We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Downtown DC” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
Ranked #65 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Downtown DC”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Attended meeting at convention center, walked about 5 blocks each day to meeting. Nice area. Walked few blocks to visit White House, National Mall, museums. Plenty of restaurants and shopping nearby. Recent total renovation. Old hotel, so rooms are small but adequate. Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Hello John R,

Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. As you said we are very centrally located in the downtown area with just a short walk to most of the DC attractions. We are also very close to the McPhereson Square Metro that services the National Mall, Smithsonian and Capitol areas as well as picking guests up directly at Reagan National Airport making it quite convenient to get in and out of the city while avoiding traffic. For your next trip I might recommend looking into staying on our 12th or 14th floor Executive rooms that provide the extra space that some guest prefer to have.

We all look forward to having you once again as our guest when your travels bring you back to Washington DC.

Best Regards,
Joseph Meuse
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    668
    753
    243
    89
    53
See reviews for
371
475
92
534
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

First time to Washington and what a great city! Hotel was in an area close to everything - convention centre, Capital, White House, etc etc. very tastefully done reno of rooms and lobby. Front desk agent Veron was very helpful as was the Concierge Anna. The bed, desk, lighting and everything else in my room was perfect. Internet was 12.95 per night which seemed odd in 2012. Should be included at every hotel as far as i am concerned. Lighting in bathroom was cruumy but room wad so nice and clean that i didn't really care. Would stay here again for sure. And add Washington to your list of beautiful US cities to visit!

Room Tip: Stay clear of rooms facing the front of the hotel as could be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank citiesareforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Hello StyleInToronto,

We are all quite pleased to read that you enjoyed your first and hopefully of many trips to Washington DC and of course that you liked our newly renovated guest rooms. Your praises of our front desk and concierge staff will be shared with everyone on our team because we know that it truly is the staff that makes a hotel great.

Your feedback in regards to the internet prices is also appreciated, currently we are very competitive within our market in regards to price but we are also always reevaluating everything we do in looking for ways to improve our guest service.

We look forward to having you as our guest once again when you return to our Nation's Capital.

Best Regards,
Joseph Meuse
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Staff were very welcoming and helpful, the room was clean, of a good size and the bed was comfortable. Having said that you had to be a bit of a contortionist in the bathroom which although reasonably sized was very poorly designed and in need of modernisation. I finally found the mounted loo roll holder but would have needed to dislocate my shoulder to use it!

A little tip for this and many hotels - the LED lights coming from appliances such as the IPod player and TV is ridiculous, turn the main room lights off and you could still land an aircraft with the light generated from these appliances!

Good location and easy reach of everywhere I needed to go on business and to my favourite bar in DC Old Ebbitts so I would definitely stay there again for a night or two.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CBGL2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Hello CGBL2008,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are quite pleased that you had a delightful stay with us and we will definitely look into the brightness level of the in-room amenities and perhaps we can have the LCD dimmed a bit for the comfort of our guests.

Best Regards,

Joseph Meuse
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

This was one of the worst hotel experiences I have had to tolerate. The lobby smells terrible. The rooms are incredibly small. The room was not made up until after 5:30. Despite the signs on the even numbered floors that vending is available on the odd numbered floors there is no vending machines in the entire building. Additionally, there is no convenience store in the hotel. To get basic convenience items that you need or a soft drink you have to walk a block to the closest CVS. Oh and did I mention, the road noise is the loudest I have ever experienced at a hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2468davidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Hello David D,

First off let us apologize for your recent experience at our property. Is is true that while we were under a complete renovation that our vending machines were removed and are in the process of being replaced. For our guests convenience we do offer room service who can provide a variety of soft drinks, juices and water at a flat rate of $2.00 with no service fee and or delivery charge. And always on hand on the front desk we have a variety of commonly forgotten toiletry items available at no charge.

You also mentioned that your room was quite small, we do offer several different room categories with various sizes. For guest who prefer to stretch out or like having the extra room that generally isn't found in a city hotel we recommend for guest to book a room on the Executive Level as they offer the most square footage of our guests rooms outside of our suites.

Please, if you wouldn't mind I would love the opportunity to speak with you further in regards to your stay and I can be reached at 202-682-0111. or Joseph.Meuse@interstatehotels.com.

Best Regards,
Joseph Meuse
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed here for a short break and was overall not wowed at all.
Rooms were okay, brilliant large shower with good power but THE most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in - really was. Can't understand why they would spend so much on the bathroom and then leave a cheap bed. :(. Plus the bedsheets were cheap cotton just for those who care about those kind of things - so felt like crinkly paper on your shoulders - but all fresh and clean. For the first time ever I have had back ache - not good at all. Also even though the room was double glazed we could hear lots of noise from outside.
Service from a staff point of view was hit and miss. Either staff were really enthusiastic or really not interested with no inbetween. Which is a shame as the ones who were bad and or did not care are letting the ones who really want to do a good job. An example of this was a member of the reception team made mistakes with our booking in and then also in setting our room keys so we had to go back down to reception (tired, jet lagged and loads of bags outside the room) to sort it, no apology just an attitude almost like we were troubling them and it was our fault. We were not rude just asked for correct information and for the keys to be set as were not working. We had good service too for example the porters were lovely and helpful and the lady who arranges the transport. But overall there was more poor service than good so that along with the room noise and bed spoiled it for us and put us off and we would not recommend or stay there again.

Room Tip: Service lets this hotel down and our bed was VERY uncomfortable - very soft possibly very old not su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amandamango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Hello Amandamango,

We would like to personally apologize for the fact that we did not wow you during your stay but rather provided spotty service. As I'm sure you can imagine this is not the impression we ever hope to leave on a guest and we will certainly use this an an example for explaining to our teams why we must provide not only excellent service but provide it on a consistent basis.

In our guest rooms we do attempt to provide out guests with that amazing night sleep that everyone expects when they travel and we do feature Sealy Posturepedic with a feather-topper so it is a delightfully soft bed. And so centrally located in the downtown area we do have some challenges with the "city noise" but we can always place our guest who are more of a lighter sleeper on the off-street side of the hotel which is generally much quieter.

We do hope that next time you're visiting our beautiful city that you'll give us another opportunity to wow you. And thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay as we always appreciate all guest feedback we receive.

Best Regards,
Joseph Meuse
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
172 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

The Crowne Plaza is a smaller hotel located a reasonable walk from monuments and the Smithsonian museums. The room was fine. It was clean and had enough room. Internet WiFi is not included - very strange considering the price. The restaurant is expensive but provided a quality dinner (Friday nights are busy, but Saturday is quieter). Breakfast is the main disappointment - touted as a 'brunch' - it is extremely expensive an could not even provide a pot of tea or even a tea bag and hot water. I left and my partner had just one bowl of porridge - we were charged $50 + tax.

Washington is an amazing place to visit, but we wouldn't stay at the Crowne Plaza again.

Room Tip: Do some more research, there must be better options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msdcairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Msdcairns,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your recent stay. We always value any feedback we receive as that is how we learn what our guest prefer. My apologies that you did not enjoy our weekend brunch, we do offer many excellent options on the brunch menu such as a cook to order omelet station, meat carving station, a variety of fresh cut fruit, assorted fine meats and cheeses and bottomless mimosas.

If you would like, I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you in regards to your recent stay directly and can be reached at 202-682-0111.

Best Regards,
Joseph Meuse
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Ok...this was a no choice hotel made by my company, one I would not wish on anyone...I will start by saying about the only thing this property has going for it is the location. Hard to beat. But it ends there. I guess in fairness the need to charge $42.00 night parking is charged is about what others charge but really...a little much. The lobby is not what would be expected. Looks and feels dirty. Checkin was fine but the king room I had reserved was for whatever reason not available. So, a queen it was. Small, damp feeling and as with the remainder of the hotel a smell that just was not pleasing. Yes the place is said to have been remodeled. But even with a cleaning this place falls short. Dirty carpets and the beds will cause anyone to lose sleep they are so soft and unsupportive. Internet goes in and out so you may not be happy here either. The woman at Starbuck's downstairs said that the normal Internet service they provide was not allowed by the hotel. Only one in DC she went on to say. And at $12.95 per device per day another bad for a service that only costs pennies. So...make your choice wisely and find another property with more to offer in a cleaner setting.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keepthosebagspacked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Keepthosebagspacked,

We must say that a review like this truly makes us sad. An impression such as this is one that we never want to leave on any of our guests and I am very sorry that we left one like that with you.

If it would be at all possible I would love to be able to speak with you to get more specifics on your stay so that we can use that to learn from and improve so that we may have the opportunity to have you as our guest again and to leaving a wonderful lasting memory rather than the one we have.

Please feel free to contact me at any time at 202-682-0111.

Best Regards,
Joseph Meuse
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White House
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White ...
#51 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#49 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan
Kimpton Donovan
#34 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,551 reviews
Upper Northwest
Residence Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Residence Inn Washington, DC Dow...
#87 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#71 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel

Property: Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
Address: 1001 14th St. NW, 14th and K Street, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#48 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#64 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restored 1920's architectural gem, the Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel offers refined accommodations and modern meeting facilities in the heart of the nation's capitol. Gracing the corner of 14th & K Streets, NW, this Washington, DC hotel places you in the ideal location whether you're traveling for business or pleasure. Just 5 blocks from the White House, 7 blocks to the Washington, DC Convention Center, 1 block to the McPherson Square Metro Station, minutes from the National Mall, Smithsonian Museums, and local dining and entertainment, the Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel is perfectly situated to make your visit a productive and memorable experience. The Hamilton's own 14K Restaurant and Lounge offers a contemporary American dining experience to guests and local DC residents alike. Perfect for people watching, entertaining, or unwinding after a day of meetings, 14K Restaurant and Lounge is the choice for casual meals or private gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hamilton
Crowne Plaza Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing