We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet conversation in a loud restaurant.”
Review of Tabard Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tabard Inn
Ranked #109 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Manitou Springs, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quiet conversation in a loud restaurant.”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Yes it gets crowded and loud, it is quite a social gathering place but there are plenty of nooks to accomodate quiet conversation. Just take the time to find them!

I have only had a light sample of the menu but it was superb.

The staff was very friendly and helpful, even considering the rowdy bunch I was with.

The lack of certain modern amenities is no secret, so be ready for long staircases with no elevators, no WiFi, no television (gasp!) and a shared bathroom for some rooms!

My favorite part of the Tabard is the bar which is on the way to the dining room. Order a screwdriver. They are made with fresh orange juice as in from an orange not a bottle.

Chew slowly and savor the food.

Speak slowly and savor the conversation.

Walk slowly and enjoy the decor.

This is the only place I stay in the Nation's Capitol.

Room Tip: Just ask for a different room than you had last time!! They are all very different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    98
    47
    34
    18
See reviews for
48
90
32
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The doughnuts ($1.50 each) are an absolute must. I ordered the eggs Benedict with smoked salmon and it was perfect: eggs were cooked to perfection and the salmon was a great addition to the classic. The waiting time is long (we waited for an hour), so plan ahead and go for a walk to the White House while you wait!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

A charming place to stay with lots of great places to sit and eat, read, drink and people watch. We enjoyed the neighborhood and the easy access to the Metro to get to the museums. Our room had a full bath and a fantastic mattress but did require walking up a narrow staircase. The restaurant was a real highlight both for dinner and breakfast!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaulGH2O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
132 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has plenty of character, great food, and access to the Y's 25m swimming pool. My room was spacious and the bed big and comfortable. The hotel has good wifi coverage. It has no TVs, which was nice. However, the room walls are really thin and one can hear far too much of what is going on elsewhere in the hotel from one's bed. On a Friday or Saturday, this is compounded by early morning (eg 2-4am) revelry on the street. It is possible that if they have rooms looking out the back, this could be avoided. The restaurant is very popular. One gets the impression the rooms are a second priority. Some staff are super: nice, welcoming and helpful. Others, more in the restaurant, are a little stuck up.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank WTBManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 25, 2013

The hotel was quiet and had it own charm but the antiques have seen their wear for being "well used and abused" from guest. It like staying in a sweet granny's lifetime home. You can tell it was once something but granny hasn't been able to keep up with it. However if you like that feel you will enjoy this place. I do recommend the brunch! Get Sun brunch, get Sun brunch, get Sun Brunch. I can't say it enough. The homemade doughnuts are to die for, people come in just to get them. So if you want granny's charm and the best breakfast in the area, book a Sat night!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The staff at the Tabard Inn are consistently and sincerely committed to being as welcoming as possible but unfortunately the building itself just doesn't hold up. Running out of hot water, lumpy mattress, and poor light in the room made our stay unpleasant. The hallways are narrow and the stairs are steep -- steep enough that it can be hard to wrestle even a small wheelie up a floor. I wouldn't send a friend there.

There are positives -- the attitude of staff is terrific, and the food and drink are excellent. My morning hash and eggs were about as good as I've ever had anywhere, and the scones were excellent. I like my coffee stronger than they make it but I think they are brewing it for their clientele, which runs a little older than some other places. The bar is cozy and warm, you can sit by yourself or quite easily strike up a conversation, and the bar staff are efficient without being overly brisk. The decor overall is quaint, and everything is scrupulously clean.

One suggestion: don't use the valet parking. They "forgot" that we wanted our car at 3 PM, and it cost us a half hour waiting time. Ultimately the hotel staff retrieved the car instead of the valet, and refunded us the cost of the parking, which was very decent of them; but I would have preferred to spend the money and saved the time (that is, after all, what valet parking is for).

The contrast between the helpful staff and the un-welcoming physical plant is almost heartbreaking -- if customer-friendliness were all that mattered I would give this place a "5." My "2" rating is assigned with some sadness.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Thomas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I've stayed at the Tabard Inn for years - for the reasonable rates, the quality of the sheets, towels and pillows, and the cozy, well-decorated rooms. The restaurant is world class and I have enjoyed many a dinner or lunch meeting there. The staff are a marvel of efficiency and attentiveness. Much of my work is in downtown DC or surrounding areas and it is always a pleasure to spend time in the lounge (a real fireplace) and a comfortable clubby feel and retreat to my room after a day of business in the District. I recommend this place - a real gem - to anyone who doesn't like the generic, antiseptic feel of chain hotels. The Tabard's a real country in in the city.

Room Tip: The Tabard has both private and shared bathrooms - choose according to budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
#85 of 141 in Washington DC
1,249 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Mansion on O Street
The Mansion on O Street
#116 of 141 in Washington DC
117 reviews
Dupont Circle
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at The Mayflower
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at ...
#106 of 141 in Washington DC
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Dupont Circle
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Dup...
#103 of 141 in Washington DC
356 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#58 of 141 in Washington DC
1,233 reviews
Dupont Circle
Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters
Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarter...
#107 of 141 in Washington DC
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tabard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabard Inn

Property: Tabard Inn
Address: 1739 N Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-2801
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tabard Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comprising a trio of late-1800s townhouses, this traditionally furnished hotel is a 6-minute walk from the Metro and 1 mile from the Walter E. Washington Convention Center. The elegant, antiques-filled rooms are individually decorated, and provide free Wi-Fi. Some have private bathrooms or sitting areas. Rooms are stair-access only. Continental breakfast is included, as is access to a nearby gym. There's also a bar and lounge with occasional live jazz, plus a New American restaurant with a seasonal menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Tabard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing