We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great inn for visitors to DC needing homey atmosphere, Metro access” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Woodley Park Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Woodley Park Guest House
Ranked #3 of 37 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
498 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Great inn for visitors to DC needing homey atmosphere, Metro access”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

This guest house is in top condition, just off Connecticut Avenue in Woodley Park, just a few steps from Metro. Breakfast only is served, and the owner and staff are very helpful. Beautiful neighborhood and safe enough to return via bus or Metro late at night. Great choice of restaurants within easy walking distance, as is the National Zoo. Adams Morgan with its restaurants and clubs is an easy 10-minute walk away.

Room Tip: Check carefully with staff when booking since some rooms have share bathrooms and are priced accordi...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank LisandroVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    35
    4
    5
    3
See reviews for
57
151
103
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
139 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

We're on an extended road trip and are staying only in B and B's. There is a reason this one is rated so well by the Tripadvisor community. The location is great - close to the zoo, subway, Dupont Circle, walkable restaurants and easy to get a taxi. It is close to Connecticut Street which is a main artery, but far enough away to not hear any noise (totally quiet at night). While the house has been gutted and refitted as a hotel, meaning the interior has none of the original details - our room is on the larger side with a rocking view of the gardens across the street. All textiles are high end - great sheets, towels, etc. and beautifully decorated in a mix of antiques with cool original, funky art. The staff is helpful and nice. Free Wifi and on site parking, too. This has to be one of the best values in DC.

Room Tip: Room 122 has a lovely bay window that faces a very nice garden in a great walking neighborhood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank margo b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Absolutely loved our stay here!! Staff was extremely friendly and helpful!! The owners treat u like family. Our room was tastefully decorated and the bed was extremely comfortable. The location was great, right near the metro and near awesome restaurants. The breakfast was superb!! We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank landonsmom22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We had an excellent stay here. A couple of minor distractions first. Lower level room (107)means basement with a view of a wall and quite small. It's a nice room in all respects, just don't be disconcerted by the location-quiet!!! The air conditioner didn't work properly the first night and was fixed immediately. This has happened in our house too so we felt right at home.

The really good news regards the owners and desk staff. All of them are delightful and very concerned about you as a person and making your trip worthwhile. They were extremely helpful to a couple of folks who are not D.C. veterans. The breakfast was good but not extraordinary as we've experienced in other B & Bs across the country but the table company was great and international. Above all, this place provides a fine alternative to high priced, sometimes noisy, and almost always hectic hotels.

Make sure to visit the National Cathedral which is close by. Awesome services and tours. Touring Annapolis and the Naval Acadmey is also impressive.

Travel a lot? Try the Sooke Harbor House, Flagstone Meadows Ranch and some of the B & Bs in Charleston.

Room Tip: Call and ask. These folks are a great help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daniel_baker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springville, Alabama, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

This was my first experience at a B&B. The Woodley Park Guest House is on my "will always stay there wahen in D.C." list. It is so comfortable...it was like coming home after a long day at a conference. Courtney (owner) greets you at every breakfast and takes a personal interest in you (and remembers your name after the first meeting!) Ingrid was such a great morning hostess. Although she is quiet, her attention to your needs cannot be beat. And, although I know she is ready to graduate from school soon...Janet was such an entertaining hostess in the evenings. She not only manned the desk, but spent time personally engaging with the guests (yet not intruding on those who wanted quiet). She knew right away I was gluten intolerant and talked about how the morning menu was improved to meet needs of people with special diet needs. If you want comfort and pampering...this is definitely the place!

Room Tip: I was on third floor with a beautiful view of the street. Although I shared a shower in the hall, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

I am a fan of bed and breakfast options; but not for business. I ended up staying at the Woodley because my conference hotel was not available. It was a great surprise because it was very quiet, very private, and truly charming. The staff was very helpful and accommodating, the breakfast was fresh and healthy, and my room was large and comfortable. And while I am a self-confessed television addict; the quiet was a peaceful change. I encourage you to give it a try for business or pleasure!

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

Four of us Mom’s stayed at the Beautiful Woodley Park Bed & Breakfast from July 19 till July 22. We were in DC for the National Downs Syndrome Congress with our adult Downs Syndrome kids. Our kids stayed at a different site. They wanted to show their independence from us. We loved staying at the Woodley B&B. Courtney and her whole staff were so friendly and so helpful to us. The rooms were really nice and quite. The breakfasts were really like a family was eating together. Everyone felt like we were friends and by the time we left on our last day we had made so many friends from all over the world. Courtney and her staff would sit and talk with us and helped us so much with things to do and see in DC. They even helped us plan a dinner together with our adult Downs Syndrome kids.
It was so nice to go back to the Woodley B&B every evening to the peace and quite after long hectic and busy days. So peaceful to get a cookie and cup of coffee and sit on the beautiful front porch of the Woodley B&B. I sure miss sitting on that porch!!!!!!

Room Tip: I would say all the rooms would be great!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1944Sara16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#63 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,130 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Normandy Hotel
#25 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Upper Northwest
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
#101 of 140 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodley Park Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodley Park Guest House

Property: Woodley Park Guest House
Address: 2647 Woodley Rd NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-4105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodley Park Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Woodley Park inn is located in downtown Washington DC, convenient to everything you want to see and do in the Nation's Capital. Just steps to the Metro, and a short walk from the National Zoo and Adam's Morgan, in safe and historic Woodley Park, our bed and breakfast in Washington DC is ideally located for business or leisure travelers. Relax in comfortable and beautifully furnished rooms at our Washington DC B&B and enjoy a delicious complimentary breakfast, newspapers and Internet access. If you are looking for an outstanding District of Columbia bed and breakfast, come experience world-class accommodations and hospitality at our Woodley Park Guest House! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Woodley Park Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodley Park Guest House Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing