stay-The Hamilton and Central (delicious burger). Highly recommend this hotel. Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor when you book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank actravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear actravelgirl,

What a wonderful review to read. We will certainly be sharing your feedback with our teams to ensure they know that their hard work is certainly being recognized and that our guests appreciate it.

We all look forward to being at your service again when your travels bring you back to Washington DC.

At your service,

Joseph Meuse
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights on a trip to Washington, the hotel itself is really nice and clean, the room we stayed in was lovely! but the hotel had no character whatsoever! the staff were Ok and told you what you needed but no one wowed us, and based on the fact this is not the cheapest hotel I expected more. Also the location is not great there are lots of Hotels a lot closer to the main attractions. Another thing I noticed was even though our room was cleaned our toiletries were not replaced which I found strange as they were empty I think this hotel is more suited for busiess use or a quick overnight stay, it was not bad, but we would not stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMA_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Danni_ross,

Thank you very much for the candidness of your review. We sincerely apologize that we failed to wow you during your stay. We assure you that our team is always encouraged to do whatever it takes to wow each of our guests but it appears that we failed to meet not only our expectations but yours as well.

We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to show you the level of service that we expect for all of our guests to experience while staying with us and when your travels will be bringing you back to Washington DC please feel free to reach out to me directly so that I can personally assist you with your reservations. My email address is Joseph.Meuse@interstatehotels.com.

At your service,

Joseph Meuse
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vitoria, ES
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

The hotel not only has a great location, walk distance to the White House, but also has good rooms, very clean and spacious. Staff is very friendly and helpful. There's a Starbucks conveniently located at the hotel lobby.
Also good value for money, I would certainly recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeticiaZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear LeticiaZ,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. Wonderful to read that your experienced such a great stay. Please be sure to come back to visit us again soon.

At your service,

Joseph Meuse
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Dupont Circle
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White House
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White ...
#53 of 141 in Washington DC
820 reviews
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#48 of 141 in Washington DC
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#31 of 141 in Washington DC
1,610 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Sofitel Washington DC
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
3,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel

Property: Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
Address: 1001 14th St NW, 14th and K Street, Washington DC, DC 20005-3402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#48 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#64 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restored 1920's architectural gem, the Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel offers refined accommodations and modern meeting facilities in the heart of the nation's capitol. Gracing the corner of 14th & K Streets, NW, this Washington, DC hotel places you in the ideal location whether you're traveling for business or pleasure. Just 5 blocks from the White House, 7 blocks to the Washington, DC Convention Center, 1 block to the McPherson Square Metro Station, minutes from the National Mall, Smithsonian Museums, and local dining and entertainment, the Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel is perfectly situated to make your visit a productive and memorable experience. The Hamilton's own 14K Restaurant and Lounge offers a contemporary American dining experience to guests and local DC residents alike. Perfect for people watching, entertaining, or unwinding after a day of meetings, 14K Restaurant and Lounge is the choice for casual meals or private gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hamilton
Crowne Plaza Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing