We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely, but quirky, hotel for a small conference” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center
Ranked #86 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely, but quirky, hotel for a small conference”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

I stayed at the Westin City Center for three days in June 2014. Apart from my room not being ready when I arrived at check-in time (a minor annoyance), the stay was lovely. I was privileged to be assigned to a suite because of my role in planning the conference that I was attending, so I had it good. Oddly, however, the suites face on the lobby and the lobby door has an audio feature that, were I not a "city girl" who screens out white noise, might have been my undoing. But it only bothered me when I was awake and in my room (i.e., not for long).

The ballroom floors are set up in a bizarre, tiered way, and both the lowest function floor and the mezzanine function rooms are not connected to the other function-room floors by stairs or an escalator. This means that conference organizers should plan sufficient "passing time" in between sessions. Sadly, we did not do that.

But the renovations make the hotel very modern and attractive, and I like the apples and free bottled water in the room. And the gym is small, but nice. Overall, a pleasant place to stay. Note that it is a five-block walk to the Metro, so for some, that may make it inaccessible by Metro.

Room Tip: Suite face on the lobby, which can be noisy.
See more room tips
Green Features: I would like to see in-room recycling. But that's true of most hotels I stay at . . . .
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heminway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    294
    134
    56
    33
See reviews for
191
166
32
333
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

This was my first trip to Washington. The hotel is recently renovated and it looks beautiful. Check-in went smoothly. When I noticed I was being put on the 3rd floor I asked if they could do better. My room was then changed to the top floor. Thank you Glenn. My next encounter was with Tiffany, the concierge, who had a bubbling personality - perfect for a concierge. I told her what I liked and she made several suggestions on the sites I should see. I did purchase a tour from her in which she needed to see my identification. Since I already had it out from the check-in it was easy to give to Tiffany.

I spent the day sightseeing and did not return to the hotel until 11:30PM. I was exhausted. But when I walked in my room I could see a food tray that wasn't there when I left. It was a cake with 'Happy Birthday' on it and a card from Tiffany! What a way to end the day. It made a great day go over the top!

Although she was not the first one to look at my identification; Tiffany took the time to notice it was my birthday. And it's that attention to detail that makes Tiffany a valuable asset to the Westin Washington. Thank you Tiffany!!

Green Features: This Westin has a living wall in it's lobby!! Live plants appearing to grow on the wall. A great touch.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3687996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stokesdale, NC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

Stayed here this past weekend. The place is immaculate, the staff friendly, and location perfect!
From the time we arrived until we checked out...and left our bags and car in their care we felt like we were the only guest being taken care of....Royal treatment.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tch469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed for a weekend and, after a leak in the original room, were offered a larger room for the inconvenience. The staff were responsive and friendly and the hotel is located near some good food places and coffee shops. It is within walking distance to all the attractions and offers a comfortable bed at the end of the day. We ask for a room facing outwards as the majority face into the lobby which is rather fish-bowly to me. Only down point really is the charge for wifi in the room. It's time hotels got over this! Overall, a nice pick for the weekend and I would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirsty8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

I stayed here on a Saturday night when I was in town for a wedding. It's definitely a business hotel, so it was pretty quiet and calm on the weekend which was nice, and it allowed us to get a very reasonable rate. It's a 12-15 minute walk to the White House, and sits on Thomas Circle which is quite lovely in its own right (a few historic buildings to look at). I was impressed by the little extras, namely two free water bottles, a robe (or 2?) to wear, and Starbucks coffee in the room. The bed was huge and supremely comfortable. I loved that checkout was noon, and that the front desk was very accommodating when we needed to check out even later than that (granted, that's another perk of staying a business hotel on a weekend - can't say what it would be like on a weekday). Yes, it looks like a typical chain hotel, so it's not recommended for someone who is looking for a boutique experience. My only complaint was that some rooms face the central atrium and don't have any exterior windows, so you have to choose between having the curtain open (towards the atrium) for light, or closing it for privacy (with no light). I had to go around the room and turn on each lamp separately because I wanted to close the curtain but still have light (technology in the rooms is a bit on the older side in that regard - no central button for all lights, outlets were under the desk and hard to reach, no fancy alarm clock or docking system).

Room Tip: If you care about having natural light, request a room that faces the exterior instead of the atrium...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OysterJennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

Stayed at this hotel during a conference at the Convention Center (several blocks away). This is a really nice part of DC, and much more livable and safe than even 3 or 4 years ago. Short distance to many major attractions and the concierge is very helpful. Starbucks on-site.
The room was very nice, with a large sitting area and very modern facilities, including a bathrobe and high-end toiletries. The mini-bar refrigerator had room for outside purchases, and there was also a safe in the closet. Nice 'view' of the interior courtyard and very quiet.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Candice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Really enjoyed our stay at this Westin! The room was very nice and comfortable. It was a tad small for two people but everything was very nice. The staff were very nice. The hotel is designed as a courtyard with the windows looking out into the interior lobby.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twosacharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Loews Madison Hotel
#75 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,102 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan
Kimpton Donovan
#34 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,550 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Residence Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Residence Inn Washington, DC Dow...
#87 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
#65 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,806 reviews
Dupont Circle
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White House
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White ...
#51 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Property: The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center
Address: 1400 M St. NW, between 15th Street NW & Thomas Circle NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Formerly Wyndham Washington)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#72 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#76 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center is a luxury hotel located 5 blocks from the Convention Center and the White House. Our hotel is near 2 metro stations and has 19,000+ sq ft of event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Washington, Dc City Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Washington Dc City Center
Washington Dc Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing