We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient To Union Station”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton George Hotel
Ranked #21 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Forked River, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Convenient To Union Station”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

The Hotel George is very convenient to Union Station and we have stayed many times. It is very clean and the staff are very attentive to your requests. They even handed us 2 glasses of wine while we were checking in. We have stayed at several Kimpton Hotels and all have been great. The only problem this time was that our windows faced a brick wall. However, since we were only there for one evening it didn't matter.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HRA5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
HRA5, so glad you keep coming back! The least we can do is give you a room of your choosing. Let me know when you'll be around next and we'll be glad to make your stay perfect.

Thank you,
Kiah

Manager on Duty
Kiah.Conover@HotelGeorge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,405
    556
    145
    34
    25
See reviews for
522
651
166
571
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We loved our four day stay at The Hotel George. The newly renovated room was perfect for our needs. The staff that helped with the reservations made us feel important and welcomed. Everyone from the valet to housekeeping was friendly and warm. It was our second visit in 3 weeks. We wouldn't stay anywhere else on Capitol Hill!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank butrosmom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thanks, ButrosMom1! We want nothing more than comfort for our guests. Looking forward to seeing you again and again.

Thank you,
Kiah

Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We arrived 8 hours late by rail and walked to the hotel @ 2:30AM with no problem. Greeted by two (TWO!) desk staff that very swiftly checked in our group of 26. Obviously newly redecorated public areas and rooms. Modern, but not "kinky modern". Very pleasant and liveable. Rooms are surprising spacious and space is well utilized. Staff was friendly and accommodating on every request/encounter. In room Keurig coffee machine, mini-bar and lobby Wine Hour to quench your thirst. Bar/restaurant on site.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eat_Drink_and_Enjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Excellence all around, Eat_Drink_and_Enjoy! We're so glad we could not only accommodate but delight you. All we ever want is the best for every guest.

Thank you,
Kiah

Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Recently stayed at Hotel George for the 2nd time. Even though it was great before, rooms were recently updated and are now smashing. This is not your corporate hotel. In fact, I won't name names but I was attending a conference being held at a big brand hotel nearby, but I specifically opted out of that to stay here. Much nicer vibe overall, intimate, smaller hotel with WAY more character than your typical chain (larger or small). GREAT dining at their restaurant (breakfast, lunch or dinner!), gym in the basement level for your workout.... nice wine reception in the evenings should you so choose, and just great overall service. Very nice, cordial, and responsive staff. All around, top notch. I will surely be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YourLifeIsNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Hey YourLifeIsNow, we're humbled to receive a review so sparkling. Thank you! Let us know when you plan on returning? We'd love to see you again to make your stay even more smashing.

Cheers,
Kiah

Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paoli, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

My family and I visit Washington DC once a year and always stay at the Hotel George. They have a great staff, convenient location (right by Union Station & Capital Hill) and even better rooms because they just completed redecorating the hotel. They are great to kids and the onsite restaurant is tasty and good place to people watch. I'll back next year.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank PennsyTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you, PennsyTravelers! We love that you and yours keep coming back and loving it. Don't hesitate to contact us before you come 'round next time so we can make your stays better and better.

Cheers,
Kiah

Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Yes this is a modern boutique hotel, but that doesn't mean snobby staff or no help. In fact the staff are brilliant, so helpful it really makes the stay, when the door man greats you each time he sees you with a smile and is willing to help even though its freezing outside. The front desk staff again nothing seemed to much to ask and they were empowered to resolve issues. I was impressed. As it was my birthday I treated myself to an in room facial. That was delightful. Dined at the Bistro which is part of the hotel. Food for breakfast and dinner was delicious. Liked the location and will definitely stay there when next I am in Washington.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StarliteAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Wonderful, StarlightAustralia! We're so glad you spent a successful birthday with us. We're looking forward to seeing you again. And again!

Happy birthday!
Kiah

Kiah M Garcia Conover
Manager On Duty
kiah.conover@hotelgeorge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

The hotel staff is friendly and courteous. They held our luggage and had it delivered while we had lunch. Room is spacious although there is no view.... The facilities are very well done and we expect to have a wonderful time.

Room Tip: the two queen option feels like a larger room
See more room tips
Green Features: the bikes that are offered and the hotel amenities speak green friendly
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peggy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
We hope you have had a wonderful time, Peggy B! Thanks for the great review. Just let us know if there's anything more we can do to make your stay, or future stay, perfect.

Cheers,
Kiah

Kiah M Garcia Conover
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Phoenix Park Hotel
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
302 reviews
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington ...
#85 of 141 in Washington DC
192 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 141 in Washington DC
3,176 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#31 of 141 in Washington DC
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton George Hotel

Property: Kimpton George Hotel
Address: 15 E Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton George Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Capitol Hill near Union Station, The Kimpton George Hotel stands out as one of the most stylish boutique hotels in Washington DC. This luxury hotel offers celebrity appeal, impeccable service and extraordinary value in an ideal location. The Kimpton George Hotel, at the nucleus of Capitol Hill's business district, is steps from Union Station and the U.S. Capitol Building and a short walk from the National Mall, Smithsonian Museums, and the U.S. House of Representatives and Senate Office Buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kimpton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Hotel George Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing