We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Long weekend in May”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
Ranked #59 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Long weekend in May”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We spent 5 great nights in the Hamilton Crowne Plaza in May 2012. The hotel is in a great location for sight seeing being only 10 minutes from the White House. We were upgraded to the executive level through my Priority Club platinum status which gave us a very comfortable spacious room. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Restaurant serve good tasty food, staff very friendly and efficient. Only downside executive area closed at weekend

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear David L,

Well it appears our staff did a wonderful job of placing a lasting memory with you during your stay. I have some wonderful news for you, since your stay, we have done a complete renovation of our guest rooms. I encourage you to view them on our website and hope that you’ll come back to see us again on your next trip across the Atlantic.

Best Regards,

Joseph Meuse
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    701
    781
    247
    89
    54
See reviews for
391
485
92
568
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
kiryat Tivon, Israel
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed for business - very good internet connection, bed is comfortable, breakfast is very rich with good selection (besides the coffee which was poor). Lunch menu is very basic, though.
location was an advantage for my purpose (both business and some sightseeing).
Very expensive, like the rest of the hotels in that area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shai R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Shai R,

Your review of your recent stay is much appreciated. We are quite pleased to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and your comments about the lunch menu have been passed on to the Food and Beverage Team. We are always looking for new ways to delight our guests and many things we do come directly from reviews just like yours.

We hope that you had an opportunity for sightseeing while you were in town and hope that you'll have the opportunity to come back for more a pleasure trip and leave the business at home.

Best Regards,

Joseph Meuse
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Lodge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Great tourist stay location. EVERYONE was very friendly and courteous. Rooms were immaculate and bathroom was well lit, large, and very clean. Only downside is the windows/noise. The windows are either very old or just bad windows. Lots of night life sounds come in through the night and we were on the sixth floor. Didn't bother us as we were exhausted each night and passed right out in the very comfortable bed. The location is great, well within walking distance of the tourist spots and two blocks from most of the main subway lines. The bar staff was amazing and worked their butts off election night while we were there. Bottom line, for the price, this hotel far outperforms anything else.

Room Tip: High as you can get and away from park side
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adam k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Adam K.,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide such a detailed review of your recent trip to DC. Election night...what an exciting time to be in DC! You are definitely right about having a great location for all the "tourist spots" as well as some great local spots. And of course with that great location does come with the "city noise" that you mentioned but are extra comfy beds generally put even the guest who just finished a cup of coffee in our attached Starbucks right to sleep.

We look forward to seeing you back again soon!

Best Regards,

Joseph Meuse
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cherry hill
1 review
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Great location. Everything in DC is very close, a quick walk or short cab ride. We had our 12 year old son with us and it was great for him as well. Every time we went in or out of front door someone was there to open it I saw a review of this hotel and someone mentioned the park across the street and homeless people . The truth is at night they are not there and all over DC there are homeless people. Hotel was better than I had hoped. Would stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Lisa R,

You’re review is much appreciated. We know that when travelling to a city like DC you have many options for lodging and as you said we go have a great location. We look forward to seeing you again when you return to our Nation’s Capital.

Best Regards,
Joseph Meuse
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courbevoie, France
Level Contributor
118 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This hotel was maybe a good one but this is no more the case. One elevator only is working. Rooms are not that large. Wi-fi is not included. Guests are noisy.
No need to ask a room overlooking the square, windows are so dirty that you cannot look outside.
Food is just American.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Patrick D,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent trip. I see from your post that you found our hotel to be oldish and that is definitely not what we aim for our guest to perceive our hotel as being. Based on the fact that you said you stayed in October leads me to believe that you may have stayed in one of our pre-renovation rooms, as we have just wrapped up a complete renovation of all of our guests rooms and lobby area in October and the new rooms are quite modern. We also just have the all exterior windows pressure washed recently as well.

I do encourage you to visit our newly redesigned website to view images of our new rooms and perhaps on your next trip to DC you will give the Hamilton a second chance. We hope to see you again and thank you for the feedback.

Best Regards,

Joseph Meuse
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuuk, Greenland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed 3 days during hurricane Sandy, and it was a perfect stay! Nice and inviting room, lovely bed, perfect location, and an extremely nice and helpfull staff Happy hour in the cozy bar between 4-7 is also nice, and there's a Starbucks on site. We have on previous stays i washington stayd at overprized and overratede Gergetown In, but from now on we will stay at Hamiltown! In fact i'm going back next month, and am looking forward to it

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans-Erik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Hello Hans-Erik,

We can definitely say that nothing brings as much of a smile to our face as when we read “Perfect stay!” That of course is what we strive to have for each and every guest that we are honored to serve.

We all look forward to seeing you next month and many more times in the future.

Best Regards,
Joseph Meuse
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here for two nights mid October prior to a US road trip. It's a beautiful building in an excellent location. The public rooms are lovely, our bedroom was clean and well appointed, the bed was extremely comfortable. The reception staff and concierge were very helpful in offering advice on getting around town etc.
As others have said, the internet usage charge is expensive since most places have free wi fi now, its something I feel needs looking into.
Great having the Starbucks on site and the bar serves excellent cocktails.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank issy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Hello Issy49,

Well I can’t picture a better place to kick off a US road trip than at the Hamilton Crowne Plaza in our Nation’s Capital! It makes up very happy to know that we helped to start your trip so well. We all hope that the rest of your trip went well and hope to you’ll be our guest again soon!

Best Regards,
Joseph Meuse
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Dupont Circle
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White House
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White ...
#52 of 140 in Washington DC
759 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#33 of 140 in Washington DC
1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#47 of 140 in Washington DC
914 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Upper Northwest
Residence Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Residence Inn Washington, DC Dow...
#79 of 140 in Washington DC
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel

Property: Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
Address: 1001 14th St. NW, 14th and K Street, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#48 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#64 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restored 1920's architectural gem, the Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel offers refined accommodations and modern meeting facilities in the heart of the nation's capitol. Gracing the corner of 14th & K Streets, NW, this Washington, DC hotel places you in the ideal location whether you're traveling for business or pleasure. Just 5 blocks from the White House, 7 blocks to the Washington, DC Convention Center, 1 block to the McPherson Square Metro Station, minutes from the National Mall, Smithsonian Museums, and local dining and entertainment, the Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel is perfectly situated to make your visit a productive and memorable experience. The Hamilton's own 14K Restaurant and Lounge offers a contemporary American dining experience to guests and local DC residents alike. Perfect for people watching, entertaining, or unwinding after a day of meetings, 14K Restaurant and Lounge is the choice for casual meals or private gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hamilton
Crowne Plaza Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing