We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Find for Foodies & Train Travelers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton George Hotel
Ranked #20 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Boston
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What a Find for Foodies & Train Travelers”
Reviewed June 4, 2009

Fabulous and stylish hotel, fantastic staff, and hotel houses Bistro Bis (French bistro/restaurant) which was SO good that we ate there 3 times in 3 days. I usually avoid hotel restaurants but this one was spectacular for each and every meal. After reading the newspaper reviews (going back many years) on the restaurant corridor walls, I learned that Bill Clinton frequented Bistro Bis, as well as many other celebrities. No wonder. Despite this attention, the restaurant and the hotel are not overly formal, especially for breakfast and lunch. (Fellow lunch goers were in nice shorts, for instance.) Hotel George is 5 min walk from Union (Rail and Metro) Station and the Capitol Building which made it extremely convenient for train travelers like us. We arrived at 10:30 am and they let us check into our room which was a huge plus for a couple traveling from Boston for a weekend getaway. I would go out of my way to stay in this hotel again, first for the food, and second for the plush, comfy room.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twareBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimpton_DC, Reservations Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2009
Hello twareBoston.

Thank you for staying with us. I am glad you thought our hotel was fabulous and stylish and that you really liked the staff. I know they will be happy to hear that news! It seems you really liked the restaurant and ate there no less that 3 times in 3 days. The restaurant is great!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,373
    546
    142
    33
    23
See reviews for
506
636
163
561
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St.Petersburg, FL
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2009

I love Kimpton hotels for the uniqueness and high standards of quality. The Hotel George is a boutique hotel that not only feels trendy, but warm and wecoming. The rooms are stylish and comforting. The staff was professional and helpful in guiding us with our stay. Our room had a beautiful marble-lined bath as well as the Kimpton's standard, luxurious triple-sheeted beds. The attached restaurant, Bistro Bis was excellent, serving french inspired fare to guests and locals.
Hotel George is only about a block from Union Station and the Capitol dome reigns over your walk. With the many restaurants in Union Station, The Dubliner Irish Pub around the block, Bistro Bis as well as other restaurants within walking distance the convenience of the Metro seemed redundant. We did not want to leave!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodTramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimpton_DC, Reservations Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2009
Hello FoodTramp,

Thank you for the kind words about Kimpton Hotels. We are happy to be part of it. I know the staff will be happy to hear that their professionalism and helpfulness was not missed on you. Thank you for staying and please come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2009

My fiance and I stayed at The Hotel George Memorial Day weekend from 5/22 to 5/24. We took the Greyhound Bus from NYC to DC and from the bus station it was about a 15 minute walk to the hotel which was very convenient. We arrived at the hotel at about 5:30pm and at check-in, the guy at the front desk was pleasant and check-in was quick. We had reserved a King Deluxe room and were given a room on the fourth floor. The room was very clean and the bathroom was laid out nicely with a shower and granite countertops. Honestly we felt that the room was nice but on the small side. We didn't have much of a view from our window, which was nothing more than a view of the other rooms on the other side of the hotel. We all had to have our blinds drawn all the time or else we'd be watching each other. We had to admit though, it was quiet on this side of the hotel since we didn't face street traffic.

The hotel was about a 15 minute walk to Chinatown and to museums. On our first night, we walked to Chinatown and ate at The Wok N Roll which we ate at the last time we were in DC and it was just as good as we remembered and it was busy. The walk back to the hotel at night was okay. It was a very quiet stretch of road except for the occasional homeless person, passing car and random tourist. It seemed pretty safe though and no one bothered us. Our second day we walked to have lunch at Ella's Wood Fired Pizza. It was just okay for me. I ordered the marinara pizza and found it to be pretty bland and tasteless. My fiance ordered the pepperoni pizza which I tasted and it was much better than my marinara. They really need to do something about the tomato sauce they use. This once again proved that there is nothing like a good slice of NYC pizza.

The Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden was fantastic and we had a good time there. The giant spider sculpture in front was creepy and yet really cool. The NSA Sculpture Garden was also fun. Our last museum visit was to the National Musum of Natural History which was crowded but great. The dinosaur, underwater and mammal exhibits were really fun and informative.

The Hotel George was a nice little hotel located close to all the sights. The staff were friendly and helpful and even though our room was small, it was comfortable. The shower was great (thought the water pressure could have been stronger) and there was never a problem with hot water. The plasma tv was also nice and there was plenty of storage space for clothes in the dresser. The bed was very comfortable and there was plenty of light/lamps in the room. Usually we find that hotel rooms don't provide enough lights which make rooms appear very dark but this wasn't a problem here at all. The free wifi was also a nice touch.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlooBunnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimpton_DC, Reservations Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2009
Good day BlooBunnie.

I see you stayed for Memorial Day Weekend and took the bus into Union Station. You’re right Union Station is just minutes walk from our hotel. That was good planning indeed. I see you took advantage of the location and visited many local DC areas and neighborhoods. It is nice to be down town and easily accessible to different places. Thank you for staying and please come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berea, Ohio
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2009

Thanks to Hotwire, we were able to stay Saturday and Sunday at this boutique hotel for $98/night. We liked...
*friendliness of the staff, especially Michael;
*check in was very quick, and we were able to do so at 10 a.m. as our room was ready;
*Warholian George Washington paintings;
*minimalist, all creamy white and modern, room decor;
*spacious bathrooms with black granite and marble (but why no fan which made it a little steamy?);
*duvet-covered bed with the softest Egyptian cotton sheets;
*seating area with a lounge chair and ottoman plus an ergonomically designed chair at the black granite-topped desk;
*plenty of drawers and closet space to organize your belongings. In the closet there were also slipper socks, an umbrella and a safe, but we had quite a laugh imagining ourselves in the zebra and leopard print terry robes;
*complimentary New York Times;
*32-inch plasma-screen television.
$40/night parking is high to us Ohioans, but my husband opted for the convenience rather than $19/day at nearby Union Station. Location was fine for walking to Newseum and National Gallery and for dinner at Matchbox on G Street. Used Metro from Union Station to get to Kennedy Center and took cab back that night.
Some reviewers have mentioned the homeless along E Street, but we didn't find anything intimidating in the situation. In fact, for breakfast before departing on Monday, we patronized New Course on E Street at the corner of Third. Made-to-order omelets for $3.75! Besides its affordablility, as a patron of New Course you become part of a community effort to provide culinary arts training for low income and homeless persons.
We'd be quite happy to return to Hotel George the next time we visit DC and be sure to plan a visit to the Capitol Building then.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat_Picks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimpton_DC, Reservations Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2009
Hello Pat_Picks!

Thanks for the nice comments. I know Michael, our ever knowledgeable concierge, will be pleased he much such a good impression. I am glad you were able to get an early check in and enjoyed the room and décor once you got up to your room. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and I hope you are able to return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level Contributor
71 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2009

Won this hotel through priceline, paid $70, what a bargain for DC. The hotel is located a few minutes from Union Station.

On arrival we asked the staff about about parking and he said the hotel parking was available, I asked about street parking and he said anywhere over the weekend was free so thats what we did and saved us a packet. The last day we parked at Union Station which was hald the price of the hotel.

We walked to the White House which was about 20 minutes away and also attended a concert at the Verizon Center which was about a 10 minute walk. For the first 5 minutes of the walk the area is not the best as you bump into several homeless people and another who asked if he could "help us out", tourist info maybe???? I would say that during the day it was not a problem but at night its a different story.

There is free wifi at the hotel which works very well, we did not eat at the adjoining restaurant as it was quite expensive. The staff at the hotel were excellent waving when they saw us coming back to the hotel, very friendly and helpful. The room was a good size but had a shower and no tub.

Would I pay full price, yes probably but would more than likely take my chance on priceline again. I have nothing but good things to say about the hotel itself.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank broooce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimpton_DC, Reservations Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2009
Hello Broooce!

Thanks for visiting us. I am glad that you got a good price and were able to enjoy the hotel and the surrounding neighborhood. I know everyone will be glad to hear that their waves and smiles were appreciated by you. Thanks for staying and please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel George for a four-day weekend in mid-April and happened to hit spectacular weather and flowers. I chose the Hotel George for its combination of location (just a couple blocks from Union Station, which means you don't need a car if you fly into National), reasonable (for DC) price (booked on the web from the hotel's site), and because we have stayed at a couple of other Kimpton hotels and liked them.
I asked for a quiet room, and we got one on the interior, which meant no view, but who cares when you've been out seeing the sights all day? The room was indeed quiet (I'm a light sleeper), comfortable, and clean.
We didn't use any of the hotel services other than having one dinner at the hotel restaurant (Bistro Bis) because it was convenient for a preconcert dinner. The meal was lovely--excellent service, good wine recommendation, and very flavorful preparations (fish and lamb).

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SantaFean-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimpton_DC, Reservations Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2009
Hello SantaFean-7,

I am glad that you were able to stay with us over such a beautiful weekend when the weather was nice and the flowers were in bloom. DC is a really pretty city to walk through with wide pavements, flowers potted everywhere, and tree lined avenues. Thanks for staying and please come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2009

We stayed at the Hotel George for two nights during a trip to DC. Its in a great location, near Union station and capital. Its an easy walk to both. Extremely nice hotel, comfortable beds, we had two rooms that adjoined. The staff was great and very helpful. The Concierge, Michael, was very helpful over the phone. The restaurant is extremely expensive so we ate at Union station most evenings. Weekends are quiet in the city so we got a great deal on the rooms. If you go to DC use the metro when you can its safe and clean. Also wear comfortable shoes you walk everywhere in DC.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bargin gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2009
Thank you for your response and confirming our great location. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

General Manager
Hotel George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Phoenix Park Hotel
#19 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington ...
#98 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#100 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton George Hotel

Property: Kimpton George Hotel
Address: 15 E Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton George Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Capitol Hill near Union Station, The Kimpton George Hotel stands out as one of the most stylish boutique hotels in Washington DC. This luxury hotel offers celebrity appeal, impeccable service and extraordinary value in an ideal location. The Kimpton George Hotel, at the nucleus of Capitol Hill's business district, is steps from Union Station and the U.S. Capitol Building and a short walk from the National Mall, Smithsonian Museums, and the U.S. House of Representatives and Senate Office Buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Hotel George Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing