We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Full of character” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tabard Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Washington DC
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tabard Inn
Save
You added Tabard Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #106 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Vinjeoera, Norway
Level Contributor
117 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Full of character”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

The hotel is quite well located in a reasonably quiet residential street. The rooms were massive. The hotel is full of quirky little objects and lots of charm. Modern it is not but if you are tired of the big impersonal hotels then the Tabard is an absolute must. The breakfast was okay, but if you wanted more then it was pretty pricey and no credit appeared to be given if you didn't eat from the set (included) breakfast menu. We ate at the restaurant one evening and it was very pleasant.
Recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    84
    43
    28
    15
See reviews for
37
75
25
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Okay, for those of you who like absolute regularity/quiet, private bathrooms, sleek appliances, and gadgets, this place is not for you. For those of you who want a funky location, an interesting,quirky place, don't mind squeaky doors, indirect lighting, and are on a budget, this is a gem. Yes, one time I was there a fire broke out and I was woken up by half a dozen very hunky DC firefighters who needed to check the chimney in my room. And yes, sometimes I want to slug the wait staff who have way too much attitude in the restaurant. Still, the last time I went I got a room upgrade to a much bigger room by a friendly front staff woman. Yeah, it was a room with a shared bath, but it was big, no one else was in the room that I was sharing a bath with, and it was less than $80 bucks a night for me and my daughter. For me, it was perfect!

Room Tip: For those on a budget, rooms with a shared bath are available, wonderfully outfitted with antiques...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank TRichards19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Sigh. I love, love, love quaint places with personality, unique decor, great food and atmosphere. The Tabard scores amazing on all that, but lacks such basic amenities that it is hard to appreciate its uniqueness given my, and most travelers, very basic requirements. Furthermore, in a city with lots of options, the Tabard has, unfortunately, moved far down on my list for a hotel option. I do want to say that the restaurant and bar remain a wonderful option for entertainment.
Comfort/basic function: Ability to sleep. Noise from other guests and patrons, outside HVAC units (which whine incessantly), showers, etc., I find it difficult to recommend any hotel to travelers who find a restful night's sleep important.
Romance: When impossibly aware of creaking beds, guests arriving via the only stairwell, loud mechanical issues, it is often very difficult to feel or remain "in the mood." If you are not uncomfortable with the neighbors evaluating your relationship, then this won't be an issue. But if you want to avoid feeling red-faced in front of the guests next door, look somewhere else.
Showers/closets/beds: These amenities vary so widely amongst the rooms, that guests must ascertain a room assignment in order to be sure that height, location and size can accomodate their needs.
Staff hospitality: Despite four valet$$$ outside, the hotel does not provide any sort of bellman or concierge assistance in terms of baggage, holding luggage or purchases, making dinner reservations, etc. Just checking in can be an hour ordeal. Even a small request such as a new set of batteries for a malfunctioning AC unit puts the staff in a tailspin. Be prepared to handle everything yourself.
If these services are not significant for guests paying $200+ per night with multiple other DC hotels available, by all means, enjoy the decor and lounge in the bar. However, if you have only limited time to spend in the US Capitol city, opt for a location that will at least ensure a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NjoyNLifeandLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holliston
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

filled with books and artwork, this place rocks! we stayed with friends, shared bathroom between the two rooms. one room was extra large with a sitting ara, the other smaller but adequate. no tv, but lots of books, and we did not miss the tv at all. the breakfast was wonderful, and we would have had dinner at the Inn but the prices were a bit steep. the location cannot be beat, between the White House and Dupont Circle, on a quiet street that was pretty and restful after a long day of sightseeing. the value is excellent and for anyone who doesn't need a boxed Holiday Inn this place has charm and was a great hit with our friends as well.

Room Tip: each room is different- ask the hotel staff to guide you instead of booking online
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarlSbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The Tabard Inn is a beautiful old hotel full of nostalgia. However, I was extremely disappointed with my stay. I understand the narrow stairway; it is a historic hotel, true to its era. I even understand the small size of the room, as was the era. But, there was no TV which I found odd. The bathroom was small, but the major problem was the lighting. It was impossible to put on makeup due to the very poor lighting. These are items any hotel operating in the 21st century should accomodate, especially in the Nation's capital.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I used to live near this hotel and had always wanted to stay, so when we planned a trip back to DC I knew this had to be the place. I loved it, with its meandering hallways and multiple staircases and little quiet corners, but my husband, used to more straightforward layouts, struggled a bit, particularly with the suitcase. It can be confusing finding your way to your room the first time, and we ended up having to ask a staff member to show us the way through one of the dining areas and up two flights of stairs. Pack light - you don't want to be hauling loads of luggage past people enjoying a late lunch. Our room, with a king sized bed, was a good size and clean. The bathroom was tiny but I liked the shower's river stones and rain showerhead. There are no TVs in the rooms, which was something else my husband found strange, but I loved it. The doors and walls are thin, so earplugs or headphones are a good idea if you are a light sleeper, particularly when there is a party in one of the function rooms below. The breakfast is great, the bar is friendly in the afternoon (busy at night) and while we didn't eat dinner at the restaurant, it is clearly very popular with the locals, for good reason, given its immense charm. I'm not sure I would stay there again, but I highly recommend it to those looking for the experience of a charming country inn in the middle of a bustling city.

Room Tip: Request a top-floor room - it will be more of a climb, but you will be further away from the bar and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hubbard3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
53 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

When searching for a hotel in DC, it was hard to find one that ticked my usual boxes of being affordable, stylish and in a very central location. Fortunately, the Tabard Inn is all of these things.

The location is very central, just a couple very easy blocks walk from Dupont Circle and the subway line there. It's no more than a 5 minute walk.

The hotel itself is well maintained and very unique with an eclectic mix of period furnishings in a historic home setting. It's a pleasure to find oneself in such a historic atmosphere in such an historic city.

Breakfast is included in the room rate, and while by no means lavish was cooked fresh for each guest and was both tasty and filling.

The staff were also helpful with maps and directions, I found them pleasant throughout.

And of course you can't beat the rates, which are significantly cheaper than the big hotels.

Definitely recommended, would stay here without a doubt if I am ever back in DC.

Room Tip: Be aware that some of the rooms have a shared bathroom, which means you have to exit your room to us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel
Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel
#61 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,135 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#50 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,101 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Mansion on O Street
The Mansion on O Street
#108 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#31 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,451 reviews
Dupont Circle
Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters
Dupont Circle
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at The Mayflower
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at ...
#110 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tabard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabard Inn

Property: Tabard Inn
Address: 1739 N St NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-2801
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on quiet side street only five blocks from the White House and steps away from Dupont Circle, Tabard Inn is an old and charming hotel for anyone seeking a European-style oasis on American soil. Our eclectic yet refined atmosphere is the perfect compliment to our award-winning restaurant and bar, weekend jazz sessions, and beautiful, intimate special events. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing