We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service, broken computer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
Ranked #61 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Poor service, broken computer”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

No maid service in morning, nap in afternoon. Couldn't get promised service later. Wouldn't even bring fresh towels!! The location is good for convention center. Noone to help us get cab this morning.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irwinblevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Good Evening Amjur,

I have sent you a private message via TripAdvisor messaging service. I do hope that you are still staying with us so that I can do everything in my power to turn your stay around and make it more memorable for the right reasons. I can be reached by pressing 0 on your room phone or by an outside line at 202-682-0111 and just ask for Joseph Meuse.

At your service,

Joseph Meuse
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,063 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    796
    848
    263
    95
    61
See reviews for
440
526
102
648
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I stayed for 4 days for the second time and was pleased that I had come again to this hotel. The hotel has a pleasant character and not a typical of modern 4 star hotels. Whilst I did not check out the history the hotel is a renovation od an old hotel and has a charm not seen in modern hotels. The room was very comfortable, great bed, nicely furnished and with the normal facilities one would expect. The wi-Fi was a bit patchy in the room and much better in the foyer or restaurant and bar. The staff were particularly helpful and the hotel very well located for my meetings at the World Bank - $7 cab ride and not too far to walk either. The restaurant was very good both for breakfast and dinner.

Room Tip: My room did not have a good outlook this time - ask for overlooking the square opposite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aquarianmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear aquarianmark,

You review is greatly appreciated aquarianmark. That charm that you mention is something that we most certainly love about our hotel, being a member of Historic Hotels of America is definitely a distinguished feature that we are very proud of. We strive for our hotel to be the place where history inspires modern elegance.

Of course you can have the nicest hotel in the world and it wouldn't mean anything if you didn't have a staff that truly cares and has a passion to serve and we're very happy to see that you found our staff so helpful.

We all look forward to being at your service once again when you return to Washington DC.

At your service,

Joseph Meuse
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

This hotel benefited from a renovation about a year ago and rooms and decor are fresh and inviting. Like many city hotels, rooms differ widely. All are suitable for an individual business traveler some would be tight for a couple or family. If what is outside the window is important ask for a room overlooking K Street or 14th Street. I've stayed at the hotel from time to time since 2003 and never encountered an issue of substance. Rooms are quiet. Great location for this area of K Street and I Street. Only a 4 block walk from the White House and a couple more blocks to the Mall. If planning a meeting at the hotel, check out the proposed meeting room. Some can feel a bit closed in. Al Fresco dining at the hotel restaurant, 1425 K is a delight in Spring, Summer or Fall.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WARSAWRUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear WARSAWRUN,

Thank you very much for reviewing your recent stay. We always love to hear that a guest has stayed with us multiple times because it lets us know we are doing our job and it gives us more of an opportunity to build a relationship with that guest.

We hope to continue to be your lodging of choice as your travels bring you to Washington DC.

At your service,

Joseph Meuse
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington DC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed here as a base to explore DC during the christmas season, and found it to have classic ambiance in a convenient location with a very elegant and comfortable room...the hotel has been recently renovated, but the beautiful lobby with its arched ceiling was wisely left intact, making an impressive entrance...the room was elegantly appointed and very comfortable...and the location downtown was convenient for walking and taking the metro...while other hotels had artificial decorations, the hamilton sported real greens, natural touch!...also, the front desk staff was helpful, especially miss veronica (thanks!)...surprised at some of the problems others had here, as i experienced none, and i found the quirks of an old hotel to be charming!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vistacruiser69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear vistacruiser69,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay over the holiday season. We are very pleased that you found our newly renovated rooms to be both elegant and comfortable. We did our best to keep the classic features that make our hotel historic but also to incorporate the conveniences of today for our guests.

Thank you also for the kind words about Veronica, she is definitively a great member of our team and we will share your thanks with her. We hope that you do not wait until next Christmas to come visit us again.

At your service,

Joseph Meuse
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed at this hotel while the wife was attending a workshop. Small but nice lobby with the desk on the left and bar/restaurant on the right. Check-in very fast, friendly and efficient. Elevators were small (8 people max) but nice to have four of them. Room was very tastefully furnished. On the small side but plenty big enough for our needs. Bathroom nice with lots of towels; great shower. TV was good but pay-per-view movie had lines all across the screen. Intended to call desk for a fix but got involved in the movie (Flight) and forgot to call so the lines could not have been too bad. Worst thing about this hotel is the outrageous cost for Internet and valet parking. Had a nice complimentary continental breakfast (a true continental with fresh pastries, cut up fruit (rasberries so ripe they exploded in your mouth) that was set up in a small dining area just near the elevators just down the hall from our 11th floor room. Not sure if they set this up on all floors. Overall a very nice experience, a bit pricey but about normal for DC. Close to Metro, wsalking distance to the National Mall, downtown attractions, even Dupont Circle (but I love to walk, it may be too far for some). Very courteous and efficient staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a 12th floor room; no street noise and a complimentary continental breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rgrippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear rgrippo,

Well it looks like we were able to provide you with an almost perfect stay. We hope that you will back back in DC again and that we will have another try to give you that perfect and memorable stay that we strive for every guest to experience.

At your service,

Joseph Meuse
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a 1 night stay, over all a nice hotel in a great location. However I got the 1 bedroom suite so that I can have some privacy space when I had a few guest come over, but turns out the "bedroom" is not enclosed but rather just another space continued from the living space with NO door in between. Secondly I valet parked my vehicle downstairs and when checking out they had charged me for 2 vehicles (that’s almost $40 each). When I approached the front desk to dispute they told me one of my guests had parked and that it was a legitimate charge. Immediately my first concern was what would make them think its okay to charge me $40.00 with out asking me and my second thought was I know my guest would have never charged my room without asking me. So to further inquire I told them to describe to me the 2nd vehicle that was charged because I wanted to know if infact was one of my guest, this way I would know who it is (I have a Mercedes, guest 1 BMW, Guest 2 Cadillac). After 5 mins they came back to me and said sorry, there was no 2nd car to your room and it was a mistake...... That is NOT acceptable. Had I not questioned the 2nd valet (which I almost didn’t) I would have been charged extra $40 for no reason. Mistakes happen I understand, but the fact they didn’t even try and call me for approving such a charge, and at my first question they told me it was my guest and that I was wrong, is just unacceptable and unprofessional. Nice hotel but just pay attention to your charges when checking out and I give staff 4 out of 10.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Mo W,

Well we must say that your review makes us worry a bit. I would greatly appreciate the opportunity to speak with you to gather a few more details about your stay so that I can ensure no other guest experiences the same thing that you have. I can be reached via email at Joseph.Meuse@interstatehotels.com.

I look forward to speaking with you further about this matter.

At your service,

Joseph Meuse
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goteborg, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We (2+2) stayed in a executive room with 2 queen beds on the 14th floor. Not a huge room but perfect for our purpose. Got a really good deal so can not complain about the price

The good:
-nicely decorated rooms
-efficient and helpful front desk staff
-comfortable beds and enough pillows
-got a room on 14th floor, so we were not disturbed by any noise from the streets
-free bottles of water and a nespresso-type-of-machine for coffe and tea
-ordered delicious cobb sallad from room-service for a resonable price
-great breakfast buffe on weekends in the restaurant (seemed to be popular among locals)
-walking distance to Smithsonians and White House

The bad
-outrageous priced wi-fi - PER DEVICE! Come on, it is 2013!!! This is why you will not get a five from me!!
-lifts underdimensioned for the hotel, too few and too slow
-cleaning not very efficient, bathrobes still on floor, all amenities not being replenished
-only a thin blanket with linen provided, expected something more comfortable (it is winter)
-in the best area for museums etc but not for a nice stroll on town (better be closer to Georgetown then)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Astrid72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Astrid72,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay. We greatly appreciate the feedback that you have provided and our management team values all of the guest input we receive.

We do hope that when you are back in DC for another perfect getaway weekend that you will be staying with us again.

At your service,

Joseph Meuse
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#46 of 141 in Washington DC
975 reviews
Dupont Circle
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White House
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White ...
#55 of 141 in Washington DC
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#29 of 141 in Washington DC
1,630 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
3,164 reviews
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#28 of 141 in Washington DC
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel

Property: Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
Address: 1001 14th St NW, 14th and K Street, Washington DC, DC 20005-3402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#48 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#64 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restored 1920's architectural gem, the Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel offers refined accommodations and modern meeting facilities in the heart of the nation's capitol. Gracing the corner of 14th & K Streets, NW, this Washington, DC hotel places you in the ideal location whether you're traveling for business or pleasure. Just 5 blocks from the White House, 7 blocks to the Washington, DC Convention Center, 1 block to the McPherson Square Metro Station, minutes from the National Mall, Smithsonian Museums, and local dining and entertainment, the Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel is perfectly situated to make your visit a productive and memorable experience. The Hamilton's own 14K Restaurant and Lounge offers a contemporary American dining experience to guests and local DC residents alike. Perfect for people watching, entertaining, or unwinding after a day of meetings, 14K Restaurant and Lounge is the choice for casual meals or private gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hamilton
Crowne Plaza Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing