We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Convenient, and Cost-Effective”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton George Hotel
Ranked #20 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Clean, Convenient, and Cost-Effective”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We spent 3 delightful nights at this very clean and convenient Kimpton hotel. It was our first stay here and our first in a Kimpton in about 10 years. The excellent service and friendliness of staff were just as we remembered for this chain.

Our room (805 – queen on top floor facing E St.) was spotless. The bed was very comfortable – good firmness but not too hard. The bathroom was spacious with good water pressure in the shower. The room included a free safe, mini-bar (with usual prices), Keurig coffee maker, and decent size closet with a dozen or so hangers. The room had a comfortable accent chair, desk with comfortable chair, and a large flat screen TV. While the room was not overly large, it did accommodate a very comfortable cot (with solid frame and mattress) for our 11 year old grandchild.

The hotel is a 5 min. walk from Union Station which allowed us to travel to DC by train and avoid the hassle of driving in the city. The metro at Union Station made connecting to other parts of the City very easy, although walking to the Capitol, Ford’s Theater, and the Smithsonian Museums was also easy.

A great breakfast place (The Corner Bakery) was a 1 min. walk down E St. and there was a good selection of restaurants (including a number in Union Station) in the area.

We scored a great weekend rate of $120/night (AAA), which we celebrated each evening between 5 and 6 at the Kimpton free wine hour!

All-in-all, this is a great location for enjoying the sights of DC.

Room Tip: Top floor (8) was very quiet with no street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tslthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you, tslthree, for taking the time to write such a lovely review! We're happy to hear about your stay and glad the whole bunch was comfortable in your city boutique room. We hope this means we'll see you all again soon!

Cheers,
Kiah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,387
    549
    143
    34
    25
See reviews for
512
642
164
568
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Excellent modern hi-tech style hotel. Location is 5-7 min from the Union Station and c.15 min from Capitol. Perfect choice if you travel to / from DC by train. The only problem it is quite far from most attractions / restaurants. The price is high but not reasonable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leonid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Hey Leonid B, we really appreciate your review! Thanks for taking a minute to outline our perfect features.

Cheers,
Kiah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stayed here twice at the end of June and July 4th weekend. First, we like Kimptons for the rewards program which gives you free wifi and amenities. This property is very convenient (10-15 min)to the Capitol Hill area and 2 blocks from Union Station. IT is also only 10-15 min safe walk from the Mall, Museums The lobby has comfortable sitting chairs and refreshing water- along with a welcome wine reception . Blair in the front desk was professional and willing to take the extra mile to make us feel special - she arranged a special wine gift with welcome strawberries and chocolate and water to help us celebrate our anniversary! We were in a room on the top floor in a quiet, updated room with a comfortable king bed, huge flat screen TV , comfy sitting chair and sparkling bathroom. The Keurig coffee was surprisingly rewarding. The Gym is small but functional but the area has wonderful running areas along the Mall and in Downtown DC. There are free Washington Post , Wall street Journal and New York Times in the lobby.
We returned over July 4th with our daughter and had an equally nice stay- our room had a queen and comfortable sofa bed on a high floor- did not appreciate much road noise or other hotel noise. We had a wonderfully delicious dinner in the hotel restaurant Bistro Bis which serves French/New American cuisine. There is a also a convenient causal bakery called Corner Bakery less than 1 block away for breakfast items or coffee. We were able to see the concert on the Capitol and Fireworks on the Mall within a 10 min walk from the hotel.
Only minor negatives would be the homeless shelter is 2-3 blocks away, as well as some fire station siren noise periodically. but this is a big city too.
We will definitely stay here again if being close to the Capitol or Union Station is in our plans

Room Tip: high room away from E street
See more room tips
Green Features: recycling bins in room Water saving Shower Energy Star applicances
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us! We're delighted to hear that you've stayed twice and enjoyed yourself twice, as well. If we do fit your plans, we'll be happy to offer another repeat performance, David.

Cheers,
Kiah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014

I stayed here for business for a week in July. First of all, the location is great for getting around town. If you're going to the Capitol Hill area, it's a 10-15 minute walk depending on which building is your destination. The Union Station metro stop is practically around the corner. If you're going to the K Street business district, the White House area or Georgetown, there's a Circulator bus stop very close to the hotel. The Circulator costs $1 and is really handy.

My room was on the 7th floor facing across E Street. It was spacious for one person, with a very comfortable king size bed, a desk, an easy chair with a cool large round ottoman, a Keurig coffee maker and a fridge. The fridge and drawers had the usual assortment of beverages and snacks. Two peeves: 1. There were no free water bottles provided in the room. 2. The fridge didn't have any extra room to store my own drinks or snacks. Re peeve #1, I ended up buying a bottle of water at Union Station and having the bartender downstairs in the hotel refill it with water every night. The public areas and hallways are not the most beautiful - a little dark and tired looking - but that wasn't significant to me.

I was not bothered by noise from E Street, which means either that it's a fairly quiet street or that my room was high up enough. Keep in mind that he rooms facing across E Street are also facing office buildings that are pretty close, since E Street is narrow. So if you want to stroll around naked in those rooms be sure the blinds are drawn. Or not, if you want to give the office workers a jolt.

The hotel's restaurant, Bistro Bis, has French and American food and is quite good. It's open for breakfast. lunch and dinner and also does the room service. I was happy with it and ended up eating there almost every day. The bar scene is friendly and fun.

The people at the front desk were very helpful about directions, the local public transportation (e.g. the Circulator bus) and generally getting me what I needed. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EyesGlazed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Thank you for your review, EyesGlazed. We're so glad you enjoyed yourself, especially by being a good neighbor to our friends across the street! Let us know please next time you'll be visiting. We will have the mini fridge cleared and water waiting for you.

Until then,
Kiah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

I cannot express fully what a great experience we had during our 2 night stay August 4-6. This was a family trip of 3 which included our 3 year old. First off he loved the treasure chest in the lobby and never turned down a staff member who wanted to see him open the treasure chest. The staff was all friendly, helpful and had a genuine concern that we enjoyed our time in DC. Kat at the front desk checked us in and was there each morning to answer any questions we had about visiting DC as this was our first trip to the city. Our two bed room was a good size in that we didn't feel crammed in a room with 2 beds. The bathroom was clean and beautifully done. We left thinking we want to redo our home shower like the one in the hotel room. We loved the decor themed around George Washington with all the pictures and artwork of our first president. We loved the decorative pillows in the room resembling his military uniform.
This hotel is in a great location if you arrive in DC at union station via Amtrak MARC or the metro. We purposely traveled without a desire to get a car and drag along a car seat. We successfully did so and didn't regret not having the ability to get in a car.

The hotel is very close to the east end of the mall and the Capitol. It made it nice to do a quick Capitol tour in the morning and still be able to check out and hop on a late morning train to BWI.

It was nice being Kimpton members and this hotel exceeded the already great experience at previous Kimpton properties that were all positive. Their member benefits are worthy of consideration.

We felt the hotel provided a great value and our only regret is that they continue to do such a great job that it makes it difficult to book a reservation in the future at this property.

Thank you for a great experience and keep up the outstanding work.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank AdamRiffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Would that all our guests shared your sole regret, AdamRiffe! Thank you so much for this excellent review of your time here. Please don't hesitate to contact us directly for your next booking. We'd love another chance to spoil your son.

Thanks again,
Kiah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We really loved this hotel. It's small and personal yet elegant and trendy. We stayed for 5 nights. Upon our arrival, we had a bit of a hiccup with the room and Blair at the front desk went way beyond expectations to rectify things and ensure we were satisfied. We were so very impressed with her quality of service! She's an absolute gem! The rest of the staff we dealt with while we were there were also extremely polite, friendly and client-oriented. The hotel is well situated. A nice little breakfast/ lunch (Corner Bakery Cafe) is a 1 minute walk from the hotel, although the restaurant within the hotel is really excellent. We were about a 5 minute walk from capitol hill, perfect. Also 5 minutes from Union station which was very handy. Only slight down side was that we didn't feel very comfortable walking around at night in the area. Not too many tourists walking around, mostly local homeless people. After a few nights there, we knew the area more and felt more comfortable. I'd certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoneyBear7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Blair really is one of our favorite Kimpton stars! We're so glad you discovered her, HoneyBear. We're equally glad that the rest of our team kept that standard for your stay. We're always thrilled when our guests are pleased.

Thank you,
Kiah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
246 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Upon arriving in DC 2 weeks ago, we promptly taxied to The Hotel George. What a simply amazing small boutique hotel. We had a newly refinished double room which was quite large and decorated handsomely in George Washington fashion (beds made up to like a uniform, writing on the walls from George and several pictures of him too). The beds, pillows and linens were extremely comfortable. The bath was large and nicely decorated as well. They even had a mini-fridge brought into the room for snacks and drinks for the family; this was in addition to the regular mini in the room. The staff was always friendly and helpful. The “wine” party at 5 was fun too. Mike makes the best sangria!!! The restaurant treated us to ice cream one night when we arrived home quite late and GD was disappointed that she didn’t get her ice cream before returning. Very nice touch!!! It is located only about a block away from Union Station and a couple from the Capitol building: PERFECT location. The Corner Bakery is also convenient and the food was delish and not expensive – ate there each morning. On our last day we were able to leave our bags after checkout to spend more time touring DC. If we ever return to the capitol, we will definitely stay at the George!

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor and had no issues with any noise from other rooms or outside traffic, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nala22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
We're so glad you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, nala22! We do try to make it perfect from start to finish. And every time! So we hope to see you again someday.

Cheers,
Kiah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Phoenix Park Hotel
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
258 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Capitol Hill Hotel
#10 of 141 in Washington DC
1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Sofitel Washington DC
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
3,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton George Hotel

Property: Kimpton George Hotel
Address: 15 E Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton George Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Capitol Hill near Union Station, The Kimpton George Hotel stands out as one of the most stylish boutique hotels in Washington DC. This luxury hotel offers celebrity appeal, impeccable service and extraordinary value in an ideal location. The Kimpton George Hotel, at the nucleus of Capitol Hill's business district, is steps from Union Station and the U.S. Capitol Building and a short walk from the National Mall, Smithsonian Museums, and the U.S. House of Representatives and Senate Office Buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Hotel George Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing