We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Most Fun Place to Visit in DC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Mansion on O Street
Ranked #116 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We took our 2 granddaughters to the Mansion for lunch/tour as a high-school graduation present.
They were delighted and we had a wonderful experience. We arrived at Noon and were seated immediately for lunch. Our car was VIP parked for us, which was especially nice. Our lunch was exceptional, and of course the atmosphere was thrilling. There is so much to see and discover in the Mansion, it was difficult to pull ourselves away! You've got to experience it yourself in order to believe it!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oconnorlb65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
There are newer reviews for The Mansion on O Street
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 121 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2014

We received a gift certificate for the Mansion on O as a wedding gift, which we redeemed last weekend. I could not say enough nice things about this lovely and unique hotel, our kind and attentive hosts, and their amazing and friendly staff. When we arrived, we were greeted by Ted, one of the owner/founders, who gave us a great tour of the mansion. We had a fun chat with him about music (the Deja Vu room plays all unreleased versions and samples of classic artists, for instance - when he heard my husband played the guitar, Ted played a sample of Jimmy Page working on "Stairway to Heaven" - fantastic). We were then shown several potential guest rooms available to us, each lovely and unique in its own way, and were allowed to pick which room we would like (we chose "The Fifth Dimension"). We had a blast exploring and a wonderful night's sleep - I enjoyed the jacuzzi tub whilst my husband luxuriated in the huge walk-in shower with 3 jets. The location is great, short walk to Dupont Circle and lots of fun bars and restaurants. We savored the fabulous Sunday brunch buffet which was offered to us at half price since we were hotel guests. Then we went on the 4 floor scavenger hunt which we both got a huge kick out of (found *almost* everything!) We also found a lot of books and some other knick-knacks to take home with us (everything in the mansion is for sale). I could go on and on. Highly recommended to anyone. We hope to make it a yearly pilgrimage. Next time I am going to bring my swimsuit so I can enjoy their gorgeous saltwater pool.

Room Tip: The air handler in the "Fifth Dimension" is quite loud. I don't know about the other...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Splinda62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

This is a kind of museum. You can book a room and stay there, but we went just for the afternoon. 100 rooms and 72 secret doors - well, we only found about 8 of them, but we sure had fun looking. 5 former row houses joined together as one mansion, with an absolutely amazing assortment of antiques, old books, memorabilia, and junk decorating every inch. Everything without a heartbeat is for sale; proceeds go to support artists. We went just to sightsee, but next time I want to go for Sunday brunch. Like a gigantic flea market in a funhouse. $10 entrance fee. Reserve online.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
5  Thank picturegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

This Hotel is a breathe of fresh air from a conventional Hotel. Hotels when they first stared all were run the Way H and Ted run this place. Amazing service, food and lots of great surprises are filled in this mansion.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BenkNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

This was a perfect way to end our “surprise wedding” weekend at the Mansion on O Street. We invited about 20 friends and family to join us for Sunday Brunch on the morning after. We were seated at one very long table in the main room where we, just 12 hours earlier, had our wedding and reception. (These guys must never sleep!). Special shout out to Eric who greeted us when we arrived to check into our room, and Andres who was our main point-of-contact before, during, and after our event. The staff, overall, is terrific.

I’ve been to any number of brunch spreads before but this one is unprecedented, in my book. There is very large breakfast station and an even larger lunch station in another room. Many of the features you have seen before—omelet station (My Aunt Joyce proclaimed it to be the “best omelet ever!”), fruits, pastries, breads, salad, breakfast and luncheon meats, etc., but the quantity, quality, and diversity of the offerings was what our crowd loved the most. Mac & Cheese with bacon? Yes, please! Chocolate fountain? Don’t mind if I do! Plus: unlimited Mimosas. All of it delicious. The brunch is $45 a person which may seem a bit high, but for what you get as well as the reason you would go (for a special occasion like a birthday, anniversary, graduation, Mother’s Day, etc.) it’s perfect. And be honest: you really only do a big sprawling Sunday brunch every so often, so go for it!

The Mansion is, without a doubt, the most unusual hotel in DC. The entire place is a riot of art and artifacts, almost all of it for sale. Miss USA's tiara? A guitar autographed by Bob Dylan? Yes, and yes. Thousands and thousands of books, records, and pieces of whatnot are in every nook and cranny. The rooms range from large to enormous (as do the prices), but the experience is unforgettable. The bed we stayed in was very comfortable, and the amenities were good, as well. Nice and ample toiletries. The Mansion does not have an "on demand" restaurant or bar like most hotels, but it does havd a full kitchen (and bar) for parties or other events. If you want to wow your family, friends, and guests with an event that no one will soon forget, consider holding it at the Mansion.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank daveb84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We had a perfect time at the Mansion. Everything from Eric taking such care with us when we arrived to the final bringing of our car around when we left could have hardly been better. I am sure we have never had an experience like this before. I am sure we have never been to a place that engaged us in such an interesting way. Lots of rooms to explore, secret doors to find and great art work to see.

Our room, hidden behind a secret door had more than the comforts of home and provided a special place for us to relax and prepare for our company's party at the Mansion that night.

Our company holiday party at the Mansion was the best party ever. The food was delicious, the entertainment was just right and the Mansion was the perfect setting for all of us to have fun and enjoy great time to be together!

Thanks to Ted and H for "puttin on the ritz" for us!

David and Beverly North

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique and interesting. We had the Fireplace room and it was the best!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We had a fabulous time at the Mansion on O Street. The mansion is so cool and we loved the treasure hunt. We only found 7 of the 30-something secret doors! The Drag show was outstanding. All the entertainers were great, but the first one was remarkable. Her comedic talent made the crowd bowl over with laughter and her singing and dancing made her shine. The comedy in the show was unlike all other shows I've seen. We will be back and we will bring friends. Thanks for a super evening!
Also, for those who don't want to drive in DC, it's only a block south of the Dupont Metro.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
3  Thank bethlovescats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Dupont Circle
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Dup...
#107 of 141 in Washington DC
361 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#61 of 141 in Washington DC
1,263 reviews
Dupont Circle
Oakwood At The Flats At Dupont
Oakwood At The Flats At Dupont
#126 of 141 in Washington DC
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Row Hotel
The Embassy Row Hotel
#87 of 141 in Washington DC
1,352 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
#73 of 141 in Washington DC
1,285 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#25 of 141 in Washington DC
3,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mansion on O Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansion on O Street

Address: 2020 O St NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-5912
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $399 - $857 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mansion on O Street 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With over 100 rooms and 70 secret doors, The Mansion is one of the most unique properties in the world. Conveniently located in historic Dupont Circle, within walking distance to Embassy Row and The Philips Collection - The Mansion offers short and long term lodging, world-class cuisine and an inspiring environment that will create lasting memories for everyone that visits. Our ever-changing spaces are ideal for executive lodging, meetings,retreats, private dining, receptions and more. The Mansion has 23 uniquely themed guest rooms, suites, and residences; a two story Log Cabin, John Lennon Suite, Safari room, a hidden wine cellar and more. Named a Washingtonian Magazine's Hidden Gem, The Mansion has been featured on the Travel Channel's "Mega Mansions" as well as numerous books, and magazines including National Geographic Traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Mansion on O Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansion On o Street Hotel Washington Dc
Mansion On o Street Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing