We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real conundrum”
Review of Tabard Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tabard Inn
Ranked #111 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Definitely charming, the old inn is loaded with atmosphere. But the room lights are very dim, rooms lack television and hair dryers, and there are no elevators. There is a beautiful lounge and restaurant on the first floor. Just be prepared for the quirky combination of antique and wifi. I am not sure I would have chosen it myself, but I was part of a group of 8, and someone else was in charge of accommodations. We were here 5 nights, and this seems like a two -night stay, in my opinion. Convenient to many sights and to Metro.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rose H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
There are newer reviews for Tabard Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 329 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

My first choice in DC. Charming, quaint, friendly and a reasonable price. Not your standard international business or family hotel. A little funky, but cool. And I used to live in DC, so I know about bassist Victor Dvoskin's very cool Sunday night jazz duos in the lounge. #1!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jazzyalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

There really is no better spot in any city for comfort, service, location, charm and exceptional food! I love the old world ambience and the eclectic mix of art and vintage furniture....with a sense of humor! The staff could not have been nicer or more accommodating....when two in our lunch party got caught in traffic and were nearly an hour late, they were gracious and patient.

The warmth in the lounge for late afternoon tea or a drink was cozy and inviting. This is an excellent value and breakfast is included.

Room Tip: We liked the quiet of a back room( #4)....cozy, quiet and good for sleeping. Great shower!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amew24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

A fantastic quirky hotel in the Dupont Circle area. We ended up with only the penthouse available over the 9/11 week we spent in DC, so it was a bit expensive but certainly worth it. Wireless was a bit of a problem but they worked it out eventually. The restaurant is a real gem with outstanding quality and value meals for dinner and the breakfast staff and food are equally good.

Room Tip: check with the hotel and let them know what your room requirements are before booking.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snouter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

If you spring for one of the larger rooms it may be better value but we paid over $170 per night for a closet and a share of a bathroom down the corridor. Really poor value therefore but the location is good (and the restaurant is great).

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FlutemanPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Charming inn with decent rates in a convenient location off Connecticut Avenue near Du Pont Circle. This is not a slick hotel, but that is a relief. The restaurant is excellent. The clientele is friendly, as is the management. Try not to stay in rooms on the alley in the back: it is noisy.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

While the room (though cluttered) served its purpose as a base of operations - it's located perfectly for the White House, Washington Monument et al - the service for which the US is famed is sadly lacking. On check-in, after a surly swipe of the credit card, we had to then carry four suitcases up two flights of incredibly narrow stairs with no assistance. Not the worst place I've ever stayed by a long way, but I'd go elsewhere just for a smile and some assistance from the reception staff.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Woody E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
#80 of 142 in Washington DC
1,286 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Mansion on O Street
The Mansion on O Street
#116 of 142 in Washington DC
121 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#60 of 142 in Washington DC
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Dupont Circle
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Dup...
#107 of 142 in Washington DC
361 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#25 of 142 in Washington DC
3,194 reviews
Upper Northwest
Residence Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Residence Inn Washington, DC Dow...
#98 of 142 in Washington DC
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tabard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabard Inn

Address: 1739 N Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-2801
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range: $151 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tabard Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comprising a trio of late-1800s townhouses, this traditionally furnished hotel is a 6-minute walk from the Metro and 1 mile from the Walter E. Washington Convention Center. The elegant, antiques-filled rooms are individually decorated, and provide free Wi-Fi. Some have private bathrooms or sitting areas. Rooms are stair-access only. Continental breakfast is included, as is access to a nearby gym. There's also a bar and lounge with occasional live jazz, plus a New American restaurant with a seasonal menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Tabard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing