We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great overnight value, even better bar”
Review of Tabard Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tabard Inn
Ranked #109 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Fe, New Mexico, United States
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great overnight value, even better bar”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Charming, historic building in a great location. I loved eating breakfast in the courtyard and I enjoyed a few dinners that were more than respectable. The rooms are tiny and there are shared bathrooms which is to be expected with the price. I spent one night in the penthouse suite which was lovely! I have to say, though, that the best part of my experience was the bar. The mixologist who was working during the evenings was spectacular. She made amazing drinks. That might explain why I slept so well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alliyah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    101
    47
    34
    18
See reviews for
49
91
36
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayed for a couple of nights in April. Loved the unique decorating and our dinner was outstanding! The room was very comfortable. Need to be able to walk up and down stairs and step into a claw foot tub. Staff were very accommodating. Good vibe throughout!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosemary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

A lovely spot, charming, with an away from it all feel...though in bustling restaurant-laden area.
Meal was innovative, interesting, tasty. Staff friendly and competent . Back patio a delight.inside warm, inn feeling

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank torontolover_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Love this place for brunch when the weather is nice and you can get a table in the back patio. It really feels like a little secret in the big city.
Never stayed at the hotel so can't say anything about that.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Wandered over to the Tabard Inn over the past weekend for a late afternoon meal, and it was a wonderful experience. It is charming - and unpretentious. We sat in the lounge area which is mostly large old sofas and upholstered chairs - very dark and quiet - which was just fine on a day with a temperature over 100 degrees. If it had been a little more pleasant - the outdoor patio would have been very nice. The staff was absolutely friendly and helpful - and definitely enjoyed working at the Tabard. We shared the salmon plate and the white bean dip - they were wonderful. And the wine selection is also very good. Would definitely return to the Tabard - not far from Dupont Circle, and the Phillips Collection. And within walking distance to the Foggy Bottom metro stop - although there are other Blue Line train stops a little closer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank plymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I recently spent a week in Washington DC and wanted a different experience than a larger hotel. We found the Hotel Tabard Inn on line and decided to check them out. The rooms are quaint, very comfortable bed, and VERY quiet at night. We didn't have to experience the heavy door slamming you hear at large hotels. We didn't eat in the restaurant as we were on a very casual vacation, and the restaurant seemed to cater to a more professionally dressed crowd. The only draw back that would keep some people from staying, is they do not have an elevator. My husband and I are very fit, but we did stay on the 4th floor and the flights of stairs would be prohibitive to older people, or those who cannot handle stairs. It is not a place really for people with disabilities. It is also in a great location, quiet street, and very close to the METRO, coffee shops and restaurants. The decor throughout the Inn is very interesting and adds to the uniqueness of the Inn. It is also close to a YMCA if you like to work out, swim, etc...

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs I would ask for a room on a lower floor. We booked a room with a pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed at Tabard Inn for 2 nights and absolutely loved it! The rooms are very charming and the staff is very friendly! We stayed in the Penthouse and it was absolutely wonderful. Very spacious room with a private kitchen with fridge. The decor in the rooms is absolutely unique. Our friend stayed in a another room with a private bathroom and her room was amazing as well. Plus the tempur pedic mattresses in the rooms are a real treat.
The complementary breakfast seemed small when we read the choices on the menu, but it turned out to be plenty. The restaurant is very chic and is full of people who work in the offices in the area in the evenings. A nice little touch are the glass bottles of filtered water in the rooms to be environment friendly. When the bottle is empty, the guest can simply go to the reception and exchange the empty one for a full bottle. No unnecessary plastic bottles, yay!
The area is very nice, close to all the attractions (we walked to the White House and the trolley stop taking us everywhere around town). Although the inn does not have parking, there are plenty parking garages around, just check out bestparking.com, download a coupon, and you are good to go.
We will definitely return to Washington DC, and stay at the Tabard Inn!

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lr2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
#82 of 141 in Washington DC
1,271 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Mansion on O Street
The Mansion on O Street
#116 of 141 in Washington DC
119 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#60 of 141 in Washington DC
1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Dupont Circle
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Dup...
#105 of 141 in Washington DC
360 reviews
Dupont Circle
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at The Mayflower
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at ...
#107 of 141 in Washington DC
49 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#27 of 141 in Washington DC
3,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tabard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabard Inn

Property: Tabard Inn
Address: 1739 N Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-2801
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tabard Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comprising a trio of late-1800s townhouses, this traditionally furnished hotel is a 6-minute walk from the Metro and 1 mile from the Walter E. Washington Convention Center. The elegant, antiques-filled rooms are individually decorated, and provide free Wi-Fi. Some have private bathrooms or sitting areas. Rooms are stair-access only. Continental breakfast is included, as is access to a nearby gym. There's also a bar and lounge with occasional live jazz, plus a New American restaurant with a seasonal menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Tabard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing