We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy, Contemporary Vibe!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton George Hotel
Ranked #21 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
558 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
“Classy, Contemporary Vibe!”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Fabulous contemporary vibe is distinctly different from the history of DC. When you walk into this hotel, you feel like you're in another city. After seeing the grand, historic monuments, memorials and museums in DC, this hotel is wonderfully vibrant and chic. So, you really don't know it, but after you see and visit the different sites in DC, you feel instantly refreshed by the vibe of this inviting boutique hotel.

But, the vibe is combined with the warmth of a bright, cozy lobby, friendly staff and comfortable rooms. Great beds and throws at the end of the bed make you feel welcomed here. Your return visit to the Hotel George is important to the staff and hotel because your comfort is ensured.

A walk outside and you back in the grand history of Washington, D.C. Otherwise, this hotel would make you feel like your in NYC or LA. The location is very close to the Capital, Smithsonian museums and Union Station. Union Station is a monument as well and has great restaurants and shopping, just in the event you've forgotten something you can't find in most hotels or a boutique hotel.

Just behind the hotel, between the hotel and Union Station, there are two Irish pubs. With the location, the helpful, accommodating staff, and the cool, comforable vibe of the Hotel George you may forget where you are, but you will remember this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't overlook the HVAC. This can be avoided, if you simply ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RikiUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
General Manager, Christopher Cannon: Wow Riki, you really said it all! I know whose reviews I'll be checking from now on. I appreciate this one especially, and look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,405
    556
    145
    34
    25
See reviews for
522
651
166
571
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is a great hotel, the staff were fabulous, it was handy to all the necessary places you need in DC. The room was great, the bed superb, a wonderful stay. The bar was a great place to unwind, and they have a wine hour in the lobby every night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wagaitwag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
General Manager, Christopher Cannon: Wagaitwag - Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the George and for your positive review. I'm thrilled you enjoyed our staff, rooms, wine hour, bar, and location. If business or pleasure brings you back to DC, we hope to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington NC
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We reserved at Hotel George based on Trip Advisor reviews, and were not disappointed. It is very conveniently located between the Capitol and Union Station, so close to metro but also walkable from many Smithsonian locations and other spots. The staff was friendly and helpful with advice (metro, walk, or taxi? etc.). And don't miss the complimentary wine hour - the sangria was terrific and they even gave printed copies of the recipe! Dinner at the Bistro Bis was lovely with great menu choices, and breakfast at the corner bakery was super and inexpensive. We will visit again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieBWilmingtonNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
General Manager, Christopher Cannon: Thank You JulieB. We are privileged to have your business and excited that you took the time out of your busy day to write a review about the George. With 126 hotels to choice from in our nation’s capitol we strive to make each guest stay a memorable one (in a good way of course). I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back personally when you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savannah
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Nice boutique hotel -- our first time staying at a Kimpton, but won't be our last. On the corner is a great spot for breakfast or lunch so you don't have to pay big bucks for breakfast at the hotel restaurant. Although the restaurant, Bistro Bis is fabulous for dinner and would highly recommend. This is a great location, close to Union Station, we walked to the mall and Smithsonians every day, Penn quarter for dinner one night, eastern market... or you can cab it as there are cabs everywhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
General Manager, Christopher Cannon: Thank You Karen for giving the George, a Kimpton Hotel, your first try. Super stoked to read you had a great stay. Can’t wait to welcome you back and met you in person. Enjoy the rest of your summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort lauderdale
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was my first experience staying at a Kimpton Hotel and I look forward to trying more of their properties. This hotel offers a Capitol Hill location with a short walk from Union Station. A small but elegant lobby is welcoming and hosts an evening wine hour. We spent two restful nights in a comfy bed with awesome linens. An extra bonus are the bikes you can check out for a spin around town. What really stands out at this hotel is the unsurpassed customer service. Smiling faces greet each customer during check in. The staff and management really goes out of their way to unsure a great experience for every guest.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vetgirl69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
General Manager, Christopher Cannon: Thank You vetgirl69. I love that car. I highly recommend you drive back to the George next time. Thank you for your business and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, UK
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had a one Night stay at Hotel George.

The room was large and spotless, the fixtures and fitting were top class and very boutique.

The Beds were extremely comfortable, everything worked as it should.

Reception were extremely helpful.

Breakfast in the Restaurant was very nice, and the waiters very happy and chatty.

Would certainly recommend this Hotel and would glady go back if we are in the vacinity again.

Room Tip: Only a one night stopover but we were upgraded to A King Size room as the Room Booking was messed up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natwinstanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
General Manager, Christopher Cannon: Thank You UK. We really appreciate your business and taking the time to share your experience. The entire team is super psyched
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

I was familiar with the Kimpton hotels and this was an easy decision to book ere foror one night stay. We were upgraded from a queen to a king room. Very well appointed with an efficient use of space, though the separate tub and stall shower were a bit strange. Staff was very friendly. Hotel is very close to Union Station, restaurantsand bars and the Capitol building. We walk a lot, so the distance to other monuments was manageable. At an rate, there are two Metro Stations nearby to take you everywher, even if the Metro system is a little tough to figure out. We'd stay here again, for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank npwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
General Manager, Christopher Cannon: WICKED Awesome npwest. Thank you for your business and please come back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Phoenix Park Hotel
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
303 reviews
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington ...
#91 of 141 in Washington DC
191 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 141 in Washington DC
3,176 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#31 of 141 in Washington DC
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton George Hotel

Property: Kimpton George Hotel
Address: 15 E Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton George Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Capitol Hill near Union Station, The Kimpton George Hotel stands out as one of the most stylish boutique hotels in Washington DC. This luxury hotel offers celebrity appeal, impeccable service and extraordinary value in an ideal location. The Kimpton George Hotel, at the nucleus of Capitol Hill's business district, is steps from Union Station and the U.S. Capitol Building and a short walk from the National Mall, Smithsonian Museums, and the U.S. House of Representatives and Senate Office Buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kimpton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Hotel George Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing