We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute Historical Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
Ranked #60 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cute Historical Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

I stayed two nights here to witness the swearing in of the 113 Congress. I loved the french inspired lobby!

The rooms were very comfortable and had black out curtains, flat screen TV, great complimentary toiletries, and a small spa package (aroma therapy spray, lotions for achy feet, etc.), and a Keurig coffee maker. The room was well-lit so it was easy to do my make up in the room while my roommate used the shower.

There's also a Starbuck's in the hotel! Score! There's also a very cute and quaint bistro in the hotel, that seemed really busy when I came down for a drink with some friends. Unfortunately I didn't get a chance to sample their food.

The only downsides were: no bathrobes in the room, it's was not walking distance to the Capitol, and they mischarged me for my room. Expect to pay about $11-12 for a ride to the Capitol from here. And although it was a bit of a hassle, the front desk fixed the error with my bill.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MigratingBirdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear MigratingBirdie,

What a great experience to witness the swearing in of the 113th Congress! We are very glad that you enjoyed our new line of in rooms amenities and that you found the room very comfortable. During your next stay, our executive level rooms do come with bathrobes and other amenities available as well.

Our apologies about the billing error but we are very happy that the front office team was able to get everything sorted out for you. We hope to see you again in the future.

At your service,

Joseph Meuse
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    706
    788
    247
    89
    55
See reviews for
394
488
92
573
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
suffolk, va
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

My family stayed here two nights over the holidays. The Hamilton filled all of our needs and more. The staff was pleasant when we checked in and out. The hotel lobby is lovely and has kept its historical charm. The rooms are classy and tasteful. My daughter loved the Starbucks on the bottom floor (and the guys working there were really friendly).

There is a Metro station a block away and a CVS less than a block away in the other direction. What more can you ask for convenience? We asked the consierge to help us with a suggestion to see the Va Tech Bowl game and he could not have been more helpful or enthusiastic (thank you!). There is a small but attractive bar by the lobby that my husband and son enjoyed watching a football game late one night.

The room was $119 per night and that was NOT one of those non refundable deals. What a bargan for such a beautiful room in such a good location. I would highly recommend this hotel to someone who wants to stay in a classy hotel with good service, many conveniences, and historical touches. We will remember the Hamilton Crown Plaza the next time we need a hotel in DC.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OvertimeAtDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear OvertimeAtDuck,

Thank you for taking the time to provide such a detailed review of your recent stay with us. We are very lucky to be in such a great location as you mentioned but we are even luckier to have a great staff, such as the front desk, concierge and barista teams that you spoke about.

We hope that you have great New Year and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

At your service,

Joseph Meuse
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Just got back from a 2 night 3 day stay with my husband and Two friends. The staff was very polite, friendly, and helpful. The rooms had great decor and were spotless. Great walking distance to restaurants, bars, and attractions. The hotel checked us in early and for check out we were able to leave our car in the hotel garage until 2pm allowing us to explore more of DC while our bags were safely marked in a private room. Great hotel. Would definitely go back!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jraff086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Jraff086,

"Polite, friendly and helpful"...those words are music to our ears. We are very happy that we were able to provide you with such a wonderful stay and cannot wait to have you back again as our guest. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such a wonderful review.

At your service,

Joseph Meuse
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Will stay here again! Very clean ,large rooms!very well decotated with plasma TVs. Lots of windows with a beautiful view if the city.About a $8.00 cab ride to Georgetown... Showed up early for check in they found a room for me and my family and took the time to give me options. Great manager hands on ..think his name was Robby. I come to Dc about 15 times a year. I'll be staying here again. Cool bar downstairs. Good price on drinks and appetizers. Hope this helps with choosing a hotel on your visit to DC.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tralev03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Tralev03,

Your review of your recent stay is greatly appreciated. As you mentioned, you come to DC about 15 times a year (we of course will be very delighted to be your home away from home), if those trips are for business I would like to invite you to speak with our Sales Manager Michelle Matthews about corporate rates. She can be reached at the main hotel phone number 202-682-0111 and just ask for her by name.

We all look forward to being at your service during your future stays.

At your service,

Joseph Meuse
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

I was told that many Crowne Plaza have rebranded their hotel and that they are now just one level below the InterContinental in the IHG Hotel Group so I decided to give it a try&see what its like. It did not dissapoint one bit especially this location.

Great lobby as you walk in, there are bellman at the door asking if you need help or need a taxi at all times. The service was very good aswell. The room was nice and can be said as very very nice to fancy.

The location is great, you walk down a block you can get the Metro train or you walk about 15mins and you can see the White House. Someone mentioned the park across the street had many homeless ppl and that is true but I walked by and through the park day&night and was never harmed. Whats amazing is that you see people giving the homeless people food and clothes in the morning in truckloads.

Overall this is a great hotel to stay in and will for sure stay again if coming back to DC.

Room Tip: I LOVE that Starbucks is attached to the hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank west_coast22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear West_Coast22,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay. As you mentioned, the Crowne Plaza is in the process of wrapping up a re-branding and our hotel has just completed a face-lift to present brand new rooms and lobby to our guests.

We also appreciate to the comments you have left in regards to the area, we are quite lucky to have the White House be such a short walk and a Metro stop just a block away.

We all hope to see you again very soon. Have a great New Year!

At your service,

Joseph Meuse
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
274 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

I stayed here last minute after I got a deal on LivingSocial for an event at the 918 F street location. Rates are competitive, hotel is absolutely beautiful inside and the rooms are spacious and modern. Don't count on necessarily getting a view from the room. It's close to the Blue and Orange line and if you walk 1/4 of a mile to F street, you begin hitting some shops. Staff is great and there's a bar attached to the hotel.

Cons: wifi is $12 a day and parking is $42 if you park for 24 hrs. Be careful of the park across the street, there were definitely homeless people hanging out there the entire time I was there

Otherwise, a great hotel and I'd go back there

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Christine G,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are all quite pleased that you found our hotel to be so beautiful and as you mentioned convenient to the metro lines and shopping areas. Next time you come to stay with us mention that you would like a room with a view and we have some lovely rooms that face towards the National Mall so that you can see the many of the monuments from the hotel room.

We look forward to being at your service on your next trip.

At your service,

Joseph Meuse
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
119 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

I stayed there for the Thanksgiving holiday, and it was a great stay. I got a higher floor (12th Flr), with a lounge just next to the elevator.

I love the ground lobby, and the service was great.

The room that I was given was clean, big and comfortable. I had a view of the building next door, but I do not mind it as I spent my days walking the city. Locationwise, it was good, just a block down the McPhearson station. We could get to the station by taking the blue line from the National airport.

However, I do have to walk next to a small park to get to the hotel. There were a lot of homeless people in that park that time, and I was traveling alone. So I was a bit wary of it. Otherwise, it is a 15-20 mins walk to the White house and the collection of Smithsonian museum.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MzNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear MzNomad,

Thank you so much for choosing to spend your holiday with us at the Hamilton, I do hope that you were able to enjoy our expansive and delicious Thanksgiving Brunch in the 14K Restaurant.

You are most certainly correct about our location, we are quite lucky to be just one block from the McPherson Square Metro Station (servicing the Smithsonian area, Reagan National Airport, Arlington National Cemetery, the Pentagon, Pentagon City Mall, etc), at the cross section for the Circulator Bus routes and a short walk to the White House, Smithsonian Museums and National Monuments.

If you are interested in spending another holiday with us, don't forget our upcoming New Year's Eve party when our hotel is transformed into the "Hamilton Casino".

At your service,

Joseph Meuse
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White House
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White ...
#51 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#48 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#33 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Upper Northwest
Residence Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Residence Inn Washington, DC Dow...
#72 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel

Property: Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
Address: 1001 14th St. NW, 14th and K Street, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#48 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#64 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restored 1920's architectural gem, the Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel offers refined accommodations and modern meeting facilities in the heart of the nation's capitol. Gracing the corner of 14th & K Streets, NW, this Washington, DC hotel places you in the ideal location whether you're traveling for business or pleasure. Just 5 blocks from the White House, 7 blocks to the Washington, DC Convention Center, 1 block to the McPherson Square Metro Station, minutes from the National Mall, Smithsonian Museums, and local dining and entertainment, the Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel is perfectly situated to make your visit a productive and memorable experience. The Hamilton's own 14K Restaurant and Lounge offers a contemporary American dining experience to guests and local DC residents alike. Perfect for people watching, entertaining, or unwinding after a day of meetings, 14K Restaurant and Lounge is the choice for casual meals or private gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hamilton
Crowne Plaza Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing