We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always my first choice when in DC. Close...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton George Hotel
Ranked #21 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Jonesboro, Arkansas
2 reviews
“Always my first choice when in DC. Close...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2010

Always my first choice when in DC. Close to the Senate office buildings and Union Station as well. An excellent upscale hotel at a reasonable Capitol Hill price.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wwhite1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,365
    545
    141
    33
    23
See reviews for
505
636
162
555
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2010

We had a great time staying at the Hotel George (we are a fan of all the Kimpton Properties). We stayed for 4 nights with our 3 yr. old and our 1.5 yr. old. The gals LOVED their Kimpton Kid's backpacks with lots of great ideas for kids (and their parents) staying in DC! The hotel is wonderful - staff, rooms, location! WE loved the Hotel George for our DC trip! Thanks Kimpton Group for another fun vacation! Now you'll have to open a hotel up in Memphis, TN (where we moved 2.5 yrs. ago from DC!)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karenlynneu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Director of Sales at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2010
General Manager: Thank you for your Amazing comments. Having 4 children of my own I was very happy to hear that your children had a great experience. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Have a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2010

My wife and I travel to DC on business frequently and this hotel is very convenient to Capital Hill and the House/Senate offices. The Hotel itself is at best, average in most ways. The rooms are nothing to get excited about, although it was relatively clean throughout. One distinct negative was very frequent interuptions by the housekeeping staff. They knocked once at 8:30pm, "just to make sure everything was OK." Another time they knocked at 7am with a razor that someone else ordered.

Noisewise, although we were at the back of the building on the 7th floor the street noise/sirens were very loud, double pane windows as found in other hotels would have helped this issue.

High speed internet was free and reliable which was a plus.

A three star hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mdcbooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2010
General Manager: Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback. I take all comments provided to us very seriously and will take the appropriate action after I have done a thorough investigation. Our rooms are equipped with double pane soundproofing windows to quiet down the sometimes urban noises that all big cities experience from time to time.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, NC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2010

As a couple who have always enjoyed visiting DC, first from Connecticut and now from North Carolina, we have stayed in a number of good hotels. The Hotel George is the shiniest jewel of them all. We initially chose it due to its convenience (1 1/2 blocks) to Union Station, but we discovered it was convenient to many places - the Mall, the Capitol, Pennsylvania Avenue, museums. We also found out, to our great pleasure, that the hotel is a beautiful boutique hostelry that offers great service, courtesy and comfort. As a major plus, its restaurant the Bistro Bis is one of the top dining establishments in the city - excellent service only exceeded by the excellence and preparation of the food. Now, all of our visits to Washington start and end at the Hotel George.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enchantme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2010

A very pleasant find. Stay in DC quite a bit on business and found the personal service at this hotel to be a big step over other similar level hotels. Spacious rooms, comfortable beds, and a great restaurant. I had a problem with my contact lenses and was asking for a drug store close to the hotel, and within seconds the front desk brought out the supplies I needed. Very helpful and accomodating. Will definately stay again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ssh2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2010

I have stayed at the Hotel George many times-most recently this week. They have a good government rate and it is very close (easy walking distance) to Union Station (Train and metro station). It is within easy walking distance to the Senate side of Capitol Hill and not bad to the House side--if it's a pretty day, good weather and you aren't in a hurry. It is also a safe place (in my experience) . The entire hotel is non-smoking--which is really nice. They give you a $10 coupon for the mini-bar, which is a nice plus. I've always found it clean, quiet, and the staff, especially Michael, impeccably polite, gracious and they go out of their way to be helpful. Bistro Bis is next door--shares the lobby with Hotel George. Expensive but good French food. For tourists, it's a good central location, especially if you are planning to use metro since you are so close to Union Station. Union station has lots of places to eat--a broad spectrum--retail, including Barnes & Noble. Plus it's just a neat place to walk around if you've never seen it. I always try to stay here on my frequent trips to D.C. if they have availability.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank virginian30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2010

I especially appreciate always being greated by Michael Love. He has a warm and comforting attitude that makes me smile and starts the day right.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monkur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Phoenix Park Hotel
#12 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#104 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton George Hotel

Property: Kimpton George Hotel
Address: 15 E Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton George Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Capitol Hill near Union Station, The Kimpton George Hotel stands out as one of the most stylish boutique hotels in Washington DC. This luxury hotel offers celebrity appeal, impeccable service and extraordinary value in an ideal location. The Kimpton George Hotel, at the nucleus of Capitol Hill's business district, is steps from Union Station and the U.S. Capitol Building and a short walk from the National Mall, Smithsonian Museums, and the U.S. House of Representatives and Senate Office Buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Hotel George Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing