We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real conundrum” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tabard Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tabard Inn
Ranked #107 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Santa Fe, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A real conundrum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Definitely charming, the old inn is loaded with atmosphere. But the room lights are very dim, rooms lack television and hair dryers, and there are no elevators. There is a beautiful lounge and restaurant on the first floor. Just be prepared for the quirky combination of antique and wifi. I am not sure I would have chosen it myself, but I was part of a group of 8, and someone else was in charge of accommodations. We were here 5 nights, and this seems like a two -night stay, in my opinion. Convenient to many sights and to Metro.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    87
    43
    29
    15
See reviews for
40
76
26
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philly
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

My first choice in DC. Charming, quaint, friendly and a reasonable price. Not your standard international business or family hotel. A little funky, but cool. And I used to live in DC, so I know about bassist Victor Dvoskin's very cool Sunday night jazz duos in the lounge. #1!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jazzyalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

There really is no better spot in any city for comfort, service, location, charm and exceptional food! I love the old world ambience and the eclectic mix of art and vintage furniture....with a sense of humor! The staff could not have been nicer or more accommodating....when two in our lunch party got caught in traffic and were nearly an hour late, they were gracious and patient.

The warmth in the lounge for late afternoon tea or a drink was cozy and inviting. This is an excellent value and breakfast is included.

Room Tip: We liked the quiet of a back room( #4)....cozy, quiet and good for sleeping. Great shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amew24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

A fantastic quirky hotel in the Dupont Circle area. We ended up with only the penthouse available over the 9/11 week we spent in DC, so it was a bit expensive but certainly worth it. Wireless was a bit of a problem but they worked it out eventually. The restaurant is a real gem with outstanding quality and value meals for dinner and the breakfast staff and food are equally good.

Room Tip: check with the hotel and let them know what your room requirements are before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Snouter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

If you spring for one of the larger rooms it may be better value but we paid over $170 per night for a closet and a share of a bathroom down the corridor. Really poor value therefore but the location is good (and the restaurant is great).

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlutemanPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Charming inn with decent rates in a convenient location off Connecticut Avenue near Du Pont Circle. This is not a slick hotel, but that is a relief. The restaurant is excellent. The clientele is friendly, as is the management. Try not to stay in rooms on the alley in the back: it is noisy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

While the room (though cluttered) served its purpose as a base of operations - it's located perfectly for the White House, Washington Monument et al - the service for which the US is famed is sadly lacking. On check-in, after a surly swipe of the credit card, we had to then carry four suitcases up two flights of incredibly narrow stairs with no assistance. Not the worst place I've ever stayed by a long way, but I'd go elsewhere just for a smile and some assistance from the reception staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Woody E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
#68 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,157 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Mansion on O Street
The Mansion on O Street
#108 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 105 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#50 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#35 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,552 reviews
Dupont Circle
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Dupont Circle
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Dup...
#102 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 330 reviews
Dupont Circle
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at The Mayflower
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at ...
#112 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tabard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabard Inn

Property: Tabard Inn
Address: 1739 N St NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-2801
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on quiet side street only five blocks from the White House and steps away from Dupont Circle, Tabard Inn is an old and charming hotel for anyone seeking a European-style oasis on American soil. Our eclectic yet refined atmosphere is the perfect compliment to our award-winning restaurant and bar, weekend jazz sessions, and beautiful, intimate special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Tabard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing