We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Wonderful stay at The George” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kimpton George Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Kimpton George Hotel
Ranked #18 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay at The George”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Was in DC for a meeting near Capitol Hill and stayed at The George. As a Kimpton Inner Circle member, I received a warm and genuine greeting at check-in and some very nice amenities in my upgraded suite. The room was large and extremely comfortable. I was allowed to check-out late after my meeting to relax before heading home. Enjoyed room service from Bistro Bis and was able to walk to Union Station for my trip home. This is my second stay at The George and will definitely be back when I have business near Capitol Hill.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMHNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at The Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thanks for your review, JMHNH. We're always glad to hear we've done well by our VIP guests, and even more delighted to welcome you back. See you then!

Cheers,
Kiah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,284
    522
    134
    31
    23
See reviews for
473
605
158
519
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

One of the few hotels that have 2 queen size beds in a room which is great for families. The money we saved on lodging we used on extravagant meals. Loved the complimentary wine bar from 5-6 after a long day of sightseeing. Service was fantastic and restaurant was delicious. Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at The Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Hurray, Thomas D! We're glad you were able to save something with us to put in your bellies instead. We hope that heartbeat does bring you back someday.

Cheers,
Kiah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

The hotel is not as big as they are shown on the pictures. The room sizes were ok although the first room we were given was really dark. Very early in the morning we were woken up by this high pitch sound, coming from the waterpipes as the next door was taking a shower. On top of that the AC works so noisy, you cannot possible sleep if it is on. We immediately called the front desk and they sent their mechanics. However, he had nothing to do there and then as the pipes had to be fixed in the other room. The front desk offered us complimentary breakfast (although we did not use) and the change of the room. They also assured us the noise will be fixed if we decide to stay in the room. We were not sold by that and requested to change the room (so packed everything again-not fun!). We were given a brighter and relatively larger room. There was no noise of the next door's pipes! BUT the AC was still as loud. We had to warm up the room the whole evening, so we could turn it off before we went to bed. It works like a truck.
We spent two nights in two seperate rooms and the AC was an issue in both rooms. Despite the professional and helpful attitude of the staff, the AC's should change right away. I cannot imagine sleeping in these rooms in summer.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank denizoskay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Front Office Manager at The Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Denizoskay,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The George and for your honest review. While I'm glad the service was on point, I'm sorry your stay was less than comfortable with the A/C noise. Our Engineering team is going room by room to assess/service the units and replace when necessary. If you find yourself in DC again, please shoot me a direct email so I can make your next stay extra special (clayton.smith@hotelgeorge.com).

Regards,
Clayton
..
Clayton Smith
Front Office Manager
The George, a Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
104 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Great situation near to Union Station. Very spacious bedroom, helpful staff, great restaurant. We liked the complimentary breakfast box arrangement (bagel, cream cheese, yogurt, juice, cereal bar) which we picked up from the front desk at our UK zone wake up time and could be showered and off by 7am to walk this fantastic city. Free glass of wine to revive our spirits at 6pm each evening. The restaurant is a little pricey but very good.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelbug57UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at The Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Sounds like you made the best of your time in DC, travelbug! We're so glad you spent it with us.

Thank you,
Kiah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Andover, Massachusetts
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We just got back from our stay of four nights at The George Hotel. There were three of us including my wife, my son and myself. We went for a combination 25th Anniversary trip and my son's first trip to DC. When we first arrived at the hotel, we unpacked the car and I had to go inside to alert the front desk that we had arrived and needed a porter. We had placed our name on a suite upgrade but did not get it, that was a bummer. We had asked for a high floor room with a view. We did get a high floor but the view was the office building across the street and literally right next to the housekeeping storage room. Also, nobody mentioned that the hotel is very near a fire station. we near had to set our alarm clock because, every morning that we were there, the fire engines always sounded there sirens as they went by our room.

As others have written, the hotel is beautiful and well appointed for a small hotel. The staff that we dealt with was friendly and sociable. The room was on the small side but the biggest downfall was the storage issue. We had one wardrobe case for three people. My son and I surrendered that to my wife and we lived out of our suitcases for the entire trip. For the most part, housekeeping was excellent but one day our towels were not replaced even though it was very clear that we needed them changed. Since we had gotten to DC by car, we had snack foods and tonic packed with us. We emptied the main part of the mini bar and used it for our cold items. That worked out nicely. The AC and ventilation was very noisy in our room and made it hard to sleep on a couple of occasions. As I stated earlier, our room was right next to the housekeeping storage room so, we were constantly bothered with the noise of the door opening and closing in the morning and sometimes at night. The pillows were much too soft, had to stack to use them. Bathroom was clean and bigger than I thought although one ceiling bulb was blown out.

The location of the hotel was pretty good. It is very near Union Station and not very far from the Capitol. The Smithsonian is a bit of a hike but most of the major monuments are not really walkable. We took a taxi to the farthest place that we wanted to go and worked our way back, getting a taxi if we needed it. Most times you need to flag a taxi down. The area that the hotel is in seems to still be making some transitions. Several times we ran into homeless people in front or next door that were more than a little pesky. The Corner Bakery is great and there are a number of eating options at Union Station. There are also two Irish Pubs around the corner that are excellent. Bistro Bis is not our thing so we did not eat there. I felt that a French Bistro is really not suited to a hotel that is named after an American President. Personally, we would have preferred a restaurant that served American comfort food or something in that vain...

All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed Washington DC although we were just not comfortable enough at The George to stay for our complete vacation. We checked out a day early and drove home. My wife uses Kimpton hotels when she travels for business. I don't think that we would use The George for another stay though. Also, beware if you use the valet overnight parking. The hotel charges $45/day but to top it off the tax charged is $8.10/ day so the total parking charge for one day is $53.10. Just too many issues for us to overcome.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away for the elevators and storage rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Earl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at The Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Well, Earl C, we gave it our best and so did you. We're glad your family tried us out and hope we haven't ruined your wife's relationship with Kimpton. If you ever feel like giving it another go, we'd love the opportunity to show you a perfect stay.

Thank you,
Kiah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

I have stayed at the Hotel George many times over the years and always feel welcome. Greeted by name when I arrive, both Johnnie at the front desk, and the manager, Mike, make it a point to take care of our every need. Mike once got me cufflinks as I had left mine at home. Above and beyond the call of duty. Friendly, accommodating, and efficient, it is a wonderful place to stay in the Capitol Hill area.

Room Tip: Street side is better for noise reduction
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycling in room. REad about the George's environmentally friendly activities
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarryA269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at The Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for the great review, BarryA269! We're always excited to go above and beyond for our guests. And so glad to hear that it keeps you coming back!

See you soon,
Kiah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Centrally located, this hotel affords very nice accommodations. The rooms are quite elegant with friendly staff. The workout facility is small but has good equipment for its purpose. Great choice in downtown DC.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brainydr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at The Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
We like your style, BrainyDr. Succinct and positive! Thanks for taking the time to review us so kindly.

Cheers,
Kiah

Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Sofitel Washington DC
#9 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,911 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Willard InterContinental Washington
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kimpton George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kimpton George Hotel

Property: The Kimpton George Hotel
Address: 15 E Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-1501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Kimpton George Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Capitol Hill near Union Station, The Kimpton George Hotel stands out as one of the most stylish boutique hotels in Washington DC. This luxury hotel offers celebrity appeal, impeccable service and extraordinary value in an ideal location. The Kimpton George Hotel, at the nucleus of Capitol Hill's business district, is steps from Union Station and the U.S. Capitol Building and a short walk from the National Mall, Smithsonian Museums, and the U.S. House of Representatives and Senate Office Buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Kimpton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Hotel George Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing